We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar La Grassa

Bar La Grassa
Ranked #5 of 1,778 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Warehouse District
Cross street: 8th St
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

though we couldn't get a table, we sat at the bar which I will say was an awesome experience. The Bartender and his team was so informative and helpful and always there to take care of us. The food was amazing from the complimentary apps to the entree. You won't go wrong.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    105
    46
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I had been to this restaurant multiple times on business and had been happy, however I was quite disappointed when I went last weekend with my husband for our 10th wedding anniversary. I had mentioned when I made the reservation that it was a special occasion and she made an extra note of it when she confirmed the reservation the next day. Not sure what I expected, but it would have been nice if they would have acknowledged it when we showed up for dinner. Not a congratulations in sight! It was way too loud and we had to scream to hear each other across the table. I was not impressed with the service either: my appetizer (a marlin crudo where the lemon overwhelmed the fish taste) was served with the fork swimming in oil and the waitress did not even notice it. At the end of the meal the server literally threw a couple of (complimentary) almond brittle across the table for us to try. I noticed the other waiters would serve them nicely in a dish.
To be fair my husband liked the Arancini and the cavatelli with braised rabbit (hence the Average and not Poor review), however my Pasta Negra with sea urchin and mussels tasted bland and the mussels looked shriveled. I was disappointed to have such a poor dining experience on such an important night out. (Sadly) I will not go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The bruschetta!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was only there for drinks and appetizers so I can't speak to a full meal (and that's also the only reason I hesitate to give it 5 stars), but the lobster and egg bruschetta was DIVINE! It melts in your mouth - a must try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JCanitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsford ny
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good fun joint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

It had a great vibe as soon as you walked in the door,place was packed on a thursday night,everybody having fun. Menu was good lots of interesting bruschettas and pastas great for sharing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CowboyCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
332 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great food, average service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We visited Bar La Grassa last night with friends - eager to experience what all the hype has been about. On a Tuesday night, the place was packed (and noisy to match). The place has a fun vibe and is great spot for people watching. We tried the infamous soft egg with lobster bruschetta, and it was incredibly yummy - though very rich. Our table of 4 split one order, and we were all happy with the taste, but grateful we didn't have more. The half orders of pasta are a wonderful option - esp if you are with a group of friends and want to try several varieties. At our table, we tried the crab ravioli (yummy, but rich), fusilli w/ lamb meatballs (fabulous), gnocchi w/ cauliflower and orange (terrific), and torchio with mint and peas (excellent). We were all very happy with our pasta choices. It is a great place - probably not in my top 5 around town, but certainly an enjoyable meal, and a fun place to try in the north loop.

I don't know if the full house was a surprise last night, but it seemed as though the waitstaff were under-staffed, as well as the dishwasher (had to wait for glasses, cutlery, etc.).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank africanaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar La Grassa also viewed

 

Been to Bar La Grassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing