We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed for a business trip. It was very close to the convention center. The restaurant has good food but you can walk to all the restaurant at the Nicolette Mall. You can catch the light rail to any locations and it's only 1.75. They have a shuttle to pick you up and take to the hotel and back to the light rail. Great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Nicole M,

Thank you for the glowing review of our property! We are happy you were able to use our some of our amenities and take the complimentary shuttle to the light rail! It is definitely a fun and cheap way to see Minneapolis.

Please come back any time whether it be for business or leisure!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    294
    77
    31
    13
See reviews for
250
186
84
541
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I brought a team of high-school kids to Minneapolis for an academic competition. We chose to avoid the competition hotel, down the street, and stay at the Hilton Garden Inn instead. What a great choice! The rooms were very comfortable, the service was excellent, and my kids raved about the breakfasts. I highly recommend this hotel. I slept well, and despite several other large groups at the place (including volleyball teams and Irish dancers), the atmosphere was quiet and relaxing. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank csyetman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
csyetman,

Thank you for such a great Trip Advisor review of our property! We are so happy to see that you and your team had such a positive experience! We hope our breakfast fueled your team to do well in the competition.
We are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

this hotel was phenomenal! Our stay at another property didn't go so well (see earlier review), but the stay in Minneapolis couldn't have been better. The hotel was easy to find and get to. The only drawbacks were the $24/day parking fee and the $12.95 breakfast buffet. I guess one should expect to pay to park in a secure area downtown where space is limited. I thought the fee and breakfast were a bit pricey though. The parking was valet only, but the valets were FANTRASTIC! - my car was ready for me whenever I wanted it and gave them a 15-minute "heads-up." They even took an interest in what we were doing, etc. The young ladies who checked us in were gracious and helpful. They even provided complimentary bottles of water for "after the long drive." The room was a typical hotel room, but we had a neat view over the downtown. The housekeeping crew was friendly and did a great job of cleaning. On our second morning, she even agreed to return in about an hour after we left for the day. The hotel had a small, but well equiped fitness center, which we didn't have time to use. The pool looked pretty small, but clean. Again, we didn't have time to use it, so it didn't matter to us. We had a drink in the bar, which was off the lobby and "open" and got pretty loud as a girls volleyball team partied just outside in the lobby area. We took that in stride though - the girls were excited, having fun and, as we found out later, very well behaved. The rooms were very quiet though, so let 'em have some fun. I definitely recommend the Hilton Garden Inn of Minneapolis and we will book a room there in the future. Great job, Garden Inn staff! I agree with cindy_girl1975's review - "other hotels should take a lesson or two from these employees" and "Hilton needs to pat them on the back." They are all employees of the month!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary_and_Sue_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Gary_and_Sue_P,

Thank you both so much for the glowing review you have given us on Trip Advisor. It is such a pleasure to see that every department at our property is giving such great service! Our Valets work very hard and fast in order to keep all of our guest's happy, even in the crazy weather we have been having! I can't say enough about our housekeeping staff, front desk or restaurant team. They are simply amazing.
I can understand the feeling of 'pricey' but you nailed it right on the head; it has all to do with the market. We do however offer parking packages, or breakfast packages, so it is included in the room rate booked at the time you make the reservation. (Just something to look in to if you return to Minneapolis in the future.)
I thank you again, as your review has been extremely motivating for the entire team.
Hope to see you again soon,

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCHESTER
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I had a dinner to attend at the Minneapolis Convention center so I could easily walk the block and a half to the convention center. The staff was very friendly. Nice bath products. Good breakfast buffet with cooked to order items. The hotel also had a business center with 3 computers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank DIANE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Diane H,

Thank you for the feedback from your experience at our property. I hope you enjoyed the dinner you attended, across the street, at the convention center.
I am happy our staff treated you so well and that you were able to enjoy the amenities we have to offer.

Please visit us again next time you are in Minneapolis.
Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed in the Minneapolis Downtown Hilton Garden Inn for 11 nights on a business trip to the area. The staff were extremely attentive and helpful. The room was very clean and tidy and the bed comfortable allowing a good nights sleep. In fact the bed can be adjusted to your own firm/soft preference. The fitness room and pool are small but from what I experienced are never crowded. The restaurant staff at breakfast and dinner ensure you are comfortable and have everything you need to enjoy your meal

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Danielle M,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review of our property. It is always great to see a guest had such a positive experience, especially for 11 nights!
I am glad you were informed about the adjustable beds as well, and were able to set it to your liking, allowing you to have such a pleasant night's sleep.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Chose this hotel for our wedding reception on August 18th, 2012 so we stayed here as well! Upon arrival, we were treated like the most important guests in the building. Our room was a corner suite with an nice view of the surrounding skyline. The cleanliness of the hotel was top notch. Breakfast in the Great American Grill in the lobby was great and a good value for the price. During our wedding reception the staff was excellent at keeping up with our needs and requests. I highly recommend this hotel for both staying and wedding receptions. Parking is valet only and the price is a bit steep for it, but thats the only small issue I have, is the price for the parking. Overall, a great hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rtfagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
rtfagan,

I want to say Thank You for such a great review of our property!
I am so happy to hear that you were treated as you should be on your wedding day/weekend. It is always fun to have wedding groups in house because it always brings such a happy, fun and loving atmosphere, as I remember yours did!
I understand the feeling of the parking price being a bit steep but we do always have parking packages available so it is included in the room rate. Please look in to it next time you are in Minneapolis!

Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakota City, Nebraska
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a 3 day volleyball tournament and decided to stay here. Sooo glad we chose this hotel. Within walking distance to conference center. Only one block away. The room was very nice and had all the ammenities we needed and then some. We stayed on the 9th floor, it was very quiet we never heard any outside noise during the night.

We purchased the rate with breakfast included. Breakfast was way above our expectations. I would highly recommend purchasing this if you are a fan of breakfast. So many items to choose from and the staff was absolutely wonderful. Hilton needs to pat all their employes on the back at this location. Every personnel we encountered was friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. From front desk, to wait staff and valet. All I can say is what a great group of employees, other Hotels should take a lesson or two from these employees. Kudos to this staff.

Location excellent for downtown. I would always stay there when traveling to Minnepolis area. Top notch staff and hotel. Would also like to say during our stay this hotel was at full occupancy and we still received this excellent treatment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cindy_girl1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
cindy_girl1975,

Thank you so much for such a fabulous review of our property! I must say our entire staff enjoyed each and every guest that stayed with us for the volleyball tournament. You and your group are welcomed back here anytime!
Our breakfast package is a great deal, especially traveling with a family. I hope it fueled your all-star and led them to victory!
I have shared your review with our entire team and I must thank you again for such motivating feedback.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Millennium Hotel Minneapolis
#10 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#12 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Address: 1101 4th Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55404-1022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and join us in the heart of downtown Minneapolis’ corporations and entertainment districts at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown. You’ll be within walking distance to the exciting Nicollet Mall shopping and just one block from Minneapolis Convention Center. Visit the Walker Art Center or see a show at the Orchestra Hall. Stay in a spacious guest room at this downtown Minneapolis hotel, all of which feature contemporary decor and include complimentary high-speed internet access. Stay energized with the hotel's indoor swimming pool and keep up with your routine with the modern cardiovascular machines and weights in our fitness center. Start each day with a delicious cooked-to-order breakfast at the Great American Grill® restaurant, or pick up supplies at the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing