We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family friendly beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Calhoun

Lake Calhoun
West Lake St and Calhoun Parkway, Minneapolis, MN 55408
612 661 4800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 169 things to do in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Woodstock, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely family friendly beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great place to walk, ride your bike or hang out at the beach. With a view of lovely houses surrounding it, and cafes on one end, there's something for everyone.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SmhJes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The City Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lake Calhoun is the "craziest" lake in Minneapolis from our experience. We call it the "City Lake", because it reminds us at times of Chicago's lakefront with the throngs of people and greater diversity of activities & people. It is not always a great lake to ride around on your bike (esp. if you are with the kids), but if you are experienced it can be wonderful. Unlike Harriet, there are volleyball games, sunbathers, and playgrounds along the path. Additionally, the food here is wonderful... but be prepared to wait a long, long time (both for ordering and for getting your food) when the day is beautiful.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventuringFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
125 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Loved walking around the lake and taking in the area sights. Lovely houses and nice shops in the area. The place is very well maintained and enjoyable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great day for the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Beautiful little lake with beach area. Wish we had time to do more of the trendy shops along the way. Next time I would take more time for that.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank andton123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

A beautiful, accessible lake with separate paths for walkers and bikers. The grounds were lovely and well-maintained. My husband and I drive to Lake Calhoun at sunset to watch the sunset then enjoy the view of downtown Minneapolis in the background. Very beautiful and romantic!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KristiS627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Calhoun also viewed

 

Been to Lake Calhoun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#