We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Had a great deal with valet parking...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Maynard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Had a great deal with valet parking...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

First trip to MSP area with the family, and we really enjoyed this hotel. Did not eat there, however there are places close by for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We usually stay where we get free breakfast, however the price was right and we kept walking to Key Cafe for breakfast which was awesome. The people were very friendly and the place is clean and close to everything. Neat town Minneapolis - nice people.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maynard_Marc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review of our property Maynard_Marc! It sounds like you booked one of our valet packages but next time if you enjoy free breakfast, look into one of our breakfast packages, which is also a great deal! I hope you tried some of the fabulous bakery items at Key's; the Key Lime Pie is our favorite! Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.
Best Wishes,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    295
    77
    31
    13
See reviews for
250
186
84
542
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Amazing service and hotel. This was my first time to Minneapolis, and my boyfriend and I drove down from Canada. I was looking for a nice clean hotel at a reasonable price, and I found all of those things and more at this hotel.

When I first researched hotels in downtown Minneapolis, this hotel had a very competitive rate but also had packages that included valet parking and complementary wifi. Other hotels in the downtown core, had similar prices but charged additional amounts for parking and wifi internet, which made the cost per night significantly higher. This place is definitely the best value for your money.

The hotel room was extremely clean and comfortable. The beds were excellent and I especially enjoyed the large glass enclosed shower (much better than your run of the mill bath tub). The flatscreen TV's had many channels to choose from, perfect for a night in.

My boyfriend and I went to Minneapolis to celebrate our 6 year anniversary, and this hotel went over and beyond to make this a special weekend for us. I want to personally thank Thea (front desk), for making this weekend memorable and special. I travel A LOT around the USA and this by far was the best customer service I have ever received.

I highly suggest anyone looking for a hotel to stay here! I know a lot of fellow Canadians that make routine trips to Minneapolis, and I will certainly be recommending they stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Rosie E, Thank you for such a glowing review of our property and staff! This is exactly the kind of review we strive for each and every day; and when we do, it makes our day, because we know we made yours. We are so happy to hear our staff, and especially Thea, were able to make your 6 year anniversary so special! We hope to see you again, whether 7 or sooner. :)
Congratulations!
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My son and I visit MLB ballparks all over the country and prefer to stay at the Hilton family of hotels. This specific location was Very convenient, well staffed, excellent service, excellent value and loved Target Field.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Marc H. G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us for the Twins game Marc H. Target field is beautiful! Maybe once you see all the baseball fields we will be lucky enough to have you back for the beginning of the football stadium tour! By that time we will even have a new field, a must see if you ask us. :)
Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!
Best Wishes,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very nice hotel, easy interstate access. We were able to get a package that included parking and breakfast. We were in town for a Twins game and it was a longer walk than I anticipated. If we were to come to Minneapolis for a Twins game in the future I would probably book something closer to Target Field. However, for other activities it's a good location, friendly and helpful staff and modern.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
The 10 block walk from our location can get a little long, especially with the warm weather we have been having. Nicollet mall makes for a perfect half way point pit stop for dinner or drinks if you'd rather break up the walk. Otherwise, we do have a shuttle that leaves from our property one hour before the game starts or town cars that will bring you for a flat rate of $7.00. I apologize this information was not extended to you while you were here. But please, think of us next time you're in the area, but if you do decide to book elsewhere, we hope you have as great of an experience as you did with us!
Thanks for your review Elizabeth!

Best Wishes,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We usually stay exclusively at Embassy Suites but preferred this location so we took a chance. We got the valet parking and breakfast package which was a great deal and well worth the extra $20. The staff is well schooled in customer service and go out of their way to be friendly and make you comfortable. The buffet breakfast was better than the last 3 Embassy Suites we've stayed at. The wait staff brings you your eggs or pancakes after you order them from the buffet line. Nice touch. The fresh fruit included strawberries, grapes and pineapple in addition to the usual melons. Another nice touch. We had a problem with our room air conditioning turning off which was fixed quickly, efficiently and with great apologies and a snack bag. Another nice touch.
I would absolutely stay at this property again and also consider Hilton Garden Inn in other venues.

Room Tip: The higher up rooms give you a great city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjlifecycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
cjlifecycle- Thank you for such a fantastic Trip Advisor review. You must have booked our 'Summer in the City' package that we are currently offering; it is such a great deal! Parking is typically $24 and breakfast $12.95 per adult, the extra $20 still saves you a lot of money and makes the trip extremely convenient. We are happy you found your experience with us so enjoyable and we hope to see you again soon!
Best Wishes,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poynette
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Very good location if you are attending any meetings in the convention center. Plenty of parking around so if you don't mind a short walk you can park cheaper than the valet parking that the hotel has. The hotel was clean and the staff was helpful and friendly. Easy access to 94 and 35 E. I took my bike and bike and many super nice trails in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Needsmoretimeoff_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Needsmoretimeoff_12.... Don't we all!
Thank you for taking the time to write us a Trip Advisor review. We're so happy to see you enjoyed your experience with us and we hope you got to do a little sightseeing on your bike rides. Minneapolis is a gorgeous city and ranked the #1 bike city in the nation! If you're feeling adventurous check out some tips online for winter biking in this frigid state of ours.
Thanks again and come back anytime!

Best Wishes,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Good location ,I was in Minneapolis to attend ASE 2013 conference across the road .Good facilities.Very good breakfast,Very courteous and helpful staff. Very good room service.over all good hotel to stay.Well connected by local transportation .Hotel staff was helpful to provide location of bus transport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Drajay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your review!
You hit on some of our favorite things about our property. We are just across the street from the convention center, our breakfast is awesome and our staff does a fantastic job to make sure each and every guest truely enjoys their experience.
If you're ever back in the area, we hope to see you then!

Best Wishes,
Hilton Garden Inn Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Millennium Hotel Minneapolis
#10 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#12 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Address: 1101 4th Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55404-1022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and join us in the heart of downtown Minneapolis’ corporations and entertainment districts at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown. You’ll be within walking distance to the exciting Nicollet Mall shopping and just one block from Minneapolis Convention Center. Visit the Walker Art Center or see a show at the Orchestra Hall. Stay in a spacious guest room at this downtown Minneapolis hotel, all of which feature contemporary decor and include complimentary high-speed internet access. Stay energized with the hotel's indoor swimming pool and keep up with your routine with the modern cardiovascular machines and weights in our fitness center. Start each day with a delicious cooked-to-order breakfast at the Great American Grill® restaurant, or pick up supplies at the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing