We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel near everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed there recently as my daughter was performing nearby and must say this is a really cool boutique hotel. We could walk to everything though it was bitter cold outside. Some real good restaurants nearby to chow down at. Thumbs up on this one!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoctorVonCueBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,095)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

826 - 832 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

Not only is this hotel beautiful and centrally located, the staff are positively a joy! from the over the top service the doormen provide to the counter staff and the bell hops I don't know where to begin. When staying there we felt like VIP. I'll definitely be back a real joy to stay there.

Room Tip: Order room service if you are breakfasting at the hotel, better selection, food is good and priced w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel is very comfortable, clean, convenient and great views! The Grand connects to the skywalk allowing inside walking and shopping for miles! There's a Starbucks just off the hotel lobby with free internet. I had a great view from my window overlooking the football stadium and ity streets. AWESOME shower with a variety of sprays. Great room service breakfast served right on time and piping hot. I'd return in a snap!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vidulichm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian J, Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

We are so glad to hear that we were able to provide you with a clean, comfortable and memorable experience. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location in downtown Minneapolis. About 2 blocks from the light rail which is the best way to get to the MOA. The ride is about 35 minutes but fun and lots to see along the way.
The hotel has a neat bar that doesnt open until 3 but does have a few drink and food specials until about 6:15. There is a free wine hour from 5-6pm next to the front desk.
Great restaurants all within walking distance and the front desk people are happy to point you to whatever you are looking for. Recommend Ikes, Keyes and McCormick and Schmicks (have the desk call in reservation to M&S for you. They treated us like VIP's)
Take a limo to the airport. The doorman will get it for you and it is the same price as a taxi BUT a lot better.
Also, I would recommend an "interior atrium" room. All you can see are buildings next door anyway from even the top floors and there is lots of street noise. We had a Premier King which was pretty small but ok. The bed was too soft for my tastes.
Great hotel though...

Room Tip: Choose an "interior atrium" room. Much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OcalaGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian J, Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience as our guest. We love hearing that you were treated as a VIP because that is exactly how we want each and everyone of our guests to feel. Thank you for your positive review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is the nicest, most dog friendly hotel I've ever been too. Upon your arrival you might meet one of the two "house" dogs. There is an adorable puppy who "lives" there and loves to greet visitors and there was another sleepy fellow behind the desk.
This hotel offers dog sitting, and has treats, bowls, beds, and more to welcome you and your beloved furry family member.
The hotel is connected to Lifetime Fitness Minneapolis, which was once the Minneapolis Club, a beautiful place to swim, work out, sit in the steam room, sauna, etc...my husband and I make sure we take advantage of the "membership" perks of this fantastic athletic club while we are guests (you can use all of the exercise facilities for no extra charge).
Of course my favorite perk of staying at the Grand, besides the beautiful rooms, large bathrooms, comfortable beds, friendly staff, and dog friendly policy is the WINE HOUR! You get a nice big glass of wine in the lobby to sip and savor while you kick back and relax in their beautiful fireside lobby.
Basically, this place rocks and they are always promoting the place with major discounts and special offers.
I love the Grand Hotel and so does my dog, I mean husband, and my bzitches!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian J, Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

We are so glad to hear that you and your bosses love the Grand! We take pride in offering those special extras (such as our complimentary wine hour each night and pet sitting services) that make the Grand Hotel a unique, memorable experience. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Minneapolis Grand Hotel did a fabuous job of making us feel welcome and valued. They had hand written cards to my husband as we were celebrating his birthday. They also sent up a complimentary cookies (home made) and milk (on ice). It was delicious and so thoughtful of the staff. I was blown away by the professionalism and kindness. The amazing staff is really what makes this hotel special, but the room was very clean and comfortable. Everything went smoothly and exceeded our expectations. If you enjoy being pampered and treated with respect, chose the Minneapolis Grand Hotel.
I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: If you enjoy being pampered and treated with respect, chose the Minneapolis Grand Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TZenkic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian J, Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Wow! Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We spend a lot of time and resources making sure our staff is empowered and has the tools necessary to provide our guests with memorable experiences and I love examples (like your review) that prove it works! Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just had a wonderful experience at the Grand Hotel. From the valet, to the front desk, everyone was extremely helpful and attentive. Was on the top floor of the hotel and room was beautiful, very large, clean and quiet. Free access to the Lifetime Fitness Club is a huge plus ... it is top notch and has a great lap pool.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian J, Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for your kind words about our facility and our staff! We think we have a truly amazing team of people who are committed to providing you with a relaxing yet memorable experience. Thank you for recognizing our hard work!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#11 of 52 in Minneapolis
1,297 reviews
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 52 in Minneapolis
1,735 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Ivy, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis

Address: 615 2nd Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#16 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range: $112 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midwestern hospitality and elegant sophistication meld in our downtown Minneapolis boutique hotel. Anchored in a classic architectural context, our historic spaces have been enhanced with moody, cosmopolitan design elements and thoughtful amenities that elevate every experience. In the heart of downtown—and surrounded by the city’s top entertainment, retail and culinary finds—guests discover grand-scale guestrooms marked by masculine luxury and indulgent comfort. Added perks include access to a 60,000-square-foot athletic club, our intimate bar and lounge and the Minneapolis Skyway System, which puts the entire magnificent city at your fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minneapolis Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing