We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“We stayed there at Christmas and had a lovely experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“We stayed there at Christmas and had a lovely experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel was clean and the staff was great. Many restaurants were closed for the holiday but the staff helped us find great choices. They printed directions and information on the restaurants and made reservations for us. We felt like we were at an expensive boutique hotel.

Parking was additional but convenient and breakfast was great. Staff at breakfast again were in the excellent category.

We had some family members stop by and we really enjoyed the seating area in the lobby. It felt like our own living room.

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor and really didn't hear a thing from any other travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gailmarie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    96
    33
    6
    2
See reviews for
43
33
22
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

On a recent trip to the cities for a convention, I found this hotel and after a quick read through Tripadvisor, decided to side with the positive reviews and the reasonable price.

The Hotel was quiet and pleasant. Well within easy walking of the convention center and any food amenities you might need. In winter, you would need to take a short walk outside in order to reach the transit walkways that connect many of the downtown buildings and allow for coat-free travel.

Parking is not a problem. My suggestion however would be to not bother with the hotel parking. The lot is tiny and access will be hit and miss; there is a large municipal parking ramp right across the street. Parking might even be cheaper on the public ramp.

Took us a bit of driving around to find the place. If you are not familiar with the area, your attention might be distracted by the immediate traffic navigation needs of the wide street and the hotel is easy to miss. It is almost immediately after you get on 11th street on the left hand side. GPS was not a big help in pinpointing the spot!

Breakfast was a notch above what many business hotels offer as far as variety and quality.

All in all, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The downtown Minneapolis area gets very quiet at night so room selection should not be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Convenient location for the convention center. Not worth $180 that we were charged as a convention attendee. There regular rate when there isn't a conference is more acceptable at about $90. Room was clean and the wifi worked.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank balaczar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I recently stayed four days at this hotel for business. It was selected due to its proximity to the Convention Center and its cost (cheaper than its neighbor rivals). I think one reason for its cheap price relates to why I liked it so much -- it was relatively small. It consequently felt more personable. Management was professional, and the room and general facility was well maintained. Perhaps the only valued perk that was missing was a restaurant/bar. However, I'd much prefer to miss this amenity in place for a smaller scale establishment at cheaper price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We choose this Hotel because we thought we could depend on the consistency of Holiday Inn Express standards.
This hotel does not even come close to the level of service and cleanliness we have always experienced when we have stayed at Holiday Inns in the past. The common areas in the hotel were dirty (the elevator was downright icky), the carpets needed to be vacuumed walls were marked and dirty in areas. We were sent to a room that house keeping had not even cleaned yet. We went to the front desk and told them our room was dirty. The response was "how dirty?". Does it matter how dirty????? They sent us to a new room that had been cleaned and was adequate.
To be fair, I need to give them a heads up for the continental breakfast. It was very good.

When I got home I realized I had left my Clairisonic facial cleaning system in the room (a $120.00 value item). I called them the very next day to report it. I was told someone would call me back about it and no one did. I called again the next day and was promised a call back but again no one did. I called AGAIN and complained about the lack of follow through on the lost item. I was told they could not locate the item but would call me if it is ever found. I'm not holding my breath!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhoda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

one block from the Convention Center you have a small, comfortable, clean hotel with good service at a great price. My room was very large with a king size bed, desk with ethernet cable as well as free Wi-Fi connection. There is a coffeemaker but no mini bar and no microwave nor fridge. There is a free breakfast which can be delivered to your room if you wish or you can eat it in the (small) breakfast room....nothing fancy but well worth it as it's included in the room price. The staff are very helpful, I got a free safety deposit box, they were efficient with my wake-up calls and ordering cabs....
For convenience for conferencing, you can't do better for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAMCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed here for two nights. My room was very large. I had a queen-sized bed, couch, desk area with directions for connecting through either Wifi or the provided ethernet cable, and a kitchenette with a microwave, refrigerator and cabinets. The room was super clean and was very comfortable and easy to work in. The free breakfast was also good and consisted of standard hotel staples such as powdered scrambled eggs, hash browns, cereals, milk, juice, etc. I'd definitely stay here again because it was well worth the price for the room, helpful staff, the breakfast, and the location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank My_Name_is_Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Millennium Hotel Minneapolis
#13 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#14 of 44 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 964 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)
Address: 225 South 11th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#29 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ANNOUNCEMENT: The pool area will be closed for scheduled maintenance from Monday, June 6th - Friday, June 10th 2016. Stay smart in the heart of downtown Minneapolis! This hotel is easily accessible from the freeway, and within easy walking distance of Nicollet Mall and all that Minneapolis has to offer. Conveniently stay just one block from the Minneapolis Convention Center. Enjoy the incredible value that is included with every reservation: -Free Wifi -Free Full American Breakfast -Heated Indoor Pool and Hot Tub -Fitness Room -All Non Smoking Rooms *This hotel is credit card only at check in. Parking near the hotel is available for an additional fee. Call hotel directly for additional information and details.* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing