We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
Review of Prohibition

Prohibition
Ranked #7 of 128 Nightlife in Minneapolis
Attraction details
PinchOnTheGo
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Co-worker told me about this place so I suggested it to a few other co-workers after work. We were disappointed. Supposedly had views but most of the are blocked by the outside structure of the building. The drinks were just ok but the food items from the happy hour menu were extremely disaapointing. I would nor return. The waitress was very late in getting a spoon we requested and completely forgot to bring the second glass of wine I ordered.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PinchOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    20
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“PRohibition Bar at the W hotel was an experience!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Had a great time at the Prohibition Bar on the 27th floor of the W Hotel. Great Prohibition Era parlor style bar with good views of Minneapolis and great ambiance. Then we went down stairs where the dance floor was packed and the music was a wide variety and good!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LanceCraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Dress up!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Came here on a Saturday night and I felt totally under dressed. Hot girl disguises everywhere! Expensive drinks ($12), but worth it for the people watching and swanky private areas. Dance club on the main floor and then go up to the 27th floor to chill for awhile.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
181 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Bar!”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

During my visit to Minneapolis, someone suggested trying out Prohibition bar. They told me about the wonderful views as well as some history of the building during prohibition. The bar is beautiful. Comfy chairs, and lounge chairs, window seats and original wood work. It was very quiet when we arrived around 10 and there was even someone reading while there. A pretty quite place it seemed. About an hour later it was getting much busier and it looked like it was a very popular place. Really nice. Only disappointment was that we were looking forward to being able to go on the observation deck, but apparently that isn't a part of the bar and the hours for that are only 11 am to 9 pm.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Newtraveler83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prohibition also viewed

 

Been to Prohibition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing