We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent place for a wedding block!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent place for a wedding block!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had our out-of-town wedding guests book at The Depot since our wedding was down the street. The staff here was excellent to us! They made the room block process incredibly simple and my guests all had rave reviews about the customer service they experienced. My husband and I also stayed here in one of their suites which was gorgeous and very comfortable.

Some highlights ...
I brought some surprise drinks to be placed in my in-laws room for their arrival. The concierge manager, a woman who's name is currently escaping me (sorry!) took them from me and said she'd take care of it. I got a call from my in laws who were so excited to have a knock on their door and my drinks delivered to them on a lovely platter with glasses and all the fixings. So sweet!

The staff slipped a congrats note under our door which we found when we got back from the wedding. It was such a nice touch! Wine and cheese was also delivered to our room before the wedding which was so lovely.

The breakfast at the restaurant is fantastic!

The whole place is great for wedding party getting ready pictures.

Thanks Depot for helping making our wedding perfection!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Taylor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrynm, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your great review. I am glad to hear our staff made your staff special. Thank you for discovering us. I hope we see you again when in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    173
    44
    29
    19
See reviews for
127
69
21
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Really relaxing stay. I got one of the suites and the floor and room were so quiet and relaxing, even with a conference going on elsewhere in the hotel. The bar and restaurant service were pleasant. Walleye Reuben was different than I'd had before, and delicious. It would have been nice if the club lounge wasn't closed Friday and Saturday, not sure why that would be..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goncaptive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrynm, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for discovering us. You mentioned the Walleye Rueben, our chef developed it a couple years ago and it's become a property favorite. The club lounge is available Sunday night to Friday morning for our Marriott Elite members and club level guests. hopefully your next time staying with us you can enjoy the lounge.

Again, thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again if your travels find you in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a charming hotel which is attached to the old train station in Minneapolis. There is a mini museum in the lobby area of the hotel which gives some background to the history of the train station. Love the "ghost" figures of the different types of travelers who have gone through the station over the years.

It is a bit difficult getting into and out of the hotel when you are traveling by car - there isn't a large area for drop off and pickup but the parking is great. The rooms were very nice and clean as the "hotel" part is quite new. Nice stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrynm, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Great comments and review.I'm glad you enjoyed the history of the building. The gentleman that donated all the train memorabilia is local and sometimes you can find him looking things over and making sure everything is in good shape. He also enjoys educating people on the history of The Depot when he's around.
Our front entrance is small but out valet and bellman are quick to help anyone who needs it so you can get you on your way quickly.

Thank you for discovering us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Good location for Downtown. 3 blocks to airport train station. (The train to the airport is a wonderful service. Costs $2.50, is warm, safe, and fast.) Impersonal and stuffy check in experience. Good bartender and server staff. Food and beverage are above average with good selection and presentation. Average rooms. Did not receive any upgrade or acknowledgement of Marriott gold elite status. Decor is pretty cool, with huge railroad maps and memorabilia. Concierge level had fruit, cheese, granola bars, coffee/tea, light snacks, and you could purchase beer. Funny to watch all the other cheapskates walk out with an apple, granola bar, and plate of cheese.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richarddavis2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrynm, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and comments. I'm sorry that the check in processes was not what you expected. Our Marriott Elite members are very important to us and we appreciate their commitment. I will discuss this with our Director of guest service and make sure we do all we can to show our appreciation to our Elite guests.

You pointed out a hidden gem of our property. The light rail three blocks away takes you directly into the airport terminal in 25 minutes and at a nominal fee. It's very convenient.

Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The room itself is very nice, but the noise that came from the hallway and the street made for a poor night's sleep. I've stayed in dozens of hotels and this was one of the worst for sound proofing.
The sink is in the main part of the room, rather than with the toilet/shower, which I dislike unless I am the only one staying in the room. Parking is $15 for self park, though it is in a heated garage.
Internet is $9.95; I have a hard time understanding why one and two star hotels offer free Internet, yet better hotels charge for it.
On the plus side, the room was spacious and comfortable with a nice black-out shade. I stayed here because I went to a meeting held there. If you have to stay at this hotel, ask for a room on an upper floor near the end of the hallway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hblanke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrynm, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and comments. I'm sorry for the noise level you experienced during your stay. Our goal is for every traveler to have a relaxful stay with us. We are very accommodating to requests for quiter sides and areas. Being a historic hotel we have many long hallways with twists and turns. We strive to locate the traveler in the location that best fits their needs.

Again, thank you for staying with us. We hope you'll discover us again if your travels find you in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I spent 6 nights over New Years at this hotel in one of the historic suites. The room was a nominal upcharge for the spectacular comfort. I had a jacuzzi tub, exquisite decor, and 12 foot ceilings. The bed was very comfortable and warm. The blackout curtains were perfect for this jetlagged traveler.

Room service was not good. I put my breakfast order out as I had a guest meeting me for breakfast one morning and the order never arrived. When I called down they told me they forgot about it and would be bringing up. After it finally got there, they took a whopping 10% off. I was not pleased. I ordered a hummus dish one evening that arrived on time and was tasty though.

There is a big alert that should be posted for the traveler without children... THIS HOTEL HAS LOTS OF KIDS. I was not bothered as the suites are cornered off. But getting to the lobby was like walking through an elementary school. Also, this hotel is very close to the stadium so it has lots of fans staying there on game weekends.

All in all a B+ experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesCarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrynm, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We appreciate your review. I’m glad we could offer a great room for such an extended stay with us. The room you stayed in was once was the offices for the railroad and each one is unique. I am sorry to hear your room service order was missed. I have looked into the situation and can assure you this isn’t a normal occurrence.
You make a great point about the amount of children and families here over New Year’s Eve. This is not a typical period of time for our hotel. Holidays and weekends are very family friendly and we’re known for being a great staycation. On your stay we also had the Vikings versus Green Bay game which added to the family attraction. On the weekdays, we are business oriented. Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again when you’re in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on Sun, Dec. 30 during a very busy time prior to the Vikings/ Packers game. We booked a regular room but asked to upgrade to the skating package. At first the woman helping us said that she didn't think we could upgrade because that needed to be booked in advance but she said she would check on it (and she actually did). She and another gentleman working the desk upgraded us to a package and sent us on our way. They were both so friendly, helpful and positive that I walked away and said to my husband 'best customer service ever!' The valet workers were also spot on so another added customer service bonus. Our room was comfortable, clean and nicely appointed. We didn't use the waterpark but did take advantage of the skating. The room package allowed the kids to come and go from skating as long as our stay lasted. There is a ballroom next to the rink that is absolutely stunning (doors were open so we took a peek). And the heated parking garage is an awesome perk during our frigi winters. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Deadiebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrynm, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your review. I’m glad our staff was quick to react and we were able to meet your family’s needs while you were here. One of the unique points of our property is you never know what you’re going to discover around the next corner. We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot
Downtown
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#15 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
aloft Minneapolis
aloft Minneapolis
#22 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Minneapolis
The Westin Minneapolis
#17 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot

Property: Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
Address: 225 3rd Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55401-2524 (Formerly The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#20 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel is the perfect blend of history and style. We are located in downtown Minneapolis' Historic Mill District on the banks of the Mississippi River yet close to Nicollet Mall, popular local dining, sports venues, theater the riverfront area. Discover something new and exciting at our Renaissance Hotel. Our hotel has exceptional dining in Charley's Grill or our Stone Arch Bar and Patio. We are also connected to a seasonal indoor ice rink at the Residence Inn by Marriott hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Minneapolis
The Depot Minneapolis Renaissance Hotel
Minneapolis Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing