We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy place to get a taste of some South American flavours” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chimborazo

Chimborazo
Ranked #11 of 1,790 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Latin, South American, Ecuadorean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cozy place to get a taste of some South American flavours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Chimborazo is in/around northeast Mpls; close to Columbia Heights area. It is a small place with about 20 tables or so. They do accept reservations so a manageable line forms during peak times (dinner has been my experience). The staff does a great job to keep things running. So you will need some patience at hand. The food makes up for the shortcomings on the size of the place. They serve a decent broad menu to give you a hint of tastes from Peru, Ecuador, and the Andean region. Ok, maybe that is too broad, since each country in Central/South America is so diverse in native cultures/customs and therefore food.
The Patacones con Queso are great - if you never tried fried green plantains this dish/apetizer is a good beginner introduction. For me the "Saltados" did the trick...great flavours and decent price

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wiminneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    47
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Great food and great value. The place is charming and bustling. I have tried almost everything on the menu. The mango pancakes are the best breakfast and the Ecuatoriano Vegetariano is my favorite dinner. My husband loves the Shrimp Saltado. We have never, ever been disappointed with anything and the prices are excellent.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JadaJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Awesome food! Great staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

If you are going to Chimborazo, you are in for a treat! The 'Hornados con Papas" will make you want to kiss a Ecuadorian grandmother! The pork is the best in the city! If you are in NE Mpls, you should check this place out, get the purple drink (Chicha Morada), delicious! They also have a great date night option, as well. Be sure to get the Tres Leches.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ramblinmanandwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Wonderful family restaurant. Great food - PLATANO MADURO - fried plantain appetizer with chutney is so tasty. Love the HORNADO CON PAPAS - slow roast pork - so tender and juicy and really nice portions (we can never finish). Also SECO DE POLLO - spicy chicken is delicious. Everything we've tried is terrific - so you can't go wrong. Very friendly and helpful servers helped explain everything the first time we visited. But we've been back and it's always consistently outstanding. Prices are very reasonable and a great place for two or for a family. Happy hour drink pricing helps as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TomD1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

What a wonderful hidden gem! I've got to say this is one of the best meals I have ever had! As an appetizer we had the CeviChe de Camarón (Shrimp cocktail with red onion, tomato, lime, and tostados), so fresh and delicous! For dinner I had the chicken saltado, it was amazing; for a moment I felt I had slipped away into a wonderful South American vacation! Make sure you finish your meal off with the wonderful homemade guava and passion fruit ice cream! This authentic Ecuadorian restaurant may be off the the beaten path, but it is so worth the drive!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chimborazo also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Chimborazo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing