We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The perfect place !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

A very nice, very clean boutique hotel. Corner rooms are very large and have a great view over downtown buildings.
Hotel staff :very helpful and very polite.
Hotel is from within walking distance of main attractions. One block away from the Light Train Metro Transit coming from the airport.
We would definitely choose this hotel again for our next visit to wonderful and surprising Minneapolis.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and have 4 large windows. Spacious !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Florida009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for the incredible review! I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We can't wait to have you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    169
    74
    24
    17
See reviews for
100
317
50
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
278 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Grand Hotel is in an older building (cornerstone reads Minneapolis Athletic Club 1912) which has been nicely renovated. This is a 15-story boutique hotel, whose ambience generally is that of a classy hotel with an old-fashioned feel, but with a number of off-beat touches thrown in (such as animal prints and loud wallpaper here and there), presumably to add a chic or hip factor. It is located on the opposite end of downtown from Target Field and Target Center, about a block from the Wells Fargo Center tower. This makes it within walking distance of most things downtown, including the ballparks and most major office towers. It is connected to the downtown Skyway system, so you can get pretty much anyplace downtown without going outside. I did not see a valet parking stand in front of the hotel nor did I see self-parking, but presumably they have it somewhere. The room was nicely furnished and comfortable, but was relatively small. The workspace was adequate, and there were plenty of electrical outlets. I never did figure out how to use the in-room internet, so had to use my own aircard. The bathroom was a bit cramped with relatvely little shelf space. Being a "boutique hotel," it did not have some of the standard conveniences such as being able to use your TV to check out (the front desk was friendly, but not all that efficient when I was trying to check out quickly to run to an early morning meeting). I would stay here again depending on the rate, but it probably would not be my first choice.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside facing room if that matters to you. Mine faced an interior atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wedgewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm glad it was a pleasant stay! I apologize for the delay at check-out. As an FYI, if you are in a hurry to check-out, feel free to call the hotel after you depart and we can email your receipt. Unfortunately, our valet stand is not directly in front of the hotel. It is located on the corner of 7th and 2nd because 2nd Ave. is a bus only zone. We are working on a plan to change this. Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We went to the Grand Hotel as a bit of a last minute arrangement. We got a great deal on a beautiful room. We were treated very well by the hotel staff, and thought the bed was excellent. We found the staff in the restaurant (Rare) to be exceptionally rude, but the hotel itself was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill572011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your weekend at The Grand! Thank you for the excellent feedback. I am sorry about your experience at Rare. The hotel doesn't own or operate the restaurant, but I assure you I will share your comments with their ownership.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The plain Jane exterior disguises the lovely interior and the great service that the Grand displayed during a recent weekend visit. Their recommendations for area sights and good eats were perfect. Their service was well beyond my expectations as my wife and I celbrated our 28th anniversary in Grand style.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Yes, the exterior can be a bit deceiving. I'm so glad you love the service and decor! We completed a full renovation when Kimpton took over and are so happy with the results. Thank you for all of the excellent feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed here one night recently on business. I love several other Kimpton properties and The Grand did not disappoint. The room was fantastic. Super comfy king bed, gigantic bathroom with separate soaking tub and glass shower, nice work space, and quirky, pleasing decor. The staff members I encountered were all very friendly and accommodating. I'll now look first to book at The Grand on all future trips to MSP.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bryang73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
I appreciate your comments about the hotel, guest rooms and our staff. Thank you! I'm so glad that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable. We'll see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

I went to the Grand for a little "staycation". I definitely picked the right hotel! My room was large, spacious, comfortable and beautifully decorated. The staff was eager to help with all my needs. Part of staying there is access to an amazing Lifetime gym and pool. They also have a daily happy hour in the lobby that is a great way to relax after a busy day of shopping or sight seeing.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MNTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden L, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for the Grand review! We are pretty proud of our little hotel and all of the amenities. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We took advantage of the long holiday weekend for a "staycation" even though we're from the Minneapolis area. Brought our dog to the Grand Hotel for a night to celebrate my husband's birthday. I can echo everyone's positive thoughts on the hotel. It is beautiful- it is a bit odd to see such modern/trendy decor in a very historic place, but the rooms still retain their charm. The bed was heavenly and we had a beautiful corner room with a large bathroom. It was wonderful. SO quiet! And a TV just off the bathtub? Hello, luxury. Wonderful toiletries, robes to use, and nice minibar offerings. Plus, free wine at happy hour!

One of the most fun things for us was the "VIP" program- very important pet. We registered our dog ahead of time and they greeted her by name when we arrived and there was a bed and bowls in the room ready for her. Door tag to let others know there was a dog in the room was cute (and nice as a reminder for us to keep our voices down past doors with similar). Treats near the door to the hotel. All of this without a deposit OR a fee!!! WOW.

I realize that for non-dog people that probably all sounds silly, but for those of us who do travel with our dogs it is a refreshing change of pace to have our friend welcomed and even catered to. Adorable.

We've decided we'll be back at Christmas time to do Holidazzle and shopping. Pug in tow, of course! :)

Room Tip: Corner rooms allow more windows, space, larger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MNJenRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian J, Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel! We love creating memorable experiences for ALL of our guests here! 2 legs, 4 legs, all are welcome! So glad to hear that you will be back soon for a Holidazzle weekend! We will make sure the treat jar is full!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#5 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,416 reviews
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#8 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#11 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 615 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#16 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy singular style and hospitality at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis. Newly renovated, and located in the city's central business district in the heart of downtown, the hotel is connected on the skyway system to all corporate and leisure destinations. The hotel was named one of Travel + Leisure's 500 "Best Hotels in the World" and offers guests complimentary access to our 58,000 sf LifeTime Athletic Club and pool. A full service Aveda spa is also onsite for added relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minneapolis Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing