We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend for several reasons”
Review of Green Spoon - CLOSED

Green Spoon
Cuisines: American, Korean
Restaurant details
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Recommend for several reasons”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I went with a group of seven to the Green Spoon yesterday. The service is really personable, a lovely, smiling woman took our orders and answered questions. The food is wonderfully fresh. I had the green spoon salad, it was perfectly dressed with oriental dressing. Each item on the salad was perfect and attractively presented. My friend sitting next to me had the Bento box and that looked great, I may have that next time.
The menu is diverse enough for small or large appetites. There are choices for those who want something Korean or those who don't. This is a place where you order at the counter and they bring your food to you, so it's great for a group who all want to pay for their own meals.
It's very clean and attractive. Reasonable prices. The bathroom is clean and classy. There are some parking places in the back.
My only concern is that, like many modern restaurants, there are no sound absorbent materials in the interior design, like curtains or carpet, so when there is noise, it bounces off the hard materials and is noisy. But that won't keep me from coming back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FiftiesFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Beautiful - just keeps getting better”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The Green Spoon has been through several iterations, with the current one the best, by far. Come here for the food: including the Asian Tofu Salad (many different greens and lightly fried tofu), a kimchi pancake, a rice based pizza, the cobb salad, ramen bowls, sweet potato fires,and - best of all - veggie dumplings (served very hot and with spectacular taste). Service is modest, but the dining area is meticulous. A very pleasant place to spend a Saturday afternoon. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Aeshsh”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Green spoon is the best Korean restaurant in Minneapolis. There are several good things I found it there. I like to eat Ramen there. Eating Kimchi with fresh fries is the pest appetizers they have. When you order some dishes, the waiter asks you to choose between eating spicy or normal dish. Which let the customer eat what they like. The employees enjoy serving you. They get you to come again. The cost of meals is not high. Which make it easy to invite your family there. The place is clean. It let you feel comfortable when you eat your meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aeshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAPLES
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“a pleasing discovery”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I were in the twin cities a few weeks ago on a saturday and just happened to be going past the Green Spoon at lunch time. not familiar with Korean food we thought we'd give it a shot... a very pleasing discovery for us.... staff was friendly, prices reasonable, and most importantly, the food was very good.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1115RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Chose the Rizza, it's there version of a pizza but on a bed of rice. Chose to leave out the beef to make it less likely to have any gluten. The kimchi added a nice punch.

It's just a couple of blocks east of the U campus and TCF Stadium

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hawkeye1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Spoon also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing