We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot to your Saves list
Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 S 3rd Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Formerly The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We were in town with two teenagers looking for a good jumping off point to explore.. We found it! It is in a prime location to do most anything you could want. The beds were cushy, the room was cool and clean. And, for $$99 a night, you can't get a better deal! My only gripe... Wi-fi cost $10 to sign on after the first night.

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard room, it was perfect and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank breb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrynm, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us. I'm glad to hear you could take advantage of that special rate while in town. As you mentioned we do have a charge for Internet wired and wireless in our guest rooms. We have complimentary Internet in our lobby area for all our guests. In addition to that we offer a business center complimentary to our guests as well. We try to meet the needs of all our guests.
We hope to see you again if your travels finds you in our area. Thank you for discovering us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    167
    43
    26
    17
See reviews for
121
66
20
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We had a Convention to attend in Minneapolis and needed a separate location the first week which was our vacation. The room was large, the beds comfortable , bathroom spacious and clean. A minor housekeeping problem did not keep us from enjoying our stay. Two blocks from bus route, two blocks from nice walkway by the river. Limited restaurants nearby but found several to choose from overall in the city. If more than five day stay I suggest getting a 7 day metro transit pass $22 is well worth the unlimited rides on the rail and bus system. (Cannot use on Express bus) The Hotel had a business center for computer email/internet use and a printer for use as well. Nice workout room. Coffee house next door(delightful customer service). We did not use hotel dining too busy out and about. The front desk/ bar personnel/maids handled any issue or question with a smile and very helpful. This Marrriott property is linked to the Residence Inn and we were able to use their laundry facilities. The hospitality shown was the best i have experienced in years! Kudos to all the Marriott workers.
Only con - no refrigerator would prefer for a week long stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julsedslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrynm, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thank you for the great review and kind words. I will pass your compliments to the staff. On future stays we do have fridges in our club floor rooms including the historic suites. We can also bring them up upon request to the our other rooms. Our goal is to make you as comfortable as you are in your own home, thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Depot Renaissance in downtown Minneapolis is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. The location was perfect for exploring this very friendly, interesting and entertaining city. Every staff member was courteous and enthusiastic. They were eager to share points of interest and show directions using a map that was complimentary.

The hotel is an historic landmark and the renovated suites were so comfortable, quiet and well appointed. The price was very affordable for a suite of this quality. The lobby bar is beautiful and there is a wonderful patio as well. The only reason that I did not give this hotel 5 stars is that the food at the restaurant was only fair. The breakfast buffet is standard fare, but it is not laid out very well causing long lines with lots of confusion depending on what you wanted. Dinner was mediocre as well. The wait staff were very friendly however.

I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here in the future. However, I would go somewhere else for dinner.

Room Tip: If you are able, try to stay in an historic suite. They are in the older part of the hotel and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and the wonderful comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were quests at a wedding reception and dance. Staff did a great job. Neat small outdoor bar

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sipete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and the review. I'm happy you enjoyed our outside patio area. We recently had the out door space renovated and are excited to offer it our guest.Again, thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
469 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Large room with club chair and ottoman. Nice desk with lots of plug ins. Nice bed with six pillows. Night stand on each side of bed. Alarm clock. Aveda products inn bathroom. Hair dryer is a full size one and works well. Sink and mirror outside of bathroom. Nice shower. Only two towels though. Very clean. Very quiet. Water park is nice. Great location with tons to do. Definitely will return. Thumbs up all the way!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarriedInBarbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for your review and comments. I see that you enjoyed the water park. Come see us in November when the skating rink opens for the season. Great family fun.

Again, thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I am a Platinum Member of Marriott and will go out of my way to stay at one of their properties. As a fan of historic hotels, I find that their Renaissance division has some great options (not all of them are great, but most), and this property definitely excels.

Pros - a great atmosphere with high-class themed decor following their railroad depot location. Extremely friendly front desk staff (there is a thing as too perky, though), nice sized room with comfortable furniture (and a leather side chair which is an attractive touch), responsive maintenance (we had a small problem in the room (which we caused) which was addressed right away), fun water park option

Cons - This is a downtown location. Other than about 10 parking venues for the Twins game, there is not a lot around here for a weekend stay. We basically entered the hotel and never left again until we checked out the next morning. This was fine for us, but those looking to explore might find shopping and free time activities lacking immediately around the hotel. Also, don't let the outside fool you. Again, as a fan of historic architecture, I found the building/depot attractive, but my daughter admitted that she was nervous when we pulled up in front of it. She thought it looked like a warehouse and wondered what I was thinking booking us in "a shack" - she amended her opinion the minute we walked through the front door, but first impressions do count.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pbadeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrynm, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments and for staying with us. We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My family had the misfortune of staying at the Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel on Saturday night, June 16, 2012. That was the night the Hotel used its 60,000 sq ft "full-service historic hospitality venue" to host the "Music of the Night" Symphony Ball 2012 for the Minnesota Orchestra. The Music of that Night was overpowering and sounded to those of us staying in the hotel well over the "ninety (90) dB(A)" allowed by the City noise ordinances. According to the Minneapolis Police, the 911 calls from neighbors complaining of the excessive noise came in at 11:09 pm, 11:26 pm, and 11:38 pm. The First Precinct sent over officers after midnight, and again at 1am.

Exasperated, I finally got out of bed around 12:30 and went down to speak in person to the front desk clerk and the Banquet Manager catering the event. Both people assured me that there wasn't anything they could do about the noise level because the event organizers had a City-issued permit and the Police who just left said it was OK. I'm astounded that the Hotel management felt it was powerless to control an event that was held in its own facility and catered by its own staff. I feel the Hotel could have at least warned us when we made our reservation that there would be a late night, very loud party so we could have asked for rooms well away from the event. We were very disappointed that a Marriott Hotel would put the event revelry ahead of the needs and comfort of its paying guests.

By the way, the Minnesota Orchestra appears to be a party-hardy group, at least at their Symphony Ball. The final words coming over the amplified sound system just after 1am were "This is the last song. The Police got called. Good job! Make some noise. The Police got called."

Room Tip: Fair warning fellow traveler, if you are fond of late night parties, go ahead and book your room. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot
Downtown
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#11 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#5 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,414 reviews
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot

Property: Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
Address: 225 S 3rd Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Formerly The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#20 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel is the perfect blend of history and style. We are located in downtown Minneapolis' Historic Mill District on the banks of the Mississippi River yet close to Nicollet Mall, popular local dining, sports venues, theater the riverfront area. Discover something new and exciting at our Renaissance Hotel. Our hotel has exceptional dining in Charley's Grill or our Stone Arch Bar and Patio. We are also connected to a seasonal indoor ice rink at the Residence Inn by Marriott hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Minneapolis
The Depot Minneapolis Renaissance Hotel
Minneapolis Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing