We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“People make the difference!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Sheep Coal Fired Pizza

Black Sheep Coal Fired Pizza
Ranked #63 of 1,804 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Warehouse District
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“People make the difference!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Only having one pie in MSP, BSP will be my go to place when in town. Jan was awesome!!! Stopped in late on Sunday night, she immediately started talking to our toddler. Brought him a kids book and some bread to munch. The chopped salad was good and the pie was good also. Pizza had the slightly chewy, but crunchy crust from the coal oven. The toppings were plentiful and of high quality. Later in the meal, another staff member gave our son a high five and was talking to him. All and all, pizza would be reason to return. However, the people made it so we'd never go anywhere else in MSP!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank El_Shank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    62
    21
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Best Pizza outside of NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We LOVE BSP! We lived 10 years outside of NYC and loved the thin crust NY style pizza's. It doesn't get any better than BSP! Coal fired oven is what makes this awesome. We started with the Farmer's Market Salad and a 1/4 of Sicilian Pizza. Sicilian is like no other! Have to order it, very different from the pies. Selection of beers both permanent and guest was great. We love local craft beers so we were very happy! Owners, Jordan and Maureen, make you feel welcomed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mdc34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Great pizza and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My last visit to Black Sheep pizza was fantastic. Ever since I discovered them they have been one of my favorite pizza places in the Twin Cities. The pizza there is spectacular as well as the selection of Surly beers. The service was very prompt and friendly as well. The only thing that was mediocre was the bread and marinara that we ordered but I've had many great sides there in the past so it may just be a one-time thing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 384Adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great pizza!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

I have had lunch here many times when I worked downtown and always picked the same 2 things: their chop salad (one portion is enough for 2 people as appetizer) and pizza number 7: fennel sausage, salami, onion and green olives. Always good and the service is good and quick.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A new favorite!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were here on a Sunday for lunch. The server was knowledgeable about the beers which vary and are locally brewed. The menu has choices for everyone-the adventurous and the plain pizza lovers. We loved the thin crust, the pizza was perfectly done and promptly served even though the place was quite busy. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 4mdntg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Sheep Coal Fired Pizza also viewed

Minneapolis, MN
Minneapolis, MN
 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Black Sheep Coal Fired Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing