We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, but very poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but very poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We were really looking forward to staying at the Grand, due to mostly good reviews. We arrived at 2:45, check in time was supposed to be 3:00, they finally told us we could go to our room at 4:45. We had dinner reservations for 5:15 at a nice restaurant, so it was a sure rush for the 4 women, who after hours of driving needed to change and clean up a little. The lobby was full of people waiting to get into their rooms, it was a pathetic situation. As far as the room, we were pleased, everything about it was great. Though, the nightmare continued in the morning when we went for breakfast in the hotel restaurant. We were the first customers when it opened and from the time we order our food, it took over 30 minutes to recieve it. He never came back to fill our coffee or check on our food. After another hour I had to chase him down to bring our check, I have never been in such a situation. There was only 1 person working,and other couples in our group spent 2 hours from the time they got to the restaurant until they got thier checks. I felt like I was staying at a hotel that just opened and was only expecting 10 people to stay at it. I will definitely never stay at this place again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fet24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thanks so much for the note. Wow, that is a very long time to wait for your guest room. I assure you that everything we could do to get you into your room as quickly as possible was being done as it always is on a busy Saturday. The challenge tends to be guests staying late, guest coming in early and having specific room requests and the logistics of moving guests through the hotel. Appreciate you sharing the experience, we are working on it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    204
    81
    26
    19
See reviews for
133
374
61
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We were very pleased with the hotel. Nice King Premier room, but Atrium is not what I expected. Just means an inside room. Staff were great and very helpful.
Hotel is close to everything, including LRT to Mall of America.

Room was spacious and clean. I like the Green Program option of getting a $5 coupon if you don't need your room cleaned the next day.

The complimentary wine and appetizer hour each day is very nice.

Only negative is that the heating fan is very loud.

Would definitely recommend.

Tip - sign up for the In Touch loyalty program before you go as it is free and allows free WiFi, vs. $12/day.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

So we flew in from NY and got to the grand at 11am. Our room want ready which was fine since check on is 3:00. The problem is...it is now 4:30pm and we were told we would have an at LEAST 1 hour wait b/c rooms weren't ready. We were not offered compensation at all and were basically dismissed. Have not seen rooms or anything else yet but have a bad taste in our mouths about this hotel. NOT a good welcome to Minnesota. Not happy at ALL.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LissNo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
It is always our goal to have guests checked into their rooms at the moment they arrive and if you arrive at 9 am and the room is ready, its yours. Our challenge always stems from trying to have guests out of the hotel, have the room turned and ready for you, with your specific room type we tried our very best to contact the guests and have them vacate as early as possible. Hoping that the rest of your journey to our beautiful hotel and great city was a little more positive than the wait for your guest room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On the road again
Level Contributor
1,106 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed there recently as my daughter was performing nearby and must say this is a really cool boutique hotel. We could walk to everything though it was bitter cold outside. Some real good restaurants nearby to chow down at. Thumbs up on this one!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorVonCueBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Not only is this hotel beautiful and centrally located, the staff are positively a joy! from the over the top service the doormen provide to the counter staff and the bell hops I don't know where to begin. When staying there we felt like VIP. I'll definitely be back a real joy to stay there.

Room Tip: Order room service if you are breakfasting at the hotel, better selection, food is good and priced w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, wv
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel is very comfortable, clean, convenient and great views! The Grand connects to the skywalk allowing inside walking and shopping for miles! There's a Starbucks just off the hotel lobby with free internet. I had a great view from my window overlooking the football stadium and ity streets. AWESOME shower with a variety of sprays. Great room service breakfast served right on time and piping hot. I'd return in a snap!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vidulichm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian J, Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We are so glad to hear that we were able to provide you with a clean, comfortable and memorable experience. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location in downtown Minneapolis. About 2 blocks from the light rail which is the best way to get to the MOA. The ride is about 35 minutes but fun and lots to see along the way.
The hotel has a neat bar that doesnt open until 3 but does have a few drink and food specials until about 6:15. There is a free wine hour from 5-6pm next to the front desk.
Great restaurants all within walking distance and the front desk people are happy to point you to whatever you are looking for. Recommend Ikes, Keyes and McCormick and Schmicks (have the desk call in reservation to M&S for you. They treated us like VIP's)
Take a limo to the airport. The doorman will get it for you and it is the same price as a taxi BUT a lot better.
Also, I would recommend an "interior atrium" room. All you can see are buildings next door anyway from even the top floors and there is lots of street noise. We had a Premier King which was pretty small but ok. The bed was too soft for my tastes.
Great hotel though...

Room Tip: Choose an "interior atrium" room. Much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OcalaGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian J, Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience as our guest. We love hearing that you were treated as a VIP because that is exactly how we want each and everyone of our guests to feel. Thank you for your positive review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#12 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#17 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis

Property: Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Address: 615 2nd Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#16 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy singular style and hospitality at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis. Newly renovated, and located in the city's central business district in the heart of downtown, the hotel is connected on the skyway system to all corporate and leisure destinations. The hotel was named one of Travel + Leisure's 500 "Best Hotels in the World" and offers guests complimentary access to our 58,000 sf LifeTime Athletic Club and pool. A full service Aveda spa is also onsite for added relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minneapolis Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing