We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grand is Grand!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 2, 2013

If I could give more than 5 stars I would! This is a great hotel in the heart of downtown Minneapolis. The rooms are eclectic and very comfortable. The staff is incredible! There is a complimentary wine reception in the evening. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stroms5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear stroms5: we coudn't agree more...the Grand is grand, and the staff is truly incredible! we're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,065)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

717 - 723 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

I didn't expect to bring my suitcase from the frontdoor with steps to frontdesk. Frontdesk staff is really depends on person. There is a friendly guy who teach me nice restraurant around the hotel and that was very good choise. Other guy and woman is not the person who I expected as "4 stars" frontdesk.

Wine in the evening is nice, though. Price was bargain, so I would go if that price is same.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freshjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear freshjuice: thanks so much for staying with us at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis and for taking the time to give us a review on TripAdvisor. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I booked the Lounging in Love promotion at the Grand Hotel. What a great experience! There was a complimentary room upgrade (beautiful!) and all the staff were so helpful from first phone call for reservations to check-out. Food in the 615 room was wonderful as well. Overall, one of the nicest hotel experiences I have ever had. Warm reception and memorable time. Plus great location downtown MPLS.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Issobell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Issobell: Thanks so much for "Lounging in Love" at The Grand Hotel. We're so glad you enjoyed getting to know our staff. They take great pride in serving our guests, and we truly think that they are the best in the business. Again, thanks so much for choosing The Grand and for your kind words. We hope to see you again in the not-too-distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in March and thought the hotel was fine. However, it has only valet parking due to the fact that it is in a renovated historical building and the street in front is blocked from loading in front of the hotel. We arrived during rush hour and had difficulty in locating the valet stand around the corner from the hotel entrance. The valet attendant was busy parking other cars ahead of us. We had to wait for a person to come from the hotel and take our luggage and it was a while before it got to our room. The room was lovely with great amenities. The shower door would not stay closed which was annoying. It was finally fixed. Later I received a very nice note from the manager apologizing for all the difficulty. In summation it is a fine place to stay except for the very inconvenient parking problem .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JERRY690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear JERRY690,

Thanks for the kind words regarding your stay at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis. The valet parking zone is indeed on the corner about a block from the entrance. We are working on a plan to make the valet process more convenient. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great downtown location. Great staff. Great rooms. Great price.

The staff is always the best, quick, friendly and courteous. Rooms all are very nice with confortable beds and bathrooms you can get lost in. Very nice upscale Hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank b1b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear b1b: I appreciate the comments about our amazing staff! We have the best group of people representing the hotel and I'm so glad you noticed. Thank you as well for the note about our comfy beds and luxurious bathrooms! It sounds like you stay with us frequently, so thanks so much for your loyalty the The Grand!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Overall, our stay at the Grand was very good. We stayed in a Luxury Suite, which was huge and very comfortable. (It possibly could have done with more lighting in the room.) There were some issues with our room at check-in, and the manager dealt with them cheerfully and professionally, even checking with us the next time we passed through the lobby to see if it was okay. The location was great - walking distance from the ball park and a good selection of restaurants and shops. Like some of the earlier commenters, I felt like the valet parking didn't quite work - it was expensive, and took a long time to retrieve our car, even when there was no one ahead of us. Overall, though, we were pleased with the Grand and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear bakery: Glad you enjoyed the Luxury suite! In my opinion, it's our best type of suite outside of the Presidential suite, of course. I'm thankful our manager resolved the glitch at check-in quickly. I assure you we are working on a plan to make the valet process more convenient. You'll notice when you return. Thanks so much for the note and we look forward to your next stay at The Grand!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

- Rooms are large and very well appointed

- Service was OK at the front desk. We had a few questions, but I was surprised that the team wasn't more knowledgable and helpful with basics like "where is good coffee nearby"? Room service was very friendly and very fast. I received my tasty salmon salad and hot tea in less than 10 min - amazing. The happy hour wine set up was nice. I thought it was self-serve, but it's not! The front desk person will need to pour for you.

- Funky lobby with a great bar.
Friendly Eddy the bartender makes delicious cocktails and is incredibly knowledgable and nice.

- Huge gym (associated with Life Time fitness) on the 3rd floor

- Nice spa with friendly people

- Parking is weird - they have valet available "around the corner" for $30/day, but there is a self-parking lot right across the street for less. I wish the doorman had helped us when we arrived (with our bags, our car, some clear instruction on the above), because we had to idle (illegally) in the bus-only lane while the doorman chatted with some hired car driver and we ran in to check in and then self-park. Odd and inconvenient.

Room Tip: if you stay above floor 7, you need your key to access the floor. It is quiet and nice.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KWCRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear KWCRB: I love that you had the pleasure of meeting Eddie in the Six15 Room! He certainly does make yummy cocktails and he's always experimenting with new ideas. It's fun to be a taste tester! I'm glad you had a chance to use the impressive gym and be pampered in the spa. The valet parking zone is indeed on the corner about a block from the entrance. We are working on a plan to make the valet process more convenient. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#5 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,690 reviews
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#11 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,276 reviews
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Ivy, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Minneapolis
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis

Address: 615 2nd Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#16 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range: $148 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midwestern hospitality and elegant sophistication meld in our downtown Minneapolis boutique hotel. Anchored in a classic architectural context, our historic spaces have been enhanced with moody, cosmopolitan design elements and thoughtful amenities that elevate every experience. In the heart of downtown—and surrounded by the city’s top entertainment, retail and culinary finds—guests discover grand-scale guestrooms marked by masculine luxury and indulgent comfort. Added perks include access to a 60,000-square-foot athletic club, our intimate bar and lounge and the Minneapolis Skyway System, which puts the entire magnificent city at your fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minneapolis Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing