We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel near most downtown venues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a very nice hotel that has athletic club in it. It is close to restaurants and music/sports venues. The rooms are very nice with terry robes and plush slippers. Wine social in the evening. I would go there again.

Room Tip: The larger rooms are about a third larger with a whirlpool tub and are not much more. Better value.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for the fantastic review! We can't wait to have you as our guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,065)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

821 - 827 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

This old building had been totally gutted and renovated. It is a very nice boutique hotel with clean, comfortable rooms. The rooms are fairly small, but the large bathrooms make up for it and it has a separate tub and shower. Some of the rooms had better views than the others. The AC in my room was pretty inconsistent. It was hard to find a comfortable temperature in the room. If you get to chilly, try on one of the big comfy robes that the hotel supplies. You really can't beat the location. It is close to just about everything . The valet parking seems to be more than the other hotels in downtown. It is $30. If you do not plan on driving in and out all the time, I would suggest parking in the ramp just around the corner. I think it is the Capella lot. It only cost $10 for overnight parking on a Saturday.. Oh, and the staff is super friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbpackerfan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian J, Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thanking you for your kind words about our hotel and our staff (we think they are awesome too)! We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The updated lobby is nice, though a bit out of sorts with the older feel of this place. The room was WONDERFUL - spacious, with a comfortable bed and amazing bathroom (with a fabulous soaking tub). The location is ideal for exploring downtown on foot. I'm sad that I've now relocated to the Twin Cities and won't have an excuse to stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian J, Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for your AMAZING review! So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We would love to welcome you back again soon! Perhaps a staycation sometime soon?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

A very nice, very clean boutique hotel. Corner rooms are very large and have a great view over downtown buildings.
Hotel staff :very helpful and very polite.
Hotel is from within walking distance of main attractions. One block away from the Light Train Metro Transit coming from the airport.
We would definitely choose this hotel again for our next visit to wonderful and surprising Minneapolis.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and have 4 large windows. Spacious !
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florida009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for the incredible review! I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We can't wait to have you as our guest again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Grand Hotel is in an older building (cornerstone reads Minneapolis Athletic Club 1912) which has been nicely renovated. This is a 15-story boutique hotel, whose ambience generally is that of a classy hotel with an old-fashioned feel, but with a number of off-beat touches thrown in (such as animal prints and loud wallpaper here and there), presumably to add a chic or hip factor. It is located on the opposite end of downtown from Target Field and Target Center, about a block from the Wells Fargo Center tower. This makes it within walking distance of most things downtown, including the ballparks and most major office towers. It is connected to the downtown Skyway system, so you can get pretty much anyplace downtown without going outside. I did not see a valet parking stand in front of the hotel nor did I see self-parking, but presumably they have it somewhere. The room was nicely furnished and comfortable, but was relatively small. The workspace was adequate, and there were plenty of electrical outlets. I never did figure out how to use the in-room internet, so had to use my own aircard. The bathroom was a bit cramped with relatvely little shelf space. Being a "boutique hotel," it did not have some of the standard conveniences such as being able to use your TV to check out (the front desk was friendly, but not all that efficient when I was trying to check out quickly to run to an early morning meeting). I would stay here again depending on the rate, but it probably would not be my first choice.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside facing room if that matters to you. Mine faced an interior atrium.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wedgewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm glad it was a pleasant stay! I apologize for the delay at check-out. As an FYI, if you are in a hurry to check-out, feel free to call the hotel after you depart and we can email your receipt. Unfortunately, our valet stand is not directly in front of the hotel. It is located on the corner of 7th and 2nd because 2nd Ave. is a bus only zone. We are working on a plan to change this. Thank you for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We went to the Grand Hotel as a bit of a last minute arrangement. We got a great deal on a beautiful room. We were treated very well by the hotel staff, and thought the bed was excellent. We found the staff in the restaurant (Rare) to be exceptionally rude, but the hotel itself was wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill572011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your weekend at The Grand! Thank you for the excellent feedback. I am sorry about your experience at Rare. The hotel doesn't own or operate the restaurant, but I assure you I will share your comments with their ownership.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The plain Jane exterior disguises the lovely interior and the great service that the Grand displayed during a recent weekend visit. Their recommendations for area sights and good eats were perfect. Their service was well beyond my expectations as my wife and I celbrated our 28th anniversary in Grand style.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Yes, the exterior can be a bit deceiving. I'm so glad you love the service and decor! We completed a full renovation when Kimpton took over and are so happy with the results. Thank you for all of the excellent feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#5 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,691 reviews
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#11 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,276 reviews
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Ivy, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Minneapolis
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis

Address: 615 2nd Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#16 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range: $148 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midwestern hospitality and elegant sophistication meld in our downtown Minneapolis boutique hotel. Anchored in a classic architectural context, our historic spaces have been enhanced with moody, cosmopolitan design elements and thoughtful amenities that elevate every experience. In the heart of downtown—and surrounded by the city’s top entertainment, retail and culinary finds—guests discover grand-scale guestrooms marked by masculine luxury and indulgent comfort. Added perks include access to a 60,000-square-foot athletic club, our intimate bar and lounge and the Minneapolis Skyway System, which puts the entire magnificent city at your fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minneapolis Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing