We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
East Saint Louis, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“fun staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I recently stayed at the Residence Inn and after checking the bed bug registry I was concerned. There was a report from 2011 that said room 107 had them. Upon arrival at the hotel I mentioned this to the clerk and he assured me there were no bed bugs. He was funny and joked around with us. Once in our room, I checked the room in great detail to find no bed bugs. We were in room 103 and it was definitely clean-no bugs. Every staff we encountered in this weekend trip was helpful, nice, funny. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvhavinfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    71
    25
    10
    6
See reviews for
56
32
11
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nahant, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

When we travel, we like to get a two room suite (emergency insomnia/snoring escape). This reasonably priced and well located hotel fills the bill, Bedroom is pretty small, but fine for sleeping, with a comfortable bed. Generous breakfast is included in the price. Wi fi in the room worked fine. Fridge is a little noisy if you are trying to sleep on the pull out couch in the living room. But it's great to have a place to sit around with friends/family and relax, other than the bedroom. Easy walk to the Mill City museum, the river and parks, and not too far from downtown. I like the location better than the Residence Inn in the downtown city center area. This is my "go to" place in MInneapolis.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bea409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I can understand how the two room suite would be very accommodating to you. I apologize for the noisy fridge. We will definitely have that looked at. We are located in a unique area of downtown that is great for walks, parks and easy location to get to the heart of downtown also. I'm glad to hear we will be your "go to" place when you return to Minneapolis. Thanks for staying at the Depot Minneapolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pace, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel. I was there FRIDAY night and SATURDAY Night. The hotel was very quiet which allowed me to rest before the Twin Cities Marathon. The hotel was very clean. The front desk was very accommodating with any request that I made. If I were to return to the area, this would be my first choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm glad you had a peaceful stay with us before getting ready for your marathon. I'm happy to hear our staff and rooms were ideal for you. I hope the Twin Cities Marathon went well for you. If you return to Minneapolis next year I hope you choose the Residence Inn Depot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I came to stay with my granddaughter as her parents went to a wedding. The room was nice, roomy for three of us. Liked the kitchen as we ate in the room, except for breakfast. Spent most of the time at the water park. Breakfast had a great selection and room was large!! Given the same situation would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thanks for your great review. We appreciate any feedback from our guests. I'm glad your visit to see your family was a success. The waterpark is a great attraction for the kids. If you return to Minneapolis I hope you choose to stay at the Residence Inn Depot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Office did not get us rooms at the other Residence inn which is better located right in the downtown. But this hotel has a good location as well. Right by the river, so you can spend evenings walking on the stone arch bridge. There are quite a few restaurant options on the Washington Ave on which the hotel is situated. The metrodome is also within walking distance. For the hotel, the room was big enough, came with a microwave and a small kitchen, which was useful. The staff was very helpful, specially the ladies managing the breakfast buffet. The breakfast was good enough with its meats breads cereals and fruits. The only problem is the menu gets boring and repetitive if you are staying there for over a week, like I did. tripadvisor did mention to get a room on the top floors away from the waterpark area, which is within the hotel, however, we dint face any noise issues though the staff did manage to give us rooms upstairs for the entire 2.5 weeks we stayed! I don't mind staying there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ridz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay with us for the two weeks you were in Minneapolis. We are located in a unique area of Minneapolis. The Stone Arch Bridge and Metrodome are in very easy access from our hotel. I'm glad you made found the kitchen in the room useful. I will share your kind words about our staff service with everyone. Thank you for your kind review and thanks for staying at the Residence Inn Depot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel is always clean, and is closely located to work. No bar or restaurant in this hotel, but they are located in the sister hotel next door. If you want quiet, stay on a higher floor, as there is a water park on the first floor.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnecharl0tte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind review on our hotel. I'm glad to hear it's always clean and located close to your work location. I hope if your work brings you back to Minneapolis you will choose to stay at the Residence Inn Depot again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
267 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were visiting a family member who recently moved to the Twin Cities and needed a nice place to stay. We found that this hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful and the rooms were large and comfortable. Breakfasts were a bit better than most hotel chains (nothing to get excited about), but the water with lemons and oranges (in the hallway), free wifi, daily papers, billiards made for nice extras. I did wonder about the notice in our room with all sorts of rules about noise, rowdiness and damage to rooms. Upon asking the clerk, I was told this was because of kids parities coming for the indoor water park. Fortunately for us, noise was not an issue during our stay and the water park would be great fun, if you have kids with you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daanddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casandra K, Manager at Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
I am you enjoyed your stay at the Residence Inn. We take great pride in our hotel and glad you saw the daily touches we make to enhance our guests stay. If your travels bring you back to Minneapolis I hope you choose to stay at the Residence Inn Depot again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minneapolis
Downtown
Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warehouse District
TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown/North Loop
Downtown
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Downtown
aloft Minneapolis
aloft Minneapolis
#24 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot

Property: Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot
Address: 425 S 2nd St, Minneapolis, MN 55401-2181 (Formerly Residence Inn at The Depot)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#21 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn At The Depot Hotel Minneapolis
Residence Inn Minneapolis
Minneapolis Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing