We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service not up to the class of the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Service not up to the class of the hotel”
Reviewed July 11, 2005

I just returned from a stay at the Grand. I was in town for a software convention and decided to book the Grand after reading the reviews on this hotel. I was able to get a good rate on an upgraded Atrium Premier room with a soaking tub. The room was excellent. There was no view (just of an inside atrium area), but that didn't really matter. The bed was wonderful and I loved watching the TV while soaking in the tub. My complaint was that the service in general was inconsistent. Sometimes it was what I expected from an upscale hotel and sometimes it wasn't. For example, they have an outside set of doors, a set of stairs and then an inside set of doors to get to the lobby. There is a person at each door to open it for you. But, several times when I was carrying my heavy rolling computer bag (I am a small female), they just opened the door and watched me struggle to get it up the stairs. They didn't even attempt to help me. There was 1 bellman who would help me when he was working, but the others just stood there. Maybe if I paid them they would have helped, but I thought this should have been just general courtesy. Not what I call excellent service. Also, there is only 1 vending machine in the hotel where you can get a bottle of water at a reasonable price (not like in the room minibar). They ran out of water the 1st day of my stay and the front desk just blew me off. Said it wasn't their machine and if I didn't want the Evian in the mini-bar, I should get water before returning to the hotel. Not very nice. Also, it was an unusually hot couple of days in Minneapolis (95-97). The air conditioning in my room wouldn't cool the room very well. I called to complain and in turn found my AC turned completely off! I awoke at 2am sweating to death. I called the front room and they said they would have someone look into it in the AM. So I had a terrible, hot night's sleep. Finally the next morning the AC started working and everything was fine. But, again, not what I expect from a luxury hotel. The general attitude from the front desk staff was "who cares...". The room itself and the general atmosphere of the hotel would definately bring me back again, but I wouldn't pay full price. You can get better service from a much cheaper hotel.

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Julie513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    212
    85
    29
    20
See reviews for
147
396
64
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, AL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2005

My husband and I stayed there in January 2004 and found it to be one of the nicest hotels we have stayed at. Mind you, we stay at a lot of really nice hotels and this one was first class. The staff was amazing, the rooms comfy and well decorated, the bathrooms pretty with Aveda products galore, and a bed that you just never want to get out of. Lots of down and high thread count sheets! We will stay at this hotel again the next time we are in MInneapolis.

  • Stayed January 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ggpigott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nationwide Traveler
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2005

I recently stayed at this hotel and was greatly impressed. I travel around the country staying at various hotels, so it's hard to get me to notice a hotel. This hotel stood out way above any other hotels I've stayed at before. The room was enormous, the staff very responsive, the workout facility HUGE, the internet connection great (like being at home) and the room service was great. They even threw in a compliementary shoe shine if you wanted it.

The only drawback I saw was the price. Everything cost more then your normal chain hotels but it's worth the increase in price. I was able to stay here because the office I was working at (right next door) had a prearringed price of $179 a night. Normally the rooms are around $330 a night or something.

If you can take a Saturday night off and want a date night with your spouse in Minneapolis ... then this is the place to do it. Or if you can squeeze in during the business week (not many rooms in this hotel).

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2005

We stayed here for two nights at a weekend rate of $129 and found it to be an excellent value and the perfect antidote to the convention hotels elsewhere in Minneapolis. Our room was tastefully decorated, wonderfully quiet and large, particularly the lovely bathroom, which had a nice size tub. Toiletries are by Aveda. Service was also outstanding. The desk staff was friendly and the housekeeping staff was wonderful. Turndown service comes with Godiva mints and a full icebucket, wakeup calls come with morning coffee delivered to your room. We didn’t try the restaurant but worked out twice in the fabulous health club—I’m a big time gym rat and this was one of the nice gyms I’ve ever seen. I agree that the valet parking around the corner (due to a bus lane in front of the hotel) was annoying. We were able to find on street parking. Also, I was struck by the small flights of steps throughout the hotel—if you have limited mobility the steps could be an obstacle. Finally, while the bed was quite comfortable it does not compare with a Westin heavenly bed or what I’ve seen at the Ritz—they should add featherbeds or pillowtop mattresses. But in spite of that I would return without hesitation. It was a great weekend getaway.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank booklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2005

My wife and I stayed at The Grand Hotel March 11 and 12th 2005.
Top notch staff. They even brought us coffee at 1 am in the morning!
Always willing to help and with a smile.
The rooms were large and classy! The bathroom with a shower and deep soaking tub was what the doctor ordered :) We ate our breakfasts both days at their blu restaurant. Nice food and staff!
A beautiful weekend at the Grand! Did not see any super stars. The real stars were the employees!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BobHollMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2004

This hotel is a class act. The rooms are large - in fact the bathroom as large as a NYC hotel room. The appointments are first class & the service suitable for royalty. There are no negatives that I experienced.

I spend about 45 nights a year in hotels & this one would rank on the order of the Mayflower in DC, the Don Cesar in St. Peteresburg or the Williamsburg Inn - not in terms of historical prominence but in terms of class.

Helpful?
3 Thank jdf3361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#5 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,646 reviews
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#11 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,255 reviews
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Ivy, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Minneapolis
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis

Property: Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Address: 615 2nd Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#16 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midwestern hospitality and elegant sophistication meld in our downtown Minneapolis boutique hotel. Anchored in a classic architectural context, our historic spaces have been enhanced with moody, cosmopolitan design elements and thoughtful amenities that elevate every experience. In the heart of downtown—and surrounded by the city’s top entertainment, retail and culinary finds—guests discover grand-scale guestrooms marked by masculine luxury and indulgent comfort. Added perks include access to a 60,000-square-foot athletic club, our intimate bar and lounge and the Minneapolis Skyway System, which puts the entire magnificent city at your fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minneapolis Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing