We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic, attentive, and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Barrington, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
“Historic, attentive, and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The suite was beautiful and very accommodating. We traveled with our two small dogs and everyone treated them as distinguished guests of the hotel! The doggie gift bag was especially thoughtful. We enjoyed relaxing on the patio as well as dinner and music in the lounge. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
depotmgr, General Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us and I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. Being pet friendly is new for us and I'm glad that we are now an option for you.
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    167
    44
    27
    18
See reviews for
122
66
20
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Rolls Mountain Park, New Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

What an amazing find! The Depot was a delightful surprise at the end of our vacation! We just needed a room for the night but instead we got over 900 square feet of LUXURY!!! We got a great deal and they gave us a suite in this beautiful old train station! They have theses statues they call their "Ghost". They are statues of people that would have been at the depot during its heyday! They have a water park and ice rink but those are just extras! Our suite had a dining area, a living area all with period furniture. The bedroom had two windows with a wonderful view of the city, window seats to sit and enjoy watching out the window. King size bed with a love seat at the end of the bed, two closets and a tv in the cabinet if you don't want to see it! Then you go into a an amazing bathroom with a vanity area with double sinks, magnifying mirror and a coffee and tea bar. Then you walk into the bathroom with a huge jacuzzi tub and a separate glass shower for two!
We hit the jackpot with this amazing hotel! We will be coming back to Minneapolis not for the city but to stay at "The Depot"! The service from everyone was top of the line! They were pleasant and always helpful! We can't wait to go back! Two thumbs up for this incredible place!

Room Tip: We stayed in the old depot side where it takes you back in time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
depotmgr, General Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for the lovely comments! I am so pleased that you enjoyed the historic suite and hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed alone Sat.-Mon. mid-August 2013. I normally stay next door at Residence Inn, but Renaissance rate of $139 was better, as the front desk staff kindly informed and switched me. Staff at Renaissance just as pleasant; rooms lovely, clean, quiet; bathroom not palatial but just fine; parking (avg. $17.50/day!! compared to Chicago's $60 several weeks ago) was simple and convenient; location perfect for me (with University and fav breki joint [Moose and Sadie's] near by, and St. Paul destinations - access to freeways no problem). The very attractive courtyard bar can be LIVELY at night so north- or east-side room may be preferable. I definitely will return.

Room Tip: Dunn Bros. coffee and yummies - next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz K, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Martha P, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the kind comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Renaissance. We hope to see you again, very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is fairly basic as business hotels go. Nothing exceptional and certainly not luxurious. The WIFI in the rooms barely qualifies for Internet service. Pages take several seconds to refresh when doing normal browsing. Don't even think about watching a Netflix program on your iPad.

The real turnoff is their "signature" room fragrance. To me at least, it smells a bit like putting your face in grandma's purse. Essence of Juicy Fruit, lip stick, breath mints, and used Kleenex. Not nice. They say that they can "try" to not spray your room during housekeeping; but no guarantees since it is a signature service which most of their guests appreciate.

Room Tip: On summer weekends, ask for a room which is not on the central courtyard. The bar is open until 1:0...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ1SanFrancisco_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz K, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
TJ1SanFrancisco_CA
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that our room fragrance was not to your liking. I have shared your comments with our housekeeping team and we are committed to finding alternative options. Within the last two weeks we have updated our WiFi broadband to improve the speed and quality of our services. Thank you for staying as our guest and hope you will return to our property again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Making the reservation thru their 1-800 number was rather disappointing. The employee's were not knowledgeable nor helpful over the phone, or in person for that matter. We had choose the option to check in early if available, and ended up having to wait an hour after their posted check in time before actually being able to check in. The pool hours were never presented to us... For a family with two small children that were pretty excited to play at this awesome pool I find It odd that at no point in the reservation, or check in conversations did any staff mentioned that their pool is only open from 9am to 3pm on Sunday and not open on Mondays.. when our stay was a Saturday thru Monday. The housekeeping staff entered our room while our children were napping and we had to ask them to leave, twice before they actually left. They handed us an extra card "for parking" they said, but failed to explain their little parking system so we ended up paying for our parking during our stay. Again, Disappointing considering we had choose a room rate for our stay that included both our parking and swimming fees. I called to speak to the manager of the hotel a few days after we left, asked to speak to the General Manager. I was then put directly into the Assistant Managers voicemail, I left a message and haven't heard a thing, that was 6 days ago. I'm still pretty bummed that we wasted so much time, energy, and money on this place. For our third night we went and stayed at a different hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz K, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Leslie B,
I’m so sorry for your poor experience during your stay with us. I can image it was very frustrating to not receive proper explanation of the waterpark and parking. I’m disappointed to hear we were not able to make this a positive experience for you and your family and that you had to relocate because of it. I’m concerned that you did not receive a call back from a manager and would like to investigate that further. I would like to opportunity to speak with you personally and I can be reached at 612.758.7870. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I travel a great deal for business and pleasure and have come to expect certain things from a higher end Marriott property due to being Platinum members. I had great expectations for the rooms but it was smaller than a Courtyard property would be and the bathroom area no better than a Fairfield. If you are expecting luxury accommodations that are typical of a Renaissance, don't stay here! We checked out after one day and moved to another property for the remainder of our 1 week stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaD20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz K, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
MelissaD20,
I’m very sorry to hear that the design of our rooms did not meet your expectations. I feel very badly that you had to relocate to another hotel because of it. We certainly appreciate you sharing your comments and concerns with us. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed for a conference recently and really enjoyed the amenities and location of the hotel. The hotel is one block from the river and is within 5 blocks of numerous restaurants and bars. The hotel bar wasn't bad either as it has a nice patio and great wine selection.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz K, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Amanda S,
Thank you for your review. I’m so happy to hear you were able to enjoy the local area as well as our patio while you were in Minneapolis. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#11 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,420 reviews
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot

Property: Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
Address: 225 3rd Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55401-2524 (Formerly The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#20 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel is the perfect blend of history and style. We are located in downtown Minneapolis' Historic Mill District on the banks of the Mississippi River yet close to Nicollet Mall, popular local dining, sports venues, theater the riverfront area. Discover something new and exciting at our Renaissance Hotel. Our hotel has exceptional dining in Charley's Grill or our Stone Arch Bar and Patio. We are also connected to a seasonal indoor ice rink at the Residence Inn by Marriott hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Minneapolis
The Depot Minneapolis Renaissance Hotel
Minneapolis Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing