We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice hotel, but...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown/North Loop

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown/North Loop
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia Station
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and I just got back from a stay at this hotel. It was a clean, modern hotel in walking distance to Target Field, with a small, but nice selection of restaurants and bars just one block away. The hotel was very quiet exept for the herd of elephants that was apparently staying above us. I never voices coming from the hallways or any of the rooms, but our ceiling literally shook and rattled whenever anyone moved upstairs. My main complaint, however, is the car service that was sent by the hotel when we asked them to call a cab for us. We were going from the hotel to Crystal Airport. We used Yellow Cab on the way in - which was a typical metered cab. I asked the desk person if they could call us a cab for the way out. They called some sort of unmarked car service. The car had no meter and we were charged double what we paid on the way in. My suggestion: Stay here, but call your own cab if you need one and use one of the reputable metered cab services in town.

Room Tip: Top floor so you don't have to listen to the people moving around in the room above yours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPS_MSP, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown/North Loop, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize that you had issues with the town car services. We typically call them when heading to the airport because it is a flat rate and generally is less expensive then a metered cab. I apologize for the inconvenience that this has caused and hope that you choose to stay with us in the future.

Best Wishes,
The TownePlace Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    69
    25
    7
    9
See reviews for
39
26
19
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in July while visiting the University Of Minnesota. We were very pleased with the cleanliness of the room.
The outdoor pool was nice, however, it was small and full of young people having a cocktail hour in the pool. The staff saw what was going on (diving into the pool and glass bottles full of alchohol next to the pool when the sign posted clearly stated "no glass"). However, nothing was done to stop this behavior. Young children were trying to swim in the pool and had no room. Also, the group drinking in the pool was getting more and more foul mouthed as the afternoon went on. I felt that the staff should have done something to stop this behavior.
The breakfast was basic; cereal and fruit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PR12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPS_MSP, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown/North Loop, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel. We want you to know that we truly apologize on behalf of the guests that were causing issues at the pool that day. Since then our staff has been re-trained on how to handle a situation like this. We want all of our guests to feel comfortable with our facilities and apologize for the guests behavior. We hope that you choose to stay with us again and utilize our pool area in a fun family atmosphere which we pride it to be.

Thank you again,
The TownePlace Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
190 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Stay at Marriotts all the time for the consistency. Did not live up to Marriott name. Breakfast was mediocre. Just cereal, yogurt and icky fruit in a after thought of a space. Svc was poor. Slow check in because the front desk was understaffed. My room was not serviced by housekeeping.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_guy_218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPS_MSP, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown/North Loop, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel. We apologize that our breakfast did not meet your needs. Our breakfast consists of 6 different types of cereal, oatmeal with toppings, muffins, whole fruit, yogurt, juice, milk and coffee, please let us know if all of these options were not provided when you joined us.

We hope that you choose to stay wtih us again when you visit the Twin Cities.

Take Care,
The TownePlace Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
229 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We got the two bedroom suite on the first floor!! the price was great! Parking was fine, $13.00 a night was worth the price so we did not have to park on the street and then we just walked everywhere!!! The service was great, clean!!!!! The cold lemon water by the front desk 24 hours a day was a nice touch!! The continental breakfast was great for our purposes, if you wanted a big breakfast, walk out the door..... you can find something within 2 blocks!! It is a very quiet neighborhood, lots of lofts and apartments. Only a few blocks from the busy noisey area or Target center and Target field!!! The nice little pool area was great,(does close exactly at 9:00 pm!!!) We had a great time there with all the staff and could find nothing to complain or write negative!!!!!!!! Cheers Kim

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KKLMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPS_MSP, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown/North Loop, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Good Day Kim,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope that you visit us again in the future!

Best Wishes,
The TownePlace Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I had the pleasure of hosting a bachelorette party for many out of town guests. The two bedroom suite had a living/kitchen area that was perfect for 18 women to play games, open presents, and eat. We did have to bring 8 folding chairs from home and do a little furniture rearranging, but I was very pleasantly surprise with the space. The layouts in the corner two bedroom suites are not as conducive for such a large number of people, so if this is something you are planning on recreating you'd have to make sure to get a non-corner room. The hotel is two blocks from the pedal pub departure area (one of the main reasons I chose this location). The full kitchen has enough dishes for 6, and is pretty fully stocked. The only thing we ended up needing that they didn't have was a pair of scissors. They say that the couches fold down to sleep 2, but I was told they were pretty uncomfortable. We ended up bringing air mattresses and sleeping on those instead. We were there over the weekend which meant no paying for metered parking, $13 a day to park in the hotel parking lot seemed a little steep for the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthsidePride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPS_MSP, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown/North Loop, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you very much for reviewing the hotel. It sounds like you and your guests enjoyed yourselves and we hope that you return in the future!

Cheers!
The TownePlace Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were in Minneapolis to tour U of M and this hotel is a nice, affordable option. Driving in downtown Minneapolis is a pain though as it probably is with most major cities. Loved having the option of being able to cook in our room. Parking is $13/day, but it is in either a covered underground garage or in a secured lot that is shared with the condos next door.

The hotel is in the "Warehouse District" and the area was very quiet while we were there. Since I have family just north of the Twin Cities, we didn't eat or walk around the area so i can't speak to any of the food or safety concerns in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPS_MSP, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown/North Loop, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you choose to stay with us again when visiting the Twin Cities.

Take Care,
The TownePlace Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

A pretty good experience. Only 4 blocks away from the train station at Target Field.
Walking there at night past an "adult shop" or two was a bit uncomfortable but later on found a better route to and from Target Field.
Clean and modern room, breakfast was cereal/juice/muffin/apple, and front desk was friendly and loaned us umbrellas.
Workout room is pretty small. 3-4 people and the room is full.
I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rls241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPS_MSP, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown/North Loop, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you very much for reviewing the hotel. Many of our guests who are visiting Target Field love to stay with us for the location as well. We hope that we are able to host you again in the future!

Take Care,
The TownePlace Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Downtown
Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown/North Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown/North Loop

Property: TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown/North Loop
Address: 525 North 2nd St, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Formerly TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Warehouse District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown/North Loop 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites Downtown Minneapolis by Marriott is a conveniently located hotel near Target Field (new home of the Minnesota Twins), Mall of America Field, the Convention Center, Target Center, the University of Minnesota and the Hennepin Theater District. This downtown hotel features apartment-style suites with fully equipped kitchens including refrigerator, dishwasher, stove, oven and microwave. Downtown Minneapolis' solution to extended stay lodging, the TownePlace Suites offers special rates based on your length of stay keeping your budget in mind. Perfect for the business traveler, Twins fans, theater buffs or shoppers, the TownePlace Suites is within walking distance of the Light Rail/ NorthStar Rail and the Mississippi River. You can relax in our spacious guest rooms featuring Marriott's new bedding with triple sheeting and plush pillows, work out in our 24-hour exercise rooms or play a game of pool in our unique billiards room. Let our outstanding staff become your personal concierge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown/North Loop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Minneapolis Downtown Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing