We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Celebration - Very Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victory 44

Victory 44
Ranked #333 of 1,790 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebration - Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We visited Victory 44 last night for a birthday celebration for our son. It was Halloween so we expected it would be quiet and it was. We received wonderful attention and service. The four of us shared four starters and also shared four entrees. The starters were Devils on Horseback, Smoked Mussels, Chicken LIver Toasts and Bacon Fries. They were all good, but the mussels were probably my least favorite. They were served in an oyster tin and were served cold. We all gave that one a half-thumb up. The other three were at least one thumb up from every one, especially the bacon fries. For entrees we had pork tongue, chicken and egg, beef brisket and the scallops. We also shared a truffle risotto, which was excellent and probably my most favorite dish last night. We also shared two desserts which were apple pie and the roasted pear sorbet. Very good. Our server was very knowledgeable of his menu and how everything was prepared. We had a grand time and would recommend this place to friends and family. Perhaps because it was very quiet, the service may not have been typical. However, my husband and I have eaten there on two other occasions since they opened and have always had good service and a positive, memorable dining experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harley246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    34
    16
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Perhaps my expectations were too high but Victory 44 didn't live up to mine. We really liked the atmosphere--a lively and hip place without being too much of any one thing. We chose the Chef's tasting menu and while the food was enjoyable it wasn't outstanding and the portions were skimpy, even for a tasting menu. For us, the service was a big miss. Our server was actually a chef doing a 1-week stint as a server to get the full experience. This was exciting news as we expected he'd be really knowledgable and delight our foodie out-of-town guest with details about the menu and ingredients. Unfortunately, while he was very friendly, he was clearly uncomfortable interacting with the public and despite being one of the chefs he nothing about the food. In fact, we had to tell him what we were served when other wait staff dropped off our dishes and he still didn't know anything about the ingredients. To top it off, our courses came way too slowly, stretching our meal out to 3 hours. I actually left hungry. The cost definitely outweighed the enjoyment for us.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gastronomic Orgy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

An unbelievable experience @ Victory 44 this evening. This was our 1st trip to V 44, but surely not our last. I'm into foods that bring lots of flavors together and this place did not disappoint. From the devils on horse back (bacon wrapped dates) to the burger w/ bacon fries to the great apple dessert it was fantastic. The service was outstanding. They use a tag team approach to service and it worked very well. Every server that stopped by knew exactly what was happening and could describe the food in great detail. If ever you're in Minneapolis try Victory 44.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St, Paul, MN
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Be selfish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

After eating here with a group of four, my advice would be NOT to share. The plates are delightfully and deliciously composed, but very hard to divide as our wait person had suggested. Give yourself a treat and choose two or three items from the very creative menu and keep them to yourselves. Other than the difficulty of dividing, I found this restaurant definitely worth a try.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SaintPauli_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, MN
Level Contributor
208 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“what a surprise!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

What a total surprise when I'd heard that it was a coffee shop and their main food item was the "Perfect Burger"! I was NOT expecting the quality of the menu or the food. These chefs really work at their craft. Every appetizer and entree were exquisitely prepared and presented. We had 7 at our table and had 4 different appetizers and 6 different entrees, so we had an opportunity to try a little of everything. Its close to a Topas style of a restaurant, with small servings, which is just what we prefer. I'd rather have the opportunity to try different selections than be stuck with one big entree.
This is a high quality place without the pretension of some of the bigger "names" in the metro area. We'll definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaleStillwater_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victory 44 also viewed

 

Been to Victory 44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing