We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Punch Pizza meets South Minneapolis”
Review of Pizzeria Lola

Pizzeria Lola
Reserve with OpenTable
Pizzeria Lola is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 1,806 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Wood fired pizza, warm chocolate chip cookies, soft serve ice cream, wine, beer, photo booth
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1,361 reviews
551 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 617 helpful votes
“Punch Pizza meets South Minneapolis”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

I often find South Minneapolis neighborhood restaurants get overhyped by locals or neighbors who appreciate having something new in walking/biking distance. Their pizza is good, $10-15 and beers run $5-6 each. The pizzas are of the artistic variety, and cooked in a large fancy wood oven. I don't see too munch difference between this place and punch pizza besides having a waitress. They tend to get an early dinner rush, due to families, but I would not wait the hour and 30 minutes some people did for this place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TryppAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    177
    37
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Westford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Deserves the buzz”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I ate lunch at Pizzeria Lola on a Saturday - arrived at 12:30 and the place was jumping! Got a table for two quite quickly. My lunch companion and I started by splitting the organic mixed greens salad with smoked blue cheese, house-cured pancetta & sherry vinaigrette ($8). It was delicious with just the right amount of cheese and especially good pancetta. We then shared a "My Sha-Roni" pizza: house red sauce, mozzarella, natural-casing pepperoni & house-made fennel sausage ($15) What can I say, I'm a carnivore chick, and the meats made the pizza. The sauce and cheese were nothing unusual, but I loved the crust, and the meats - yum! The pizza was the perfect size for two. Service was efficient but unobtrusive. I'll be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daymiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Casual, creative, delicious pizza”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

One of our favorite pizza places in Minneapolis. Located in a Minneapolis neighborhood setting, Lola is cozy and very busy much of the time. Creative pizzas, many made with local ingredients. We like the meatball ricotta pizza and the brussels sprouts appetizer. Casual and fun for all ages.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whip4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Non-Traditional”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

If your interested in a non-traditional pizza then this is for you. If trendy is your niche then this is the place to go. There are many options to choose from but the sauce is basically painted on, so is the cheese, and the meat is selectively placed upon a thin crust. We ordered a meatball appetizer which consisted of six small meatballs with some sauce. Not only was it overpriced but it lacked authentic Italian sausage, it was very bland, more bread than meat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Pizza in Minneapolis”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This place is fantastic. The pizza is some of the best you'll ever have - creative toppings, delicious crust and always cooked to perfection. The vegetable appetizers are not to be missed - always seasonal and fresh-tasting. There's always a special or two on the menu and they're always worth trying. There's also a great beer and wine list. Sit at the bar if you want the behind-the-scenes view of your food being cooked in the giant wood-fired oven in the middle of the restaurant. While you're there you'll get to know the staff better too - and they're pretty great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillianamdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Lola also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Pizzeria Lola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing