We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and conference/training venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Minneapolis
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Booked this hotel because it was the location for a 3 day training venue. All the major things you would think about were perfect especially the friendliness of the staff and restaurant people. Room service was prompt. The room, hallways, outdoor patio, elevators, training hall, etc. were clean and well maintained. There were plenty of staff running around providing fresh water and picking up after the attendees. The building itself is a very interesting rail station conversion and there were plenty of rail memorabilia in the lobby area. The room had a nice desk with all the outlets for computers and devices and plenty of lighting options. The heating system was modern and quiet and I did not find it overly dry in the room. The king bed was comfy and there were plenty of pillows.

Room Tip: Higher floor had the best view. 5th floor is the highest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodandTea_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany E, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Kathy T-

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and am especially happy to hear that our staff was so attentive during your work event. I will be sure to pass your kind words on to our Banquet staff as well. I hope you are able to make your way back and stay for pleasure next time instead! Thank you again for your review, we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 576 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

It's often hard to find kid friendly hotel in downtown areas of bigger cities. The Depot Renaissance offers fun things for kids and a wonderful location. This hotel has an ice skating rink, water park, and it just blocks away from arenas, the river, and downtown. Parking is super convenient and there are great dining options within walking distance. The hotel staff were very accommodating and kudos to the waterpark staff for enforcing rules so everyone can enjoy themselves. Hotel gets 4 instead of a 5 for subpar and expensive room service food.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrickTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany E, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

TrickTaylor-

I'm happy to hear you were able to entertain the kids with our ice rink and waterpark and I'm happy to hear you were able to explore the downtown area while visiting! I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with your room service order but I'm happy you encountered friendly staff while with us. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed here over a weekend whilst passing through Minneapolis. Rooms are nice, but very surprised that there is no room safe in this calibre of hotel. I've been in a Holiday Inn Express where they have a room safe.....

Rooms are well appointed. Heating/cooling system is very noisy though. It seems to recirculate even when it's switched off (to stop it freezing perhaps?) - ..but still very annoying.

Work out room is ok - decent selection of equipment and quiet when I was there. Nice to have towels and water available. Didn't eat in the restaurant, but did have tea in the bar area. Nice attentive service from the staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tahirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany E, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

tahirs-

I'm happy you were able to visit us during your travels through Minneapolis. I apologize if not having a safe within the room caused you any inconvenience! We are in the process of getting safes installed in the rooms and hopefully, you will see that on your next visit. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our Stone Arch bar and the fireplace as well. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We recently spent the Presidents / Ventines Day weekend at the Mpls Depot Renaissance Hotel. It was quite crowded with long family weekend and school holiday, but we had a nice stay. We especially enjoyed the convenience of the north of city center location, and the spacious heated parking - easy in and out compared to many downtown hotels. We stayed on points, but if they market weekend deals we'll take it again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rstlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz K, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Rstlocal
It’s wonderful to hear that you had a nice stay with us over the Presidents/Valentines Day weekend. We truly appreciate that you took the time to share. It sounds like we will see you again in the future. We look forward to your return.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Booked a room with two queen beds! We were ready to go to our room and called a head to see how late the pool would be open. Immediately noted the woman stated we had a "king" with a sofa bed.! No two queens we stated. " sorry that wasn't guaranteed" was their lames and moronic response. Talked to "Brittany" the manager- again " no that wasn't guaranteed"! What??? Then she stated " oh yea, I see you requested a room with two queens" after she clearly gave our room away! And then they had that inconsiderate attitude such that it was not "guaranteed " despite the fact that that's what we were told Upon booking. I then asked if we had booked a suite would they have put us in a standard? " no" says Brittany. This was like a Seinfeld episode. They know how to " take" reservations but not how to keep them! Horrid low class service in Minneapolis. Go join ihg rewards clubs- skip marriott low end chains altogether. If it weren't for the tiny pool and crowded depot skating rink- no one would stay here at all. Nor should they - there are better places to stay if you like to skate.
Btw- I ate here before on a business lunch and had noooo plans to eat there on this stay. Eat at a restaurant- not this hotel's overpriced tasteless food.yuk! :0~

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdie11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz K, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Birdie11111
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. I’ve very disappointed to hear that it was not a pleasant experience for you. We take our guest’s comments very seriously, positive or negative. I apologize that we were unable to provide you with the type of room you had reserved; we are currently in the process of investigating the situation. I’m so sorry to hear that you felt our staff had an inconsiderate attitude. This will be addressed immediately with the staff to avoid future occurrences. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

One of the best staff anywhere! Extremely accommodating and really made you feel like royalty. The restaurant food was superb and the kids had a blast on the ice rink. Suggest bring your own skates if you can!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridie803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany E, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Bridie803-

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel. I am so happy to hear that the staff provided you with such great service. We strive to make all of our guests feel welcome and it is absolutely amazing to hear you felt like royalty. I'm also happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us and that you were also able to use the ice rink during your visit. I hope you have a chance to visit us again sometime soon. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I were recently here for a shopping a trip and stayed right here downtown. great staff from the valet parkers to the waitresses - they were all very personable and made for an enjoyable stay. staff had excellent reccomondations for food and helped us really find our way. would never stay at any other hotel downtown - beautiful place, great location, and amazing service. thank you depot renaissance!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank sdtravelgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany E, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

sdtravelgirls-

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am absolutely thrilled to hear that the staff offered you and your friends some good suggestions for shopping and eating; that's what the Renaissance brand is all about! I hope you have a chance to visit us again soon! Thank you again for your fantastic review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minneapolis
Downtown
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#11 of 52 in Minneapolis
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot

Address: 225 3rd Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55401-2524 (Formerly The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#20 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range: $128 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel is the perfect blend of history and style. We are located in downtown Minneapolis' Historic Mill District on the banks of the Mississippi River yet close to Nicollet Mall, popular local dining, sports venues, theater the riverfront area. Discover something new and exciting at our Renaissance Hotel. Our hotel has exceptional dining at Milwaukee Road, our on-site restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Minneapolis
The Depot Minneapolis Renaissance Hotel
Minneapolis Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing