We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bergen bread”
Review of Sun Street Breads

Sun Street Breads
Ranked #142 of 1,806 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Minnesota
Level Contributor
140 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Bergen bread”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We enjoyed breakfast at Sun Street, I had the normal breakfast (eggs, ham, toast). The toast is what made the meal Bergen bread. My wife had a biscuit with Brie and meat that was excellent. I unfortunately steered clear of the biscuits, I thought they sounded to fast food, that was a mistake. The Bergen bread was sold out by the time we finished breakfast. We did buy a loaf of sourdough and a baguette, which were every bit as enjoyable as Rustica or Turtle Bread.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TTWindom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    18
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bright and cheerful”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

What a nice assortment of offerings for lunch and dinner. I did try "the world's greatest hamburger", but thought it fell short. Was too thin for my taste, but my companions loved their breakfast foods. It's a nice place to sit and enjoy your coffee, eggs, and pastry while typing away on your mobile device.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KittyKatzNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Great for breakfast or lunch!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Love this place and go here weekly! Biscuits and gravy are amazing. Never had anything that wasn't great. Make sure you grab a loaf of fresh bread to take home with you.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Drew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Undisputedly One of the Best Breakfasts in the Twin Cities”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

What can I say about Sun Street Breads that hasn't already been said?

This place is every bit as good as other reviewers have commented, and then some. The bread and pastries here are top notch and I've yet to find a bakery in the metro that matches their vanilla kolache or their signature light cinnamon pastry- the Downtowner. Those complaining that they run out of stock too frequently probably need to get there before 2:00 pm - there's a reason for slim pickings after the actual breakfast times.

Their biscuits are my go-to on the menu. If the biscuit wasn't flaky and delicious enough, you owe it to yourself to coat it in the mushroom or sausage gravy. You'll thank me for the recommendation - trust me.

I wasn't wowed by the Southern Fried ( a biscuit with bacon and a breaded chicken patty). But it was still delicious, even if the chicken was a bit underwhelming. Chicken isn't their speciality, but the bread sure is. My advice? Stick to the Basic Biscuit Plus (my personal combo is with bacon, an over-easy egg, and cheddar, open faced, smothered in the sausage gravy: heaven and surprisingly filling.)

I am big about Minnesota: we have a lot to be proud of. So naturally, I love the local selection of Minnesota beers. On a somewhat related note, the addition of Mexican Coke/Fanta and sparkling waters is a trendy, high end touch not lost on me. While these may not seem like the average beverage of choice for breakfast, they are more fitting for the lunch menu, obviously.

I've been meaning to stop by for lunch and their pizza dinners, but haven't gotten around to it yet. However, I expect they are just as excellent judging from my repeated experiences here. I've never had any issues with any staff members (though some are certainly more friendly than others), but having been a patron for awhile, the staff is getting to know me by name, which I am grateful for (but my belt might not be!)

The lines can get long during peak hours, and the seating is limited, but don't let that dissuade you. This place has won the awards it has for a reason and this is a definite place to take a friend or family member from out of town or just to enjoy a true breakfast over the morning paper or with a friend catching up. It's healthy, simple, REAL food. And you can't argue with that.

Seriously. Come here. The Kingfield neighborhood in Minneapolis is outstanding to begin with (a truly under appreciated gem, especially near Lake Harriet) and this is one of its crown jewels. We are fortunate.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mno86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun Bakery and Sandwiches”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Fun and innovative sandwiches, great breads and pastries. A great change from the typical cofee shop or bread/dessert-only bakery. Nice for breakfast!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ColfaxCuban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Street Breads also viewed

 

Been to Sun Street Breads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing