We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delivery, just what I was hoping for”
Review of Szechuan Spice

Szechuan Spice
Ranked #399 of 1,760 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Cuisines: Chinese
Neighborhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
Reviewed September 28, 2015

Nothing amazing, but just the kind of local Chinese I was hoping to find delivered. One delivery took 20-min, the other 45-50, but the portions are good and the food does the work

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank Misha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 31 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2015 via mobile

We will be back- the food, service and prices were all great. We tried many of the items and we will back back to try others! We enjoyed the the following appetizers in order if our favorites: Hot Sour Soup ($2.75), Mini Juicy Buns ($7.50), and the crabmeat balls ($6.95). Next we enjoyed our entrees of Pork in Garlic Sauce ($10.95) , which was pork with mushrooms & chestnuts, as well as the Szechuan Spicy Stir Fry. ($13.95) which was beef, chicken and tofu with a spicy sauce, jalapeños and red peppers
The service was excellent and attentive.
We enjoyed a Tsing Tao ($4.50)and diet coke ($1.95). Pictures provided of all items. We have plenty of left overs!

Date of visit: July 2015
2  Thank jlm456
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2015

Don't miss out on the soup dumplings (steamed dumplings that yield a nice broth inside once cooked). Spicy fish is our favorite dish here. Have tried several places for authentic cuisine in the cities, and this one is hands down our favorite -- for the choices, the quality and the value.

Date of visit: February 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2015

Our group of four tried two appetizers (juicy buns and Szechuan wontons in hot sauce) and four entrées (tea smoked duck, Hunan pork, orange chicken, and Szechuan Spice stirfry). The wontons were delicious (and slippery little devils to eat with chopsticks) but the juicy buns were very bland and the dumpling outer shell was doughy. The buns were served with a vinegar sauce, which helped somewhat. So one High and one Low.
The entrées were also a mixed bag, the stirfry carried a two-pepper symbol, and it was indeed spicy hot, but quite good. The orange chicken was a surprise, with golfball sized chunks of darkly glazed chicken and a subtle orange flavoring, also quite good. Bits of orange peel were served with it, but they were cooked too hard and not chewable. The Hunan pork was perhaps the best, with tender pork and a rich, slightly sweet, dark sauce. The tea smoked duck was a definite Low. Evidently it is smoked and then hacked apart with a cleaver, which shatters the bones so almost every mouthful contains tiny bits of bone. The flavor may be an acquired taste that I doubt any of us will ever acquire. The duck meat was also quite dry.
Service was exceptionally friendly and helpful, and on one order we were deftly steered away from one dish to another. That was another High.
The ambiance is a mixture. The walls still have the gorgeous deep plum color left behind by the previous restaurant, Zen. The curtains that provide a bit of privacy between tables on the north wall are still in place. The overall atmosphere is marred by two TV screens, one over the entrance and one over the bar tuned to Fox News. The bar seemed to be a resting place for employees and hangers on, who talked loudly. So this category was a draw.
There was one inexcusable Low. To close the door to the men's bathroom, it is necessary to push on the door. The door above the doorknob was a sticky mess from too many people with dirty hands pushing it closed. I thought of cleaning it with soap and towels, but the paper towel dispenser was empty. When I told the cashier about the lack of towels, she said they were aware of it and the company that supplies them will be coming to fill it. Dirty bathrooms are not a good sign.
The date of our visit was January 28, 2015.

Date of visit: January 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JandJ67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2014

We have eaten at Szechuan Spice about 4-5 times for lunch. Usually we take out. The place is never busy and it makes me worry because the food is quite excellent and they are willing to make it spicy if you ask them to. So many places detect my white guy voice and give me white guy spice levels.

Ok, enough of that borderline comment. We have had something at Szechuan Sice a couple times called Dan Dan Noodles. I've asked what is in it and like any good chef they tell the truth and leave out the key ingredients. I have no idea what is in this stuff but it is good. A little oily, but super tasty. Probably hot chili oil.

We have had Chinese classics like Kung Pao and stir fries and everything is well above average and very reasonable priced.

I highly encourage you to give it a try. It is one of the better Chinese places in the area to my taste.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ScottGrahamMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szechuan Spice also viewed

Minneapolis, MN
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Szechuan Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.