We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming inn with excellent personal service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nicollet Island Inn
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Charming inn with excellent personal service”
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We spent one short night here as we flew out very early the next morning. The staff made coffee for us at 3:30 AM and had airport transportation there for us at 4:30 AM. The inn is made of river rock ,attractive and very peaceful. We never heard anyone or anything the whole time we were in our room. The decor and service definitely gives the inn "old world charm".

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    42
    14
    10
    5
See reviews for
19
97
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2010

Just spent my wedding anniversary at the Nicollet Island Inn with my wife and we were very disappointed. I splurged for their "best room in the hotel" at $220 per night and unfortunately discovered that, if that is their best room, the hotel is in a real decline. We were excited to see the Sleep Number bed but it was uncomfortable at all numbers we tried - it must have been the cheapest model available years ago. The four poster bed was a broken down, poor excuse for an antique and rattled noisily any time either of us moved. The support slat below the bed even fell out. The air conditioning didn't get the room temp below 75 to 80 degrees all night despite being left on high - leaving us both tossing all night. The staff appears to be more interested in appearing sophisticated than actually being helpful. I did get a "gee that's too bad" response upon checkout but she clearly was not taking any notes to address the issues I expressed. We spent our wedding night there 13 years ago and we won't be back again after this ordeal. There are too many nice hotels in Minneapolis to waste your money on this nostalgic anachronism.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StPaul55105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2010

We had a three day stay at the Nicollet Island Inn for a small, intimate wedding. The staff was supurb. They were at the bride's elbow at every turn making sure everything was as arranged. I have forgotten the manager's name but he was a gem. The staff from the desk and the restaurant couldn't have been more accomadating. The location was perfect for us to walk to restaurants and see the local nightlife. Food and beverages are expensive here but quality. Rooms were clean and quiet. The only downside here was the sleep number bed. We weren't comfortable at any number. We departed on a Sunday morning and the hotel restaurant doesn't offer breakfast other than a very expensive brunch. No one was that hungry. We had to drive to another restaurant so we could all eat together before going our separate ways. Other than that, it was a great place to stay and they did a fabulous job with making a wedding special.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2010

Great location, beautiful building, friendly service.

We stayed at Nicollet for New Year's Eve this year. It was a perfect location to walk to Nye's Polonaise (polish restaurant/bar boasting the most dangerous polka band in America). It had just snowed (go figure) in Minneapolis that week and so the location on the lake was quite beautiful.

The room was small and simple, which is why we give it 4 out of 5 for the amount we paid for it. The adjoining restaurant smelled good although we didn't partake. Other perks were complimentary coffee in the lobby in the morning, valet parking at night, and aveda bathroom products in the room.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amjapea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

This boutique hotel sits right in the middle of the Mississippi River on Nicollet Island, just across from downtown Minneapolis and in the tony St. Anthony Main area. The location for a romantic stay could not be better in all of the Twin Cities.
The hotel itself is quaint and picturesque. It features a good, attentive staff and plenty of free parking.
The large beds with plenty of pillows and comforters are Sleep Number beds so you can adjust the firmness to your liking. While some LOVE those beds, I just don’t prefer them.
The rooms have all the necessities and the bathrooms are spacious enough for two to get ready.
We stayed the night before Labor Day and unfortunately the hotel’s restaurant was closed on Labor Day, so we were not able to get hot breakfast. They put out a few small rolls and that was fine, but I was hoping for morning room service since it was a honeymoon night stay.
Still you can beat the location and the hotel was just what were we looking for. There are several really good restaurants within two to three blocks and easily walkable.
The location alone makes this hotel well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markmywordz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
az
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2009

Wife and I needed to spend 2 nights in Mpls for a meeting in N Mpls. Advantages of this property: certainly has some charm at this 100+ yr old bldg, price better than nice hotels a few blocks away in downtown, free parking, we parked within 50 ft of the front door, enjoyed the restaurant with good food selections and service, and good view of the Mississippi River from our room. Some what disappointed due to no extras that we generally see in "Inns" such as no evening turn down service, or coffee, no nice beds, or newpapers, and no upscale amenities (bath soap was about 2 inches long). The furniture looks tired and the bed has a poor mattress. We tried to use the computers located on each floor but service was not available; mentioned this to the front desk person and she responded that this happens often (won't forget my lap top next time). The Inn reminds me of the airlines these days: cut out all the extras to save money. And like the airlines, the Inn really does very little to gain repeat business.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveledtoolittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2008

The Nicollet Island Inn is on Nicollet Island in the Mississippi River in the older part of Minneapolis. It has great views over the river to Downtown and is a stone's throw from the St Anthony Main historic district with great bars, restaurants and a quaint cinema. The service is excellent and very friendly; the breakfast is good quality and good value; the rooms are comfortable with adjustable mattresses on the beds; the bathrooms are great with Aveda toiletries!

If you are looking for somewhere that has character and that is not a corporate chain hotel then this hotel is hard to beat!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ullans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
University / Dinkytown
University Inn
University Inn
#15 of 49 in Minneapolis
299 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warehouse District
Hewing Hotel
Hewing Hotel
#18 of 49 in Minneapolis
109 reviews
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#5 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,666 reviews
Warehouse District
TownePlace Suites Minneapolis Downtown/North Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicollet Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicollet Island Inn

Property: Nicollet Island Inn
Address: 95 Merriam St, Nicollet Island, Minneapolis, MN 55401-1524
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#18 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nicollet Island Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Nicollet Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicollet Island Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing