We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, can walk many places”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)
Ranked #34 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, can walk many places”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Reception personnel were friendly and helpful. We booked two separate rooms, and both were clean, excellent condition, no issues. Very good breakfast included, best price of anyplace downtown. Only downside is that onsite parking is limited, but if you will be walking or using public transport, parking in the garage across the street costs the same (no in/out privilege). We asked about a parking spot in the hotel lot, and the front desk staff put us on a list. A spot opened up the next day, but we didn't have a chance to move the car until the following day, which worked out fine. We walked to the Guthrie Theater and the Mill City Museum (next door) -- both attractions recommended (about 12 -14 blocks), also walked to the light rail (6 blocks) to ride to Mall of America. Location was good, also walked many times to Nicolet [outdoor] Mall (about five blocks), where there were lots of restaurants and stores, including the Target flagship store. Good rooms, service, breakfast, what's not to like? Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honestfred5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    106
    38
    9
    3
See reviews for
48
42
24
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Razorbackland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at the HI Express very much! The hotel front desk staff at night two ladies were extremly friendly, and very helpful as we were visiting the area for the first time. The hottub was not working properly the first day we were there, but it was fixed for the second day. The fitness center although very small was kept clean, and nice. The continental breakfast was in a very small room as well, seating was very limited, but they were doing a good job of keeping fresh food up. Our room was very clean! We would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fayettenam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very nivece place to stay in downtown area, rooms were kept clean and bed very comfortable. It was a nice size too. I was on the the 4th floor and on the non street side so it was quite too. Great breakfast in the morning, included everything you may want. only downside was it is a few blocks walk to any resturants. I would same here again!

Room Tip: two things: taxi to airport is $50 take the shuttle $18. if you are a workout fanatic then check out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kendall w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

10 of us stayed here for our week long convention which was located right around the corner, the staff was very pleasant and helpful, the breakfast was very good with a variety of choices I would stay here again good value for the money

Room Tip: some rooms come with a sink, microwave and fridge but you have to check on availability
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaleBuffalo_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The hotel itself was great, room was clean comfortable but being a first timer in Minneapolis I gps the wrong address apparenty South Minneapolis and Minneapolis will throw you off. Besides going round and round a few times the hotel was great except the parking!! They have 30 or so parkings but I wasnt aware you have to reserve them in advance.Luckily a parking garage is across the street they charge everytime you leave so i had a nice parking bill as i needed to be going and coming quite often. They offer a continetal breakfast in bed which i ordered the first day so i could sleep in, it consisted of cold cerals a few fruits but the second day I opted to go downstairs and wow they had pancakes cheese omlets biscuits and gravy, all i could say was WOW, it was so good. Overall i would definately stay again but definately look into the parking A+

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhymesavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wi
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Arrived early, like 9:00 am, room not ready but we got a parking space in their private lot right
next to the building. Checked in later in day, very nice front desk girls. Room very clean, greeted with a bottle of water and oreo cookies in a cute pkg. Fantastic breakfast included in
price. Eggs, bacon, pancakes, muffins, bagels, cereal, toast etc. etc. Very good! Good location to downtown shopping, restaurants etc. Would diffenetly go back and highly recommend.

Room Tip: Our room had a mini fridge not sure if they all do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank packrfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I traveled light and was able to take the tram from the airport to Nicolet Mall. Took the free downtown bus to 10th St and walked the rest of the way. I was working in the convention center for a week (2 blocks away) and never really needed a car. There is a good breakfast in the hotel and restaurants up and down Nicolet Mall, three short blocks away. There is a Skyway entrance a block away (Ivy Hotel) if you need to get out of the weather. The room was comfortable and large. I used the plug in internet connection and enjoyed reliable speedy service. The staff was very friendly, especially in the Breakfast Room. I'll be back next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites
Millennium Minneapolis
#14 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#16 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#15 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)
Address: 225 S 11th St, Minneapolis, MN 55403-2520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#29 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ANNOUNCEMENT: The pool area will be closed for scheduled maintenance from Monday, June 6th - Friday, June 10th 2016. Stay smart in the heart of downtown Minneapolis! This hotel is easily accessible from the freeway, and within easy walking distance of Nicollet Mall and all that Minneapolis has to offer. Conveniently stay just one block from the Minneapolis Convention Center. Enjoy the incredible value that is included with every reservation: -Free Wifi -Free Full American Breakfast -Heated Indoor Pool and Hot Tub -Fitness Room -All Non Smoking Rooms *This hotel is credit card only at check in. Parking near the hotel is available for an additional fee. Call hotel directly for additional information and details.* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center) Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing