We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in a great part of Minneapolis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nicollet Island Inn
Ranked #34 of 52 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2008

The Nicollet Island Inn is on Nicollet Island in the Mississippi River in the older part of Minneapolis. It has great views over the river to Downtown and is a stone's throw from the St Anthony Main historic district with great bars, restaurants and a quaint cinema. The service is excellent and very friendly; the breakfast is good quality and good value; the rooms are comfortable with adjustable mattresses on the beds; the bathrooms are great with Aveda toiletries!

If you are looking for somewhere that has character and that is not a corporate chain hotel then this hotel is hard to beat!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ullans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 181 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2007

Stayed in room 309, a corner view room, with a view of the Mississippi. The room was very attractively decorated. Our only complaints were that the windows provided absolutely no protection from outside noise. While the location does not have a lot of traffic around it, it only took a noisy car or truck during the night to repeatedly wake us up. We also found the Sleep Number bed to be very uncomfortable, no matter what setting each of us used.

The location is terrific and you can walk most everywhere from there.

The dining room was attractive, but noisy. Dinners were wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JIMCHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2007

My husband and I recently spent 4 nights at this comfortable inn on an island off the Hennepin Bridge. We were able to walk downtown our first day for tours of the beautiful library, etc. Our second day we walked to the Mill Museum and the Guthrie, and enjoyed the Mississippi River between our island and the Stone Arch Bridge. The Nicollet Island Inn was a wonderful base for our adventures. Free parking, professional and friendly staff, comfy beds and plenty of pillows, thick-walled and quiet rooms, perfectly clean, terrific water pressure for the shower, and lots of character at each turn. We ate breakfast each morning at their restaurant -- enjoying the view of the river and passersby. Our daughter lives in Minneapolis, and we will definitely stay at the Nicollet Island Inn next visit. We stayed in room 309 -- third floor, southeast corner room, queen 4-poster bed, three windows with views of city and river. The tragic collapse of the 35W Bridge happened on the last night of our stay, which cast a somber unsettling mood on the entire city, but will not affect access to Nicollet Island.

2  Thank mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Fort Lauderdale, FL
15
Reviewed May 24, 2006

I'm not from Minnesota, but after staying at the Inn, I can certainly see why people never want to leave! Everything I'd heard about "Minnesota Nice" was embodied by each member of the staff. Each room was newly remodeled and the beds were heavenly. I still haven't quite figured out my sleep number ...but had fun trying! My mother and I still talk about the Sunday brunch we had--the view was amazing and the food was superb. We couldn't decide whether it was the charming feel of the Inn or the homemade whip cream on one of the dishes that won us over...yes, the food was THAT good! Chef Eric certainly lived up to the praise various articles had given him and the Inn exceeded our every expectation. Returning for dinner gave me the chance to see another side of the Inn, and a very romantic one at that. I don't see how anyone would go any other place for a special evening out (men, are you reading this?) The night ended with a carraige ride around the island and a nightcap at the bar. I highly recommened this Inn for a vacation, a quick getaway, or a Sunday brunch. Now, if only I could decide on a sleep number!

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Saint Paul MN
14
Reviewed January 30, 2006

My husband and I stayed overnight for a business meeting during the week, and loved it! The rooms had been re-done since the last time we stayed, and they were so luxurious. . . the beddding was great. The covers were the perfect weight, the plasma TV was a nice addition, I loved the complimentary Aveda products, and it was super-quiet - no traffic, no bright lights. We got a wonderful night's sleep and a great breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2005

Loved this place. What a wonderful alternative to the mega hotel and at a comparable price. The location couldn't be better, right near the RiverPlace with all it's great restaurants. We felt as if we are at an oasis rather than in the middle of a busy city. And the nearby park is great for an afternoon stroll.
Our room were comfortable and clean. The halls are currently getting new wallpaper. The decor was tasteful, but not over the top. And the staff was very friendly and accommodating.
We tried the restaurant for dinner and found the food good, but a bit pricey. I've had better meals for less.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ath65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2005

This is a great hotel if you are attending an event in Downtown Minneapolis. We visit Minneapolis frequently and have wanted to try the Nicollet Island Inn for quite some time. It is usually booked but for a last minute trip we got in on a Sunday night. The room we had was nice but was feeling its age. It probably has not been touched decor-wise since the hotel was renovated. There was peeling wallpaper in the bathroom and main room. The furniture (that was obviously selected because it looka vaguely "antique") was chipped, scratched and worn. The painted baseboards were scratched, dented and gouged due to years of collisions with the vacuum cleaners. The towel racks in the bathroom were pulling out of the sheetrock walls. Minor things but it is time for the hotel to go through the rooms and fix these items. Even thouth it is noted on the hotel's web site that the restaurant and bar close on Sunday after brunch is served, it is still disapointing in a first class hotel not to be able to relax with a drink when returning to the hotel at night. The rooms have nice LCD TVs and Internet access (wired and WiFi). I am ambivalent about the "Sleep Number" beds. Some people like them but we prefer the beds in the deluxe rooms at the Sheraton hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dmd56560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#11 of 52 in Minneapolis
1,310 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Ivy, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 52 in Minneapolis
1,757 reviews
Warehouse District
Hewing Hotel
Hewing Hotel
#3 of 52 in Minneapolis
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicollet Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicollet Island Inn

Address: 95 Merriam St, Nicollet Island, Minneapolis, MN 55401-1524
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#18 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range: $196 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nicollet Island Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Nicollet Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicollet Island Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing