We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Awesome Find, Don't Miss It” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of American Swedish Institute

American Swedish Institute
Ranked #10 of 206 things to do in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1929 by Swan J. Turnblad, this castle serves as a combination historic house/museum that features exhibits and programs of the Swedish culture.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Awesome Find, Don't Miss It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was so surprised and delighted to happen upon the American Swedish Institute in Minneapolis. There is an astonishing early 1900's castle to tour with lively docents attached to a LEED certified modern building which continues the art museum experience. Their current exhibit features Swedish art glass and is totally amazing. This place is a gem tucked into the heart of the city. Wow.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dallas David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    102
    18
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Interesting museum, but the restaurant is FAB!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

My parents have been telling me to visit for years, but unfortunately the more museum's hours didn't correlate to my visits to the Twin Cities area until this summer. The house/museum is interesting and worth touring. The reason to go back will be for the restaurant. It is absolutely FABULOUS!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JennATl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
342 reviews
159 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“The Last of the Great Mansions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

My nephew recently got married and he had his reception here. We ate in the new addition next to the mansion. Before dinner everyone got to tour the old building. Let me tell you I have never seen such splendor in MN. The woodworking in every room is so detailed and truly amazing. The tiles on some of the old fireplaces is so cool. I think my favorite part was the amazing stained glass windows by the atrium. There is a picture of a Knight in one stained glass window that is really neat. I also love all of the cherubs carved in many rooms. The staircase features some epic griffins carved into the railing. A must see for Minneapolis and Swedes everywhere.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful old home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was a mansion built by a self made millionaire. He never lived in the home and it is truly a magnificent place to visit. It was featured in an old tv show called American Castles.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Schatzy2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great addition makes it even better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The new addition is great- food is fantastic, the atmosphere is lovely and the gift shop has quite the variety. The main house is good to walk through to get a sense of the space and the art displayed, but no need to go repeatedly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rasputie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Swedish Institute also viewed

 

Been to American Swedish Institute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing