We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bachelor Farmer

The Bachelor Farmer
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bachelor Farmer is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 1,804 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $33
Cuisines: American, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Warehouse District
Cross street: North First Street
Description: The Bachelor Farmer serves fresh and simple food that honors Minnesota's Nordic heritage.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Don't be alarmed when looking at the menu! At first glance my wife and I were a bit overwhelmed trying to figure out what we would eat. As it turned out we picked 2 main dishes that we shared and both were excellent. The wine pairing offered was good as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank drkdrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    90
    49
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Marvel Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Had an awesome time at Marvel Bar with some of my friends. This is the place to go for a unique atmosphere, great drinks, and fun people watching. Can't wait to go back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We went with a friend for our first time for Sunday brunch and were very impressed. The dishes were great, lemon pancakes, deep Gris French toast, and a duck sausage and duck egg sandwich that was off the hook! 3 people with a total bill including drinks and a fat tip for $99. Excellent service too. We will be back for sure.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Perry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another awesome brunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We've been their twice for brunch and have loved it both times!! Are there issues? Yes but the food is so worth it! If you can arrive early and wait in line, that is best. Otherwise be prepared to wait for a table. But our wait wasn't bad. We were told 35-40 minutes and it took about 30 minutes. The hostess was friendly and well organized.

The two other issues that everyone mentions are service and price. The service is slow. It seemed to take a long time to have our order taken but then the food came relatively quickly. And it is expensive but it is soooo good!!

I had the pyttipanna, which is one of the best things I've ever eaten! My husband had the scramble with Brussel sprouts and mushrooms. He liked it but said that next time he would get what I had. We also had a brioche and the caramel pecan apples. My Gin and Tonic #3 was also excellent, I may be making all my G&T's with grapefruit now.

It isn't something we would do regularly but as a special treat it was wonderful!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmavenMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Went there for brunch. Seating was reasonably fast, atmosphere was enjoyable, food was awesome, staff was fast and polite. A unique place to eat, with very good quality and novel dishes. Definitely worth a try. I will be returning.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Akis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bachelor Farmer also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
 
Minneapolis, MN
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to The Bachelor Farmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing