We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All you can eat on Tuesdays”

Rare Steak and Sushi
Ranked #668 of 1,800 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Transit: Bus stop directly in front of hotel.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All you can eat on Tuesdays”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I like the all you can eat on Tuesday. But, the overall sushi is just ok. Not as fresh nor innovative as other downtown MN restaurants. The restaurant is convenient.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chuck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    28
    13
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“HUGE place with great rooftop bar and service”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Tasty sushi
Great service
Enormous space
Delicious desserts - esp choc cake, bread pudding and strawberry cake

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KWCRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great decor, incredible food”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Located on the 2nd floor of The Grand Hotel, this restaurant offers an impressive menu filled with items that are each made with care and attention. Absolutely phenomenal. The quality of the service food and ambiance did not make sense to me until I realized that it was a Kimpton Hotel. We have yet to see anything for Kimpton which is below par. Did not stay in the hotel, but the restaurant was top notch. Great place to conduct business or have a quiet romantic meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 112DesMoinesTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
509 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Better than I thought it would be”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We went to Rare because we were staying at the Grand Hotel and we went for ease of use. We were expecting a mediocre, over-priced restaurant and were actually pleased. The prices are reasonable for what they are.The food is good, too. The service was great, my water glass never got empty. We ended up enjoying our meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msa23_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otsego, Minnesota
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My friends and I frequent Rare for happy hour. They have average drink and food deals for downtown Minneapolis. The food is excellent though. And the atmosphere of the restaurant is awesome...it's quiet, nice ambience. The staff are so nice and attentive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rare Steak and Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Rare Steak and Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing