We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must visit when you are in Minneapolis”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Guthrie Theater

Guthrie Theater
Ranked #4 of 206 things to do in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: THE GUTHRIE THEATER is an American center for theater performance, production, education and professional training, known for its dynamic productions of classic and contemporary plays. Open to the public year-round, this award-winning cultural destination houses three theaters, dramatic public spaces and distinctive dining. Designed by Pritzker Prize-winning architect Jean Nouvel, the Guthrie is located in the historic Mill District of Downtown Minneapolis and features a 175-foot cantilever bridge which overlooks the Mississippi River. When it opened in 2006 Time magazine called the building "a 21st century dream factory." Visit the Guthrie to see a show, grab a cup of coffee and explore the building, shop at the Guthrie Store, or to simply take in the extraordinary riverfront views. Backstage tours are Friday and Saturday mornings.
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A must visit when you are in Minneapolis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Beautiful building. Great venue, Wonderful farmer's market outside3 on Saturday morning. Very hospitable welcoming staff (Sue Kotila is the best), nice gift shop

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pappylongstockings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    640
    155
    26
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“the Guthrie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I'm a transplant...from the "great white way", Broadway, New York, New York! I've been to lots of theater as an audience member and as a news cameraperson for a major New York tv station. But....The Guthrie is as good as it gets! The talent and the staging, the quality of the material...top notch! I'm always amazed at how I don't miss New York theater because of the shows that I've seen right here in the Twin Cities....and the parking...can't forget the parking...amazing...the last time I was in New York to see a show the parking was almost as much as the show tickets...in Minneapolis..$6 for the night..right across the street from the theater...now that's living!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank hpeterpics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachussetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Strange and beautiful and very blue!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was at the Guthrie with a native Minnesotian who loved the theatre. We were able to walk the halls, check out all the nooks and crannies of this unusual building. We met a potential actress who was auditioning for a part. With 3 theaters, and lots of bars and refreshment areas, a night at the theatre must be a remarkable experience. The views of the Mississippi River are spectacular!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank demaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elk river, mn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The minute we walked in the door, we felt welcome. Someone was happy to help us find whatever we needed. The decor was amazing, the view was great...and, of course, the theater and shows are wonderful!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ann j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Guthrie never disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I just saw CLYBOURN PARK at the Guthrie, and once again, they did an amazing job of putting on a theatrical production. I love everything about the Guthrie. The building itself is amazing, and the views of the Mississippi river from the "endless bridge" are spectacular. There are three theaters, and I have been in the large one (McGuire Proscenium) and the medium-sized one (Wurtele Thrust). This theater is comparable to the Goodman in Chicago, with better views of the city.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guthrie Theater also viewed

 

Been to Guthrie Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing