We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot to your Saves list
Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 S 3rd Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Formerly The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on Sun, Dec. 30 during a very busy time prior to the Vikings/ Packers game. We booked a regular room but asked to upgrade to the skating package. At first the woman helping us said that she didn't think we could upgrade because that needed to be booked in advance but she said she would check on it (and she actually did). She and another gentleman working the desk upgraded us to a package and sent us on our way. They were both so friendly, helpful and positive that I walked away and said to my husband 'best customer service ever!' The valet workers were also spot on so another added customer service bonus. Our room was comfortable, clean and nicely appointed. We didn't use the waterpark but did take advantage of the skating. The room package allowed the kids to come and go from skating as long as our stay lasted. There is a ballroom next to the rink that is absolutely stunning (doors were open so we took a peek). And the heated parking garage is an awesome perk during our frigi winters. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Deadiebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrynm, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your review. I’m glad our staff was quick to react and we were able to meet your family’s needs while you were here. One of the unique points of our property is you never know what you’re going to discover around the next corner. We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    167
    43
    26
    17
See reviews for
121
66
20
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 4 was here on a New Year's Eve package.We skated, dined, swam and did sone of the kids activities. It rook 3 requests to get extra towels + pillows (which should have been there anyway) and never got our Marriott Platinum perks cheese tray and bottled water. Lovely property in former Milwaukee rail depot, but elevators are few, small and slow.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrynm, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. New Year’s Eve is an extremely busy time. We are the only hotel the features a true family getaway experience in Minneapolis. With the kids DJ, bouncy houses, rink, waterpark and game room we have a lot to monitor. Your comments will help us define staffing for next year’s celebration and make it a perfect experience for everyone. Again, thank you for staying with us and we do hope to see you on future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and I were traveling with a 7-year old with plans to attend a Gopher hockey game.
We arrived late on a Friday night to check-in. Check-in went smoothly. Valet parking wasn't available so my husband parked our vehicle in the underground parking garage ($15/night). Underground parking is fabulous in the winter in Minnesota. We had a nice corner room on the 5th floor with two queen beds. The rooms aren't large, but they are comfortable and clean. The beds are comfy and the room included a small fridge, not much of a view. They also supply Aveda products (I always appreciate nice soap/shampoo/conditioner).

A few things worth noting if you're traveling with kids: The Depot ice skating rink is attached to the building. It's great. It costs extra (discounted to around $6/adult if you mention that you're staying at the hotel) but is totally worth it if you enjoying skating. It's a great way to burn off energy when it's too cold to be outside.
The water park is nice/clean with life guards and kept our child entertained for at least an hour. I did hear some parents say that once your kids have been to Wisconsin Dells and experienced the waterparks there, this one didn't seem like anything special. I'd say it's great for kids up to age 9 or 10, but kids older than that probably won't enjoy it as much.
There's also an arcade near the water park which was hit with my child.
Good coffee/lattes are available right next door at Dunn Brothers Coffee. It's within walking distance to Nicolet Mall. Short cab ride to Mariucci Arena. Good running down by the river just a few blocks away if it's not too cold outside.
After reading some of the reviews, our expectations weren't high. The staff and the hotel's accomodations exceeded our expectations in every way.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2Travel53705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrynm, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Great review. As you said, our water park is perfect for the pre-teen and under but I've seen some adults having a great time as well. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendota Heights, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We spent 1 night for a little staycation with the kids before the holiday. We were not disappointed when we arrived to our rooms, they were nice, spacious, clean, well-decorated. The kids enjoyed the waterpark and games adjacent to the hotel - that was a big bonus! We enjoyed dinner a few blocks away at the Spaghetti Factory so great to be able to walk to a restaurant. What dissapointed us the most was breakfast - granted the hotel was not very busy but the staff was light and the service was nil. We arrived at the hotel restaurant, proceeded to wait and finally seated ourselved next to a table where staff were meeting. We continued to wait another 5-10 minutes while the staff did not help us at all. We then went to the buffet where we had to wait while the staff was first. My husband expressed his disappointment to the manager, and she was very apologetic even gave us free tickets to ice skating next door to "make it right" This was much appreciated, but good advice to the staff would be to take your name tags off first before you enjoy the hotel restaurant - service and the customer should come first.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrynm, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm truly sorry that the staff made a negative impact on what sounded like a terrific stay. I have forwarded your comments on to our leadership team as this is not our standard. We appreciate you discovering us and hope you will again when in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, CA USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We spent 3 nights last month on a weekend at a family wedding and were most impressed with this hotel, it's Marriott staff, and it's really well thought out amenities. We stayed in a room that resembled a small suite with a couch and upholstered easy chair, great TV, good desk and chair with all up-to-date gadget necessities. Our room, and the whole hotel, is very well thought out and well designed and put together. Everything was fresh and new feeling and everything worked well such as the air conditioner, the nifty multiple curtains with blackout capabilities, the desk with fixtures and fittings for laptops, phones, other gadgets. We were impressed with the comfort and great design. The hotel was filled with families getting married apparently so there were lots of kids and families whooping it up but our room was totally silent. I totally agree with the other 4 and 5 star reviews on the charm and history of the place. It's unusually warm and inviting. Our only gripe is with all hotels that now use only duvets for the bed which are too warm for us in almost all weather conditions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MendoPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrynm, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We appreciate you staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was a pleasant surprise. The staff gets "it". They were very friendly and attentive. Check in was very professional and efficient. The rooms were very clean, large and comfortable. The windows were a bit drafty but other than than that this was an excellent stay and I would recommend the hotel when in the downtown area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank candostill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrynm, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. I hope you stay with us again if your travels find you in our area..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I've stayed here many times for business, and can't think of a negative thing to say about it. Ok, it is a small walk to downtown, but everything else: The rooms, the staff, the historical decor, the food at the restaurant, make it worthwhile. Not recommended if you have young children, as some rooms have antique historical furniture that, well, wouldn't be compatible with my 2 and 4 year old. If traveling with family, stay at the Residence Inn at the Depot that is part of the greater facility.

Room Tip: Any of the historical suites are great. Worth the upgrade. Also, if you can get a room not facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthvilleMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrynm, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you discover us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#11 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#5 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,414 reviews
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot

Property: Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
Address: 225 S 3rd Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Formerly The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#20 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel is the perfect blend of history and style. We are located in downtown Minneapolis' Historic Mill District on the banks of the Mississippi River yet close to Nicollet Mall, popular local dining, sports venues, theater the riverfront area. Discover something new and exciting at our Renaissance Hotel. Our hotel has exceptional dining in Charley's Grill or our Stone Arch Bar and Patio. We are also connected to a seasonal indoor ice rink at the Residence Inn by Marriott hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Minneapolis
The Depot Minneapolis Renaissance Hotel
Minneapolis Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing