We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Than Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nicollet Island Inn
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Inn last weekend while attending a wedding. We were greeted in a friendly, "glad you're here" manner and were treated courteously our entire stay. Anything that we needed assistance with was taken care of promptly and with a " we're here to make your stay enjoyable" attitude. The building is beautiful, the food was delicious and the setting perfect. The wedding we were attending was held at the Inn's pavilion and was a wonderful affair. We just returned and I have already recommended Nicollet Island Inn to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LKF14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 176 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed at the The Nicollet Island Inn for my wife's reunion in September. Situated on an Island in the middle of the Mississippi, it is a unique, historic hotel from the past,Hard to believe it is within walking distance of downtown Minneapolis. With great rooms, restaurant and bar.The rooms were large and not cookie cutter Holiday Inn type with period furniture and all the amenities. The entire stalff was friendly, extremely helpful and FUN!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockjawk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Situated on an island in the middle of the Mississippi River, the Nicollet Island Inn provides a secluded getaway from the noise of the surrounding city. The rooms are larger and retain character, a throwback back to independent hoteliers rather than the corporate, one-size fits all mentality. Within easy walking distance are some of the finest restaurants in the city, like Alma, Bachelor Farmer, Borough, and many others. Surkyk's for wine, Kramarczuk's Deli, and Lunds supermarket are within 2-3 blocks. And then there is the wonderful river walk. Parking, which adds $20-$25/night at many hotels, is free as is the wi-fi. The staff is friendly and very helpful. It's a unfortunate that the hotel is not busier. But then, that makes it more exclusive. Don't expect a corporate, business hotel, discover a more intimate, European style experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the Mississippi River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank h2onab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and I had 4 marvelous days at Nicollet Island Inn [August 2013].

The place is exceptional:
fine breakfast and lunch,
quiet, spacious rooms,
staff who ENJOY being there.

Moreover,
this is the ONLY inn on an island in the Mississippi River.
The history--from Native Americans to being part of the first bridge across this river--is fascinating.
Read all about it from a book at the inn.

The location is exquisite:
a stroll to Saint Anthony Falls and the dramatic (walking) Stone Arch Bridge.
Then an easy walk to the terrific Mill Park Museum.

Why this Inn doesn't have stellar reviews is a mystery to me...

Room Tip: Decide if you want to have a room on the city side or river side (my recommendation). Unfortunately...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DonGervich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Nicollet Island Inn is a magical place! The food is very good, the ambiance is authentic and the experience is authentic. The service is especially warm and friendly. Relax and enjoy the views and the atmosphere. We have never been disappointed.

Room Tip: We only ate at the restaurant and did not stay at the hotel. It would be a lovely, romantic setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn88888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Rustic charm yes through out, manager very
Gracious , staff service very good!

Stayed the night for our 24th anniversary $250.00
For the night -WAY TOO PRICEY for the room.
Reserved dinner - well it was all disappointing
And I felt horrible because I Suggested this
Place-

But like I said manager very gracious, service
Top notch- food so/so, accommodations
The room price - you aren't getting your value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aneesa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I took my girlfriend for dinner as we were celebrating her birthday! The hostess greeted us well and walked us to our table! The server was really great and he gave us an excellent service. His name was joseph G. The food was nice and overall we both had a good time!! We didn't stay at the hotel but ill definitely recommend anyone to check out their restaurant!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 441AhmedA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#11 of 52 in Minneapolis
1,300 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Ivy, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 52 in Minneapolis
1,743 reviews
Warehouse District
Hewing Hotel
Hewing Hotel
#2 of 52 in Minneapolis
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicollet Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicollet Island Inn

Address: 95 Merriam St, Nicollet Island, Minneapolis, MN 55401-1524
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#18 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range: $176 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nicollet Island Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Nicollet Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicollet Island Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing