We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, service, atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackbird Cafe

Blackbird Cafe
Ranked #148 of 1,780 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Gastropub, American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Clever New American fare is served at this cozy, farm-to-fork cafe. Offering made-from-scratch breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, plus craft beer, wine and weekend brunch.
Lenox, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
302 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Great food, service, atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stopped here for a breakfast/lunch and really enjoyed it. Coffee was good, the food great, prices more than fair with friendly service in a cool atmosphere. This place certainly checks all the boxes.
My wife had the crepes with blueberry/cranberry compote and sweet ricotta and I ordered the spicy udon noodles with peanuts, vegetables and tofu. Both dishes were great. The compote had a nice sweet/tart blend between the cranberries and blueberries, and the sweet ricotta was a perfect accompaniment. A great dish for $9.
I love Pad Thai, but I liked their spicy Udon noodles with peanuts and tofu even more. The veggies, including lots of deep flavored mushrooms, were really fresh and it was spiced perfectly. It was a good sized portion and priced at only $13.
Even if you're downtown, it's a quick drive and worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C from NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    33
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were visiting Minneapolis and just happened across the Blackbird. What a great meal! The waitress was great and recommended some particulars. We had chicken and lemon grass potstickers that were delicious. Their "shave apple" salad with a white cheese, and a tarragon/curry vinaigrette was outstanding. I had rainbow trout that was prepared very well and our dessert was, again, way above average. The restaurant is a little tight on the seating but overall it is a great place for dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DJ142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Went to restaurant on reccomendation of a local and it was a great tip... Decor / atmosphere was very eclectic... an old 1970's console TV as an acquarium... pretty cute.... waiter was very very attentive..... for a small appetizer we had salami stuffed fried olives.... very crispy.... good with a Stella.... the chicken kiev was like a mini turkey dinner, served on wild rice... with raspberry preserves as an accompinant...; all very good.... it was great foodie experience and would definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank basketsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Mixed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

The food is good (especially the breakfast sausage, which is made in house). Service was pleasant, but a bit uneven. Our waiter disappeared, which forced us to ask another waiter for help. Also, one of the waiters needs to use deodorant. (This is not the 1st time I've noticed this.) If you go, be aware that this restaurant is very noisy, and there are no sound-absorbing materials.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnyjazz1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great South Minneapolis Breakfast Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

A group of us went here on a Sunday morning, looking to try a new place to try in Minneapolis, and came across Blackbird. They have a pretty diverse menu with great healthy and not-healthy options, as well as small kids menu. I had a meal with chorizo in it and it was great. All 5 of us really enjoyed our food. The menu is not crazy weird, they just do a great job with everything they put out. We are definitely going back soon.

Something to note is that you shouldn't send someone early to get a table. You have to have your entire group with you when you arrive, that is a policy (which I kind of liked) that you won't be seated until your entire group is there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackbird Cafe also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Blackbird Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing