We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect and convenient”

Historic Faculty House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minneapolis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic Faculty House
Ranked #7 of 10 Minneapolis B&B and Inns
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect and convenient”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed here for a week when I was attending a course at University of Minnesota. The room that I had was spacious and very clean. It is very convenient to stay at this place, it is cheap and well-located.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrTraveller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asuncion, Paraguay
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The place is pricey for what they actually offer. The rooms were smelly, the bath clogged everytime somebody used it, they didn´t clean it often either (at all). The breakfast supposedly was continental, but it was nothing more than toasts, some fruit and terrible coffee. It´s almost imposible to find the people in charge of the place, they never answer their phones even though they give it to you. The cable didn´t work either. One night it was snowing and they didn´t turn on the radiators so it was freezing cold and we had no one to help us out. I stayed there for 3 long weeks and had a terrible time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NG2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Historic Faculty House for one night in August. We had a room with a private bathroom. It is a big, old fraternity/sorority house with a giant living and dining room that some of the longer term visitors use.

We picked this location because it was on campus, but away from the road and light rail construction. He could walk to his university meetings and I was centrally located to things I needed to do.

The room's furnishings were old and shabby, as were the pillows and sheets. But, everything was clean. There was cable television and decent Internet.

If I had one complaint, it was the mattress. I don't know how old it was, but it had a distinct hammock feel. We both rolled to the middle during the night.

I get the impression that most people stay here for months at a time. It seems a reasonable place to stay if you are a visiting professor or graduate student.

Breakfast is provided. My husband ate, but I was unable to since it was gone by the time I made my way to the kitchen.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank revephemeral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I had my choice of a number of the larger hotels in the area, but I couldn't have chosen better than the Faculty House. From the minute I swung open the large, darkwood door and saw "Welcome [my name]" on a sign, I knew I had the right place.

It had the personal, unique, charming feel of a boarding house from a Dickens novel -- albeit spotless and very well appointed.

I was greeted by the laughing, personable character of Tom, who quickly made me feel at home.

Rooms were capacious, quiet, and the homey-yet-meticulously-cared-for rooms made me feel like I was in the home of a wealthy aunt.

I had my choice of two kitchen to cook in -- one a tidy cubby hole and the other, larger one which felt the kitchens of an old manor house. Both were very tidy and had everything I could need.

A short walk or drive in any direction brings you into contact with delightful, wooded neighborhoods and excellent restaurants.

Internet was fast. Umbrellas were on hand to borrow.

There was rarely a staff member at the front desk, however they were easily accessible by phone.

Everything was wonderful. I will certainly return if I am in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Propitious_thrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
University / Dinkytown
University Inn
University Inn
#17 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
The Commons Hotel
#10 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
University / Dinkytown
Hampton Inn and Suites Minneapolis University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University / Dinkytown
Doubletree by Hilton Minneapolis - University Area
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Days Hotel University Ave SE
#36 of 49 in Minneapolis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Faculty House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Faculty House

Property: Historic Faculty House
Address: 316 10th Ave SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414-1922
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > University / Dinkytown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing