We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Lovely Venue for a Social or Networking Event” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Weisman Art Museum

Weisman Art Museum
Ranked #21 of 197 things to do in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the campus of the University of Minnesota, this museum features fine arts from the contemporary period.
Goleta
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lovely Venue for a Social or Networking Event”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We held a social for a professional group of 50 attendees and enjoyed the art tremendously. Don't miss the Girl in White or the Georgi O'Keefe Oriental Poppies. I also enjoyed the Congo Photo exhibit and the High School was my favorite.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DMcClureDVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    62
    17
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Totally fun, interesting art gallery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

You never know what to expect here but it will interest you if you like art. And it's FREE! Worth visiting!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank IrisMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Cool space!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

The building itself is quite impressive with its architecture and design. There were galleries that included largely the Universities permanent collection with photographs, ceramics, paintings and drawings. Additionally there were items on loan such as a whimsical wall-sized painting of chickens in cages. Another great piece was crafted from latex balloons. It was a work done with an interdisciplinary bent between the biological sciences and art.

I felt like the galleries were not edgy, as I would expect at a University. There wasn't much there that made me pause or reflect. I found the space itself far more impressive than the contents of the gallery.

Helpful?
Thank SmokeyBlueTulle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem on U of M campus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The museum is on the Easy bank of the Twin cities campus. It is donation only and doesn't take long. If you are around campus, stop by and take a look.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank localbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
223 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Shiny Gem on the Mississippi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a very unique art museum located on the Univ. of Mn. campus. Admission is free. If you park nearby, in Dinkytown, you can also find free side street parking. A nice walk through the campus to the museum. Both the architecture and the collections here are quite interesting.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weisman Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Weisman Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing