We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed October 25, 2009

We stayed here for one night and I will give brief examples/reviews of our experience.

Check-in: Wasn't too sure about this as you go to a desk and have a seat. There really isn't a line to wait in so you just stand around until someone gets up from a seat at the desk. But staff was friendly and we were in and our way in no time.

Room: We stayed on the 15th floor and had a corner room. We had windows on one long wall and then on another and had a street view. Awesome! Our room was absolutely beautiful with a king-sized bed, desk, arm chair and armoire. Extra pillows and a down comforter made the bed feel especially homey. A gorgeous bathroom with granite counter tops, tiled tub surround, separate shower with dual shower heads and a separate toilet area. My husband kept commenting that it was probably the nicest hotel we've ever stayed in. Received a complimentary newspaper in the morning. No in-room coffee but they have a set-up in the lobby. My sister ordered it from room service because they offer it for free to your room but she never received it.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to everyone. Great location, great price and worth every penny.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deadiebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    208
    83
    28
    20
See reviews for
143
389
62
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

My husband and I came here for our 10 year wedding anniversary and had a wonderful time. I read most of the reviews and was a tad nervous but surely didn't need to be. Check in was very smooth and efficient. The room was a nice size with a huge bathroom. Loved the tv in the bathroom. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in. It also was the cleanest room I have ever been in. I am an extremely pickey person when it comes to my hotels and I would definatly come back. We traveled to our dinner and a few bars threw the skyway, which was nice and warm. The only thing is the skyways close at 10pm. We also had room service for breakfast which was fantastic. I would definatly recommend and come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We recently spent our anniversary at this hotel. It took over 1/2 hour to locate the entrance into the hotel and valet parking due to the road construction. The hotels website did not provide information on where to go based on the road construction. We entered into the back way which did not give a good first impression of the hotel. The staff did not apologize in any way for the inconvienence. I had emailed the hotel about our anniversary and received no reply. Our room was very very small. There was only one night stand, no place to place bathroom items, one chair and little walking room around the bed. The plus is the bed was very nice, robes in the room and very quiet. Very disappointing for an anniversary get away.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianerath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorporateHotelier, Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this review, November 4, 2009
We apologize for the inconveniences you may have suffered during the (now completed) road repairs, rerouting and upgrades. While we did have up-to-date construction information on our website, and did take steps to assure that every guest was aware prior to arrival, we were not able to inform 100% of guests.

In regards to the size of your room, we do list the square footage and layout of each of our unique guestrooms on line, and would have been happy to upgrade you to a larger room if that been your desire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mclean VA
Level Contributor
134 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

The lobby was spacious and had a historic ambience. We were very pleased with our room. Heavy, dark, wooden bed and furnishings. The bathroom was extremely large. It had marble tile, lovely historic photos on the wall and a luxury feel. The pool is very well maintained. It's a lap pool, heated and it wasn't too busy. The health club is excellent and there is no extra charge for guests of the hotel. Our only disappointment was breakfast. Service was slow, the food was not that good and it was quite expensive. Our second morning we ate elsewhere. There was much construction on the streets and sidewalks around the hotel. Fortunately, the skyway system is so great that you can avoid the construction. We had fun finding our way around town with the skyways.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank myjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Very poorly furnished, rooms, ok for business but not a luxury property, I would skip the room service. Beds and bedding were decent

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtlTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

I LOVE the Grand Hotel in Minneapolis. I highly recommend this hotel for your consideration in Minneapolis. I would gladly stay here again and again. I think you probably would find more modern and hip hotels but not one will beat the amazing service and classic feel of the Grand.

The Grand does have a formal feel to it but the rooms are comfortable, quiet and the beds are insanely comfortable. I ordered room service to for a late snack and it was delicious and prompt.

Vanessa at the Concierge was awesome. Some of the staff was not up to Vanessa's ability but all were pleasant.

Downtown Minneapolis is a bit crazy now with traffic and construction but let the Grand be your escape from it all.

Also the Health Club which all guests get access to is sensational.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BulldogMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Traveled to Minneapolis for business and stayed 3 nights in this hotel. Noticed upon check-in that it was a very well appointed hotel and had an aged charm to it. Located in bustling downtown Minneapolis amidst construction projects galore. Parking can be a hassle and the valet stand is located around the corner on another adjacent street, with no signage to guide travelers. Once you find it, valet is easy and is charged to your room, but if you choose to park in the lot nearest the hotel you will notice that they do not accept credit cards (checks or cash only). The room was clean and comfortable and extremely large, was upgraded to a suite free of charge and enjoyed a sitting area with a large TV. Also, the turn down service was nice after a long day of business meetings. Hotel room service was prompt and friendly. Additonal star for getting to sit in the lounge with the NY Yankees, as they were staying in the hotel while playing the Twins. If you are looking for a quiet place to stay, this is definitely it, I am not sure anyone else was staying near me on my floor, if anyone was staying on my floor at all.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justinjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#5 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,619 reviews
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#12 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,253 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Ivy, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Minneapolis
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis

Property: Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Address: 615 2nd Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#16 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy singular style and hospitality at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis. Newly renovated, and located in the city's central business district in the heart of downtown, the hotel is connected on the skyway system to all corporate and leisure destinations. The hotel was named one of Travel + Leisure's 500 "Best Hotels in the World" and offers guests complimentary access to our 58,000 sf LifeTime Athletic Club and pool. A full service Aveda spa is also onsite for added relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minneapolis Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing