We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick stop from wine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surdyk's Flights

Surdyk's Flights
Ranked #230 of 1,790 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quick stop from wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Great little place to stop for a snack! Tasty food and great cheese. Mixed drinks if you have more time to stop and sit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    22
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
118 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Wish there was one in every airport!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely wonderful! Attentive service, consistently excellent eats, wonderful wine selections, top sweet treats! If I have time I eat in, if not, take out. You can also shop for wine for gifts or for yourself if you do not have a connection before you get to your destination. Hard to believe, but I look forward to this airport restaurant every time I fly. And they will ne opening another location at Terminal 2! Yuppie!! Wish every aiport had one. Do not miss it when you are at MSP!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CariocaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot in MSP Airport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

First time stopping at this restaurant, LOVED the food. Lots of local ingredients, but very fresh/farm to table experience. I hade the Smoked Salmon salad which was wonderful. The a side of Seasoned Olivesm which came out warm soaked in olive oil - hello who wouldn't love that! The service was good as well.
Location is right after security in Terminal 1 - easy access. You can order take out or sit-in. If you sit at the bar, you can watch the kitchen go to work. I loved this place and will visit every time I fly through MSP. Would it be crazy to say I would fly through MSP just to eat there...that wouldn't be crazy, right? Enjoy

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ferrell_cat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
112 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“relaxing, delectable, people-watching extroidinare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is located in the main hall of the Minneapolis/St. Paul airport. It is worth it even if you only have time to swing by and pick-up a sandwich and beverage on your way to your flight. I suggest the JOIA soda. Surdyk's has a variety of local Minnesota offerings and JOIA is one of the unique sodas. I always make sure my carry-on has plenty of room so I can take some home with me.

The food is creative and delicious. More high class and yet casual than what is available in my area. The service has been consistently helpful and kind. The waiter seems like he works all the time, or at least each time I fly. He remembers his customers, too. And I like feeling like I'm on Cheers, "where everybody knows my name."

They have earl grey infused vodka. I have not tried it yet and am sad that they don't sell it on site. I was looking forward to bringing it home and trying some. Now I know what to order first next time. This trip I had a Bellini which was a lovely way to start a 3-hour layover. I then moved on to a smoked turkey manchego sandwich which melted my taste buds - divine. I went simple this time and ordered the wine that was suggested to complement this sandwich. It was a French white and perfect.

On my way to my flight, I of course purchased some JOIA and tried some amazing chocolate cookies. Wish I had purchased more. :)

And did I mention the people watching? The only place to people watch better than the set-apart seating in the middle of the main hall of a large busy international airport is the State Fair.

They do close at 8pm.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rubyslipperlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
113 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Welcome stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

After a long international flight this great little deli was exactly what we needed! This was a great find in an airport; perfect coffee, friendly staff and tasty food. We shared a panini and couldn't have been happier with the selection of cakes and brownies. Thumbs up!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surdyk's Flights also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Surdyk's Flights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing