We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best Pizza We Have Ever Had!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Sheep Coal Fired Pizza

Black Sheep Coal Fired Pizza
Ranked #64 of 1,806 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Warehouse District
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Pizza We Have Ever Had!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We traveled to Minneapolis and after reading reviews we got takeout for our hotel. We got 2 different ones, both fabulous. Only complaint is that parking was tough for Friday night to just grab our carryout. It would be nice to have dedicated spot for pickups. We will eat here again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Misty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    62
    21
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pizza, Great Beer Selection, Don't Overlook the Salads”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

There's a bit of a Pizza arms race going on in Minneapolis. Representing the fast changing North Loop neighborhood (And St. Paul as well) is Black Sheep. The crust is this and tasty without the use of gimmicky seasonings. The oven uses a traditional American Coal fire oven. The beer selection is sure to please those who lean towards hops, and the salads are not an afterthought like many restaurants. My personal favorite is Meatball, Ricotta & Garlic and the seasonal Farmers Market Salad.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Motytrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quite Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I settled on the Black Sheep after some debate. The pizza was incredibly good. We were very pleased by it. We had a simple pepperoni pizza but it was very well done. Their dough, marinara, and cheese created a really wonderful combination. We also really enjoyed the bread with marinara. I would definitely recommend the food.

As for the seating, we were there on a Saturday night about 7pm so we expected it to be busy. If you plan to eat here on a weekend, plan for some long wait times. In our case, we were told that we could wait in the hallway (on the stairwell) and someone would call us. We watched couple after couple called but not us. Finally, I went inside to find out what was happening. I found my name promptly crossed off of the list. I asked the host who replied a little rudely that he had called our name but we didn't respond. He did admit that he didn't walk out into the come hallway but didn't feel that he should have had to do so. We did finally get a table (we rejected sitting at the bar where everyone was putting empty beer glasses) about 10 minutes later. Our server was very good and very personable. The food did arrive promptly, as well.

Overall, it was a great choice. The food was delicious and the service (except the slightly rude host) was very good. I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shannon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gman1868
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Minnesota”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Have visited on several occasions. After having had pizza in New York, I was spoiled. The flavor and quality of the crust, sauce, cheese, toppings is something that most Pizzarias cannot match.

Enter Black Sheep Pizza. True to the traditions of authentic New York pizza, Black Sheep does more than copy the original. They use the best quality and prepare it well. It's my favorite pizza and will be happy to return again and again.

Make sure you visit Black Sheep Pizza, just be aware you may become addicted as I have :)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gman1868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
136 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wow! What awesome pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

There's nothing like wood-fired pizza! This place is the best. It's located in the warehouse district on north Washington in downtown Minneapolis. The pizza is amazing. Thin, crispy crust and great toppings. We had one with fresh tomatoes, kalamata olives, fresh spinach and basil. The other one had Italian meatballs, green pepper and roasted garlic. Really delicious. We even ordered two more the next day delivered to the hotel. Awesome! Try it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank whereintheworld2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Sheep Coal Fired Pizza also viewed

Minneapolis, MN
Minneapolis, MN
 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Black Sheep Coal Fired Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing