We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always come back.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Duluth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always come back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Have stayed at this hotel too many times to remember going back to when it opened. Newly renovated rooms are fantastic. What I like about this hotel is its exclusivity--quiet, great rooms, extremely friendly staff, and within walking distance of everything downtown Minneapolis has to offer. Was somewhat concerned when I found out that Kimpton had purchased this independent property but my concerns were quickly put to rest when I returned. Front desk staff greeted me by name, knew that I was a frequent guest, and even offered me my favorite room choice before I could even ask. Extensive lobby and bar remodel are very nice as well. If you are looking for a quiet, elegant, but modern hotel to stay at while in the Twin Cities the Grand Hotel Minneapolis should be your first choice.

Room Tip: Grand rooms (atrium grand, exterior grand) are the best with larger sq ft and huge bathrooms with wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmnduluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaParsons-GM, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear kmnduluth,
Thank you for your continued loyalty to the Grand Hotel Minneapolis. It's exciting to hear how much you are enjoying the Kimpton enhancements, but nothing beats our team! We appreciate the glowing compliments. Thank you!
We're excited to welcome you back to your favorite room soon!
Safe travels, whever they take you!
~Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    172
    74
    24
    17
See reviews for
104
317
50
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We were "lucky" to get to stay at the Grand on St. Patrick's Day this year. From the beginning to the end, this was a wonderful stay. The concierge emailed me approximately a week before our stay, telling us a little about MSP, explaining parking, and asking if we had any requests. Our one bedroom suite was beautiful! The big, bright sitting area with a chair, couch, desk/chair, large flat screen tv, and a mini bar. The bedroom had a huge, comfy bed and another large flat screen tv. The bathroom had a big soaking tub with a small TV to watch, a huge rainhead shower with body soap, shampoo, and conditioner in containers attached to the wall, and a separate toilet area. Every phone request to the front desk I was greeted happily by my name. We valet parked for convenience and everything you could every want was in walking distance. Thanks for Grand stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gotskilz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior
Level Contributor
123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed at the Grand for a theatre weekend with family & friends. Picked the Grand due to their pet friendly policy and extremely happy we did!! The pet policy does not place a weight limit or require extra deposits or charges. Our two German Shorthairs (who are hotel snobs) loved the Grand! We had booked a group of 5 rooms for family & friends and everyone was very happy with their accommodations and stay! We all loved the wine reception hour, which was a nice prelude to our theatre evening. Finding the valet parking stand was a bit tricky, but I was aware from previous posts and prepared with the directions, which the hotel had nicely sent prior to our arrival. Loved the "raid the minibar" as a Kimpton Intouch member, this is a great touch! We used the skyway system, which was a bit tricky to get to the Orpheum and then closed after the theatre, so walked outside, which was actually easier to find our way back. Fortunately we were having a warm February! We will definitely go back and stay at the Grand again!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

A friend and I had a great stay at the Grand Hotel Minneapolis! We took advantage of all the amenities - the wine reception helped transition from air travel, the quick walk from the light rail and to downtown facilitated easy getting around, the morning coffee in the lobby helped me be up while friend was still sleeping... Everything was clean and comfortable and the bar food & breakfast seemed reasonably priced (I wouldn't eat there for dinner, given Mpls great food spots but it was easy for snacks/breakfast). Perhaps the best thing was the hotel pool and connection to lifetime fitness club... if I return, I'd check the class schedules and spa in advance- it was so much better than a normal hotel gym.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimandFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaParsons-GM, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear KimandFamily,
We’re thrilled you chose our hotel and had a great time! We agree, the Life Time Athletic Club is outstanding. You described a great getaway! Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Stayed at the Grand for 5 days in early March. Besides a very reasonable rate, I enjoyed a very large, comfortable room, with king size bed and very quiet. The hotel is connected to the Lifetime Fitness center which guests can enjoy as part of their stay. And being connected to the Skyway, the hotel has great access to all of downtown. Never tried the restaurant, but the lobby bar was lots of fun with a wide variety of beers, for which the bartenders are very knowledgeable about. My new, favorite hotel in Minneapolis.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaParsons-GM, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear DJ99,
We're thrilled you enjoyed the SIX15 Room! We think our talented bartenders are extraordinary too! I'm glad you found a new home away from home!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
~Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This is by far our favorite hotel in downtown Minneapolis. We loved the location, the staff (they could not have been more welcoming and friendly); the slightly funky decor; the wonderfully comfortable beds; the convenience of morning coffee in the lobby; the informal wine reception in the evening; the games in the lobby; and much, much more. We'll be back!
(Next trip we'll try the amazing gym and spa).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaParsons-GM, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear zorc,
I'm so glad you were able to enjoy the complimentary wine reception and coffee service during your stay. Thank you, also, for sharing such great praise of our team! We think they are exceptional too! I'll be sure to pass along your comments to the team.
The Life Time Athletic Club and LifeSpa are fabulous! I hope you have a chance to experience them during your next visit.
Safe travels - wherever they take you!
~Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanata
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed at the Grand for 3 nights while visiting minneapolis. Staff were great, was offered a free upgrade to a premium room. Room was nicely decorated. Hotel is situated in the heart of the downtown area.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaParsons-GM, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear geoffel,
We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for the glowing comments!
The sunshine is out and Minneapolis is more beautiful than ever. I hope you'll be back to see us again soon!
~Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,420 reviews
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#8 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#11 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 615 2nd Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#1 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#16 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy singular style and hospitality at The Grand Hotel Minneapolis. Newly renovated, and located in the city's central business district in the heart of downtown, the hotel is connected on the skyway system to all corporate and leisure destinations. The hotel was named one of Travel + Leisure's 500 "Best Hotels in the World" and offers guests complimentary access to our 58,000 sf LifeTime Athletic Club and pool. A full service Aveda spa is also onsite for added relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Grand Hotel Minneapolis - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minneapolis Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing