We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Dinner, Great service”
Review of Gorkha Palace

Gorkha Palace
Ranked #119 of 1,813 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Tibetan, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: University / Dinkytown
Saint Paul
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delicious Dinner, Great service”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had dinner here last week and I would have to rate this as the best ethnic restaurants I have been to lately.I think it is Nepali and Indian and Tibetan. We started with the Veggie and Yak Momos... they were perfect, as was the tomato sauce served with it. We also had the veggie pakora which was delicious. The garlic flat bread was perfect. For the entree, I had a traditional dish called Spicy chicken Newari, that was recommended by our perfect and cheerful waitress. She knows the menu and can describe everything very clearly. The dinner was perfect. Others had the Chicken Sekuwa which also had a wonderful flavor. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank LChapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    36
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PinchOnTheGo
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The best thing to say about this restaurant is that the service from the staff was top notch. Every server that passed was checking out our table to see if we needed water, plates cleared, etc. It was obvious that they were all pitching in and helping each other. Must have an owner or manager that places a priority on customer service. Kudos. The other thing I appreciated was that the take out container was environmentally friendly. The food was good but not to die for. The prices were too high for the amount of food you get.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PinchOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

First night in MN with my son and looking for a place for dinner, looking or something different, trusted TA and went to Gorkha Palace. As soon as we entered we were impressed by the amount of non-american looking people that were dining there, not sure if Indians, Pakistani, but usually a good sign for ethnic restaurants. Both the waitress that took us at the table than the one that tended on us were very nice, open, not giving that sense of 'faked politeness' that you get sometime. Food arrived very quickly, although the naan bread never made it, some misunderstanding, and it was delicious, all of that, including the Yak. And the price was right. Definitively a place to go back next time I visit

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicosne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food, Service, Ambiance. Excellent All Around”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Food is excellent. It is authentic and well-prepared.

It is a bit out of the way for us, so we don't get here very often, but on every occasion we have visited here, the food and the dining experience has been excellent.

Rashmi is a perfectionist and one of the most highly energetic people around. I feel like her signature is on every detail of this place.

This is truly a great place to experience authentic Nepali food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KuwaKoBhyaguto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Indian/Napoli food.”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My wife and I dined at the Gorkha Palace several weeks ago. As others have said, the yak momo is wonderful. When I had the curry that I ordered, I had quite a pleasant surprise. I must say, that it was the best curry that I have ever had anywhere. This is a restaurant that I am sure we will revisit frequently. The food they serve is spicy, but one can work with the servers to find the right amount of spice for you. Fabulous food and service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ecdoglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gorkha Palace also viewed

 
 

Been to Gorkha Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing