We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel that makes business travel a pleasure.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   615 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct: 20% Off
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A hotel that makes business travel a pleasure.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

I LOVE the Grand Hotel in Minneapolis. I highly recommend this hotel for your consideration in Minneapolis. I would gladly stay here again and again. I think you probably would find more modern and hip hotels but not one will beat the amazing service and classic feel of the Grand.

The Grand does have a formal feel to it but the rooms are comfortable, quiet and the beds are insanely comfortable. I ordered room service to for a late snack and it was delicious and prompt.

Vanessa at the Concierge was awesome. Some of the staff was not up to Vanessa's ability but all were pleasant.

Downtown Minneapolis is a bit crazy now with traffic and construction but let the Grand be your escape from it all.

Also the Health Club which all guests get access to is sensational.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BulldogMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    168
    74
    24
    17
See reviews for
100
316
50
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Traveled to Minneapolis for business and stayed 3 nights in this hotel. Noticed upon check-in that it was a very well appointed hotel and had an aged charm to it. Located in bustling downtown Minneapolis amidst construction projects galore. Parking can be a hassle and the valet stand is located around the corner on another adjacent street, with no signage to guide travelers. Once you find it, valet is easy and is charged to your room, but if you choose to park in the lot nearest the hotel you will notice that they do not accept credit cards (checks or cash only). The room was clean and comfortable and extremely large, was upgraded to a suite free of charge and enjoyed a sitting area with a large TV. Also, the turn down service was nice after a long day of business meetings. Hotel room service was prompt and friendly. Additonal star for getting to sit in the lounge with the NY Yankees, as they were staying in the hotel while playing the Twins. If you are looking for a quiet place to stay, this is definitely it, I am not sure anyone else was staying near me on my floor, if anyone was staying on my floor at all.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justinjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Just completed a business trip to Minneapolis where I stayed at the Grand. I found it an ideal hotel for my purposes. It was quiet, the rooms were spacious and well-appointed, the bathroom was new and all marble and granite surfaces. The gym facilities were outstanding: a very large workout gym on the third floor, a full-size pool in the basement with opulent locker rooms, and racquet courts.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmaiden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

Nice large room
Hotel has a pool but we didn't get time to use it

Info in the room was all wrong/out of date. They have free wifi but don't mention it
Room info said breakfast was from 7am.
Front desk said 8am - both were wrong - they only open at 9am at the weekend and service was slow. Go elsewhere

Room service was fast though and the food good

At the moment they are resurfacing the surrounding streets so car access was difficult
Valet was ridiculously slow - they suggested ordering the car 15 mins before you need it - it took 30-45 mins each time

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairmaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

If you are visiting the downtown Minneapolis area, this is definitely the hotel to go to. The decor is luxurious without overdoing it. The rooms were laid out well and the bed was more than comfortable to give me the best night's sleep I've had in a long time. The service staff was very well trained which always makes the difference. My only complaint would be the construction on the outside streets but being on the 8th floor it didn't bother us too much. We will definitely come back to this hotel on our next trip to the cities!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WisRoadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blaine, mn
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2009

I wrote the previous review about the hot room and how we couldn't sleep. I called the hotel today to speak to the manager and explain what happened. The hotel manager (who was very polite and helpful) apologized and took the rest of the hotel charge off of my CC. He also asked us to return and give them another chance, and if so, to contact him directly so that he could ensure this happend for us. I will stay at this hotel again, because as I said in the previous review the rest of the stay was enjoyable, and the service was great.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yede1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2008

I was in town to visit family and wanted to stay somewhere nice, the Grand was grand. I used to stay at the old Minneapolis Athletic Club, which was converted to the Grand. The lap pool downstairs was a great way to start the day and I know others used the squash courts and gym, but I did not. I stayed Friday and Saturday and the place was pretty empty, I guess it is mostly a business hotel. On Sunday morning I had breakfast in the hotel restaurant, my daughter and I were the only people there. The hotel is attached to the sky walk, so I was able to walk all over town without a coat, which was good as it was cold outside! The staff was friendly and let me check in hours early. I love the TV built in the wall at the foot of the tub... nothing like soaking in hot water after visiting family in Minnesota! The doormen were very helpful, the downstairs bar looked busy at happy hour. The former restaurant just closed and a new one opened, but as I didn't have dinner at the hotel I have no new review.

  • Liked — Warm luxury, felt like sleeping late each day.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterfromPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#5 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,414 reviews
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#8 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#11 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 615 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#16 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy singular style and hospitality at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis. Newly renovated, and located in the city's central business district in the heart of downtown, the hotel is connected on the skyway system to all corporate and leisure destinations. The hotel was named one of Travel + Leisure's 500 "Best Hotels in the World" and offers guests complimentary access to our 58,000 sf LifeTime Athletic Club and pool. A full service Aveda spa is also onsite for added relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minneapolis Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing