We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A disappointing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
165 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A disappointing stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at the Grand for one night, 1/20 and were rather disappointed. The room itself was OK, but the pillows on the bed were simply awful/.While the bed was comfortable, there was a gap between the end of the bed and the headboard, and the pillows kept falling down into that space (we were unable to move the mattress to address this problem)

The hotel touted its wine tasting as providing unique wines from around the world. They offered two wines, a chardonnay and a cab sauv, and neither was very good. I honestly felt duped because the hotel advertised its wine tasting so heavily both online and on a card left in the room.

The staff was courteous, but the overall experience was underwhelming, especially when compared against other stays we have had at 601 Graves or the W.

A quick word about the restaurant, avoid it. Overpriced, poor service, and the food was subpar.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markabaddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear markabaddon: Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are working on a solution to the small gap between the mattress and the headboard that we have in a handful of our rooms. We do in fact feature different selections of wines from around the world that change monthy at our complimentary wine hour each evening. We offer one white wine and one red. The Grand Hotel does not actually own or operate the restaurant on the second floor of the hotel, but I will certainly share your feedback with their management. We do however own and operate the Six15 Room, the lounge off of the lobby, and the food and specialty cocktails are fantastic. Hopefully you will give us another shot to wow you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    204
    81
    26
    19
See reviews for
133
374
61
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel while attending a wedding reception held at the Hotel. The staff was courteous but we had to wait for our room even arriving after the check in time of 3:00 pm, I believe that part of the problem was that the Arizona Suns were staying at the Hotel. In the evening wine and hors d'oeuvres were served in the small area behind the check-in desk. The staff member serving was personable but the area was cramped. Our room was clean and well appointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Mary M: Thank you for the kind comments about our courteous staff and well appointed rooms! It is rare, but there are sometimes challenges on a night that we are full and have a large group checking out well beyond check-out time, but I assure you we are working on a solution to those situations. Thanks for the review and come see us again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

The staff is somewhat, how do you say terrible, but that would be if they cared, which tey don't. On the other hand, it makes up for the horrible food and drinks. Stay at the W where they know the term "guest"

Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaro t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
I'm surprised by your comments about the staff. They typically get incredibly positive feedback. If you are willing, please contact me. I would like some specifics about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
286 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

My room was very well appointed with all the amenities and everyone was friendly and attentive. The bedding was very nice and the room very clean. The bar was intimate and the bar tender very friendly. The breakfast was good but the sausage was a little sweet. All in all great hotel and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkaemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear rkaemp: Thank you for this lovely reveiw! I'm so pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. Thank you for the kind comments about the staff. They truly are awesome and we are so lucky to have them represent The Grand! We look forward to your return. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

This is the best hotel is Minneapolis. The service is unmatched. I always feel special when coming here.

The decor is chic and elegant with a modern twist. The beds are really comfy.

I would recommend joining their loyalty program because it has great perks like free minibar treats and free Internet.

The gym here is amazing! Only hotel with a pool in Minneapolis.

Idk why other people say the cleaning staff are late. I've always had timely and professional service. They even leave me little mints or water. One morning I had a bit too much to drink and the maid gave me some aspirin and water and a note saying to stay hydrated haha.

The only problem (which is out of the hotels control) is the entrance. It's on a street where only buses are allowed. My colleague was dropping me off and I had more bags than I can carry. Very difficult. And the doors are very heavy to open lol.

I love this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesCarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Charles Carlson: Wow! What an amazing review! Thank you. I am so glad that you feel special and welcome when you stay with us. That is our goal! Thank you for mentioning our Kimpton In Touch guest loyalty program. It is definitely well worth joining. In addition to the minibar credits and fee internet, you also get to tell us your individual preferences and we promise to honor them. Oh, and you can work towards free nights too! Lifetime Fitness definitely is amazing. We are so fortunate to have the facility in the hotel and it is free for guests to use. Thank you for the comments about our housekeeping staff. They really try to make a connection with our guests by taking note of what you like and leaving fun treats in the room. In regards to the valet set-up, we are actually working with the city to create a valet zone in front of the hotel. Fingers crossed! Thank you for your loyalty and we can't wait to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We visited this hotel over New Year's & overall we were very pleased. The room was spacious, clean & well-appointed - especially the bathroom. We appreciated that there was plenty of hot water but did not enjoy that it was very difficult to control. Once we realized that putting the cold water all the way on & barely turning the hot water on at all was what we needed to do, we stopped scalding ourselves. The BIG problem was the valet parking & lack of helpful doorman service. We arrived with 2 large bags - & were quite surprised when we drove up that there was not a doorman there to help us. We've stayed at a number of Kimpton properties & have always been impressed with the quick & courteous way they have always immediately assisted us upon arrival. It was VERY cold & after we struggled with the wind & giant heavy entry doors we discovered that you must climb 6 or 7 stairs & we did so with our bags with zero assistance. We also wondered where the valet was as we were forced to leave our car out front in a bus lane. We soon learned that the valet is half a block away around the corner! When we asked if the valet comes & gets our keys & parks our car we were told: "Nope. He's down the block around the corner. You can either take your car to him or you're welcome to find a garage & self park - there's plenty around." I implored: "Really? There's no way for you to get him our keys so we don't have to go back out in the cold?" A young man was helping us but at this point a woman who was leaning on the desk behind him smirked & informed us that would NOT be possible & helpfully (yes, sarcasm intended) suggested we hurry & move our car from out front as ticketing out there is common. I might add that, while all of the valets were pleasant guys - trying their best, we were unable to contact them EVER to bring up our car & apparently the front desk was unable to get them the message to do so, despite our requests, so EVERY time we went to get our car, it was never there so we were forced to wait outside in the cold, windy, sub-zero weather for 15 to 20 minutes to get our car. One valet took pity on us & let us go back in the hotel to wait & actually brought the car to the front of the hotel. (Imagine that!) He did tell us that he really wasn't supposed to but he felt bad that we were having such a bad time. Now, all this being said - it really IS a lovely hotel. Maybe we would consider returning in the nicer weather but we will definitely not consider it as a colld weather option again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PixieVivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear PixieVivi: Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are actually in the process of working with the city and our neighbors to create a valet zone in front of the hotel. This would make for an easier arrival experience. We do not have our own parking garage and therefore have to rent spots from other area garages, which sometimes means a slightly longer than usual wait for your vehicle. This is why our valet claim tickets boldly note that we will need thirty minutes notice. I assure you that the absence of a bellman is not typical. I'm glad that you enjoyed other aspects of the hotel and I certainly hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
204 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were generally happy with our stay. The hotel is smaller and older than many so there were problems with the heating and steady water temperature. Parking is an awkward arrangement of around the corner valet parking just ahead of a bus stop. Bar area was small and badly decorated. On the flip side, the courtesy given to our requests was really exceptional and the front desk gave us their complete attention. My husband thought the fitness area was exceptional as well. I think we might go back if we could overcome the cost of parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room. Ask for the kind of pillows you require for a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBB66066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear MBB66066: Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We are working with the city to create a valet zone in front of the hotel. Nothing is final, but it looks promising. The $30 for overnight parking is right in line with, if not less expensive than all of the other downtown Minneapolis hotels. This is an expensive city to park in. I do hope you will visit us again. We'd love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#12 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#17 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis

Property: Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Address: 615 2nd Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#16 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy singular style and hospitality at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis. Newly renovated, and located in the city's central business district in the heart of downtown, the hotel is connected on the skyway system to all corporate and leisure destinations. The hotel was named one of Travel + Leisure's 500 "Best Hotels in the World" and offers guests complimentary access to our 58,000 sf LifeTime Athletic Club and pool. A full service Aveda spa is also onsite for added relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minneapolis Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing