We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Rooftop”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of moto-i

moto-i
Reserve with OpenTable
moto-i is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #188 of 1,794 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Brew Pub, Asian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lake
Transit: On the MTC #4, #21 and #53.
Description: Located in Uptown Minneapolis, moto-i is a craft sake brewpub and ramen house. We serve Junmai Namazake on draft and feature asian inspired small plates.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
332 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great Rooftop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Nice and cozy with two levels and a third level rooftop patio with views of downtown. Plenty of seats at the bar, tables and chairs or comfy couches and chairs. Friendly service and fantastic happy hour small plates and saki. Great menu with lots of unique items. Try the tofu lettuce wraps or the pork belly! Looking for an excuse to go back there real soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank just1backpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    31
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Downward Oh”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Looking for rooftop experience not downtown nor Uptown. Roof top bar opened at 2:20PM, quirky...I like quirky.

Arrived early sat a bar, bar chair height a bit too high, had problem getting into chair, usually have problems getting out but getting in? Problem #1 Ordered The a Problem Solver absolutely tasteless. Problem #2. Went upstairs to roof top bar nice but on a cool day needed sunscreen, but still outdoors better than being inside.

Food is Japanese. I'm allergic to egg almost every food item included egg. Saw that their specialty was beets. Tried roasted beets - no flavor informed waiter, waiter said he would follow up with manager never heard from waiter or manager - still on my bill when I paid - no problem I ate all of the beets but just a heads up.

Ordered food wife had tempura and I has a bowl with a very good tasting of salmon and soup. We both liked our main course.

As we were leaving we noticed the bathrooms were on floor -1, what does -1 mean must mean the basement? Roof top bar on the third floor bathroom in basement, what happens when restaurant busy and you had too many beers? Elevator full of people going upstairs in elevator or using stairs. Could mean problem number 2 no I mean problem #3.

Would zi go back? NO

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
174 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Try the Rangoons, & Classic Ramen, the Sake is just okay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was my first time to Moto-i and it was a good experience. We had a party of 7 and had a great table in the back corner on the first floor. It was a good spot for us. However, the service was decent, not as quick as we would've liked as we were in the drinking mood. We tried the Rangoons, all of the sticky bun appetizers, and the sweet potato fries. The Rangoons and the Sticky bun with pork was my favorite. The chicken sticky bun was good but the tuna sticky bun tasted like fresh canned tuna fish, but with way too much mayo. I also tried the Sake flight with the first 3 sake's on the menu. The flavors that they mention are very, very subtle, so don't be afraid to try all of them, it won't ruin your pallete. Now on to the main course, Classic Ramen is amazing! The pork shoulder and pork belly are the best I've had between Masu & Zen Box here in Minneapolis. The ramen noodles were great, soft but firm and the broth is perfect. It's my favorite Ramen that I've had so far and that includes some restaurants over in Europe. I was very impressed. It'll be hard for me to try something else the next time I go. Enjoy!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DrummerGelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Lake
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful tasting lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A group of friends stopped for lunch after an afternoon event in Uptown. The cocktails were original and adventurous. The ginger fried egg was an amazing blend of tastes!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DougHMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
1 review
“Very good noodle and Sake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Went there for their happy hour deal. Very good Ramen Noodle and Sake. They make their own sake and they have variety of choices of sake to choose from.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Taka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed moto-i also viewed

 

Been to moto-i? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing