We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bar La Grassa

Bar La Grassa
Ranked #4 of 1,793 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Warehouse District
Cross street: 8th St
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Service”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

If you are looking for excellent italian food, a variety of wines, and superb service at a very reasonable price then Bar La Grassa is the place to eat. Dinner reservations are usually 2-3 weeks out for Friday and Saturday evenings, but it is well worth it. My girlfriend and I had a 5 course meal (assorted pasta dishes) and bottle of wine for $70. The waitstaff are knowledgeable about the menu and informed about wine pairings. There is a noisy excitement to the restaurant during the peak hours, but its part of the fun of being at one of Minneapolis' top spots to dine. My girlfirend and I never felt rushed and our waiter was attentive but not intrusive. There is valet parking ($5) which is well worth it because finding a parking spot can be a challenge. Once you eat here, you will want to go back.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nycnative1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    114
    48
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“not the twin cities' best italian”
Reviewed August 27, 2011

My wife and i went to BLG on the strong recommendation of friends and Trip Advisor. The food was very good. Fresh pasta, good wine list. The restaurant was crowded and noisy, so if that's your thing BLG will be a good fit. For the price, i still prefer Broder's Pasta and Perron's Sul Lago in Prior Lake. It was a good experience, but for the price and ambiance, we probably won't return.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FLfromMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutsen - Tofte
1 review
“Book Club Outing at Bar La Grassa”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We had our annual bookclub dinner at La Grassa and had a wonderful time. I always love the food there! Prices are a bit steep for some of the portion sizes, but I've never had a dish I don't like. Also, with a group of about 12 people it's a nice menu to order and share to get a sample of everything. My favorite at this meal was the butternut squash soup, but overall I love the lobster and egg appetizer (unfortunately they were out at this meal). Would definitely go back - a perfect date spot.

Also, beware of street parking in the winter - some of us had to move our cars during the meal due to a snow emergency.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BluefinBayResorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazlet, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unique Italian Fare at a Unique Restaurant”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

You won't go wrong at this wonderful restaurant. Wonderful dishes including both dry and fresh pasta entrees. Very knowledgeable and friendly servers. We were a large group of 12 and used a private room. It was well worth the extra cost. A fine selection of wines and deserts you will not find any where else.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome food and atmosphere and very reasonably priced!”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This restaurant is always busy and for a good reason--the food is to die for, the service flawless and the wine list is reasonably priced. The servers are knowledgeable and passionate about what they are serving. Highly recommend the lobster and egg bruschetta with truffle oil and the orange and cauliflower gnocchi, but I have a feeling anything ordered is going to be amazing. The cocktails were fantastic too!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank worldwander8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar La Grassa also viewed

 

Been to Bar La Grassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing