We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pit BBQ time”

The Lyndale Tap House
Reserve with OpenTable
The Lyndale Tap House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #313 of 1,808 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pit BBQ time”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Pit BBQ is the theme of this restaurant/bar. A long bar running the length of the bar greets you as you walk in with about 18 taps ranging from your full on macro to some micros. No Surly when I went which is a bummer being that they are located in MN. The food is decent. The staff is friendly but not overly knowledgeable on craft beers. Gets pretty busy at nights and on the weekend. Directly across the street from The Herkimer.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    26
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
103 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Decent late night dinner”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stopped here with some friends after the MCAD art show. We were just thinking a beer or wine, but the place was PACKED and it took a bit for a table. By then, we thought maybe something to eat as well. The chef's special soup was beer cheese...it was ok. But what got my attention is that they serve Clown Shoes on tap! Made stopping at the Lyndale Tap House a great experience. Will go back and try some other menu items with a side of Clown Shoes.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cindy y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
81 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“More than just your average bar/pub food”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The food at Lyndale tap is unique without being too weird and good without being just boring, greasy bar food. We have eaten here several times and always had a good experience. The food is really good, the atmosphere is nice. I wish they had more outdoor seating though.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank spohara88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1,033 reviews
814 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 930 helpful votes
“Happy Hour Until 7PM”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

2 for 1 beer and rails with $4 wine plus half price appetizers/or $2 off certain appetizers. It's a good deal and it's very busy. The noise level is extremely energetic. The stuffed dates were outstanding. The pretzels were just a big bread stick and I would save the calories on that one. The Thai Dragon pit sandwich was incredibly delicious. Fish tacos were done with halibut and were very tasty. The big winner was the handcut fries some of the best ever. Server was busy but very friendly. Prices were a bargain for the quality of the food.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PlanetR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Center
Level Contributor
172 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent Pit Beef - Look Out for Overcooking”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

10/7/12

We recently enjoyed lunch at the Tap House. What a fun place! We were quickly seated and service was excellent. WIth loads of tastie beers, a killer house Bloody Mary and a fantstic menu, we were immediately impressed.

We both ordered the Philly which is Pit Beef with melted white cheddar, grilled peppers, onions and mayo served on a toasted kaiser roll. It was served with hand cut fries. Our sandwiches arrived in short order. The fries were hot and delicous and the sandwich was stacked so high I was able to eat off of it for a while before cutting the behemouth in half for easier handing.

The only problem was, we ordered the beef medium-rare and medium respectfully. What we recieved was well done and definitely on the tasteless side of the spectrum. The moisture and flavor were cooked completely out of the beef. What a shame! Although we could have sent the sandwiches back, the place was busy and we had places to be. Perhaps this is the exception, not the norm. Otherwise, the atmosphere, service, drinks and fries were excellent and we'll give the Lyndale Tap House another try in the future.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lyndale Tap House also viewed

 

Been to The Lyndale Tap House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing