We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wedding Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Chose this hotel for our wedding reception on August 18th, 2012 so we stayed here as well! Upon arrival, we were treated like the most important guests in the building. Our room was a corner suite with an nice view of the surrounding skyline. The cleanliness of the hotel was top notch. Breakfast in the Great American Grill in the lobby was great and a good value for the price. During our wedding reception the staff was excellent at keeping up with our needs and requests. I highly recommend this hotel for both staying and wedding receptions. Parking is valet only and the price is a bit steep for it, but thats the only small issue I have, is the price for the parking. Overall, a great hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rtfagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
rtfagan,

I want to say Thank You for such a great review of our property!
I am so happy to hear that you were treated as you should be on your wedding day/weekend. It is always fun to have wedding groups in house because it always brings such a happy, fun and loving atmosphere, as I remember yours did!
I understand the feeling of the parking price being a bit steep but we do always have parking packages available so it is included in the room rate. Please look in to it next time you are in Minneapolis!

Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    300
    82
    31
    14
See reviews for
257
196
86
565
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dakota City, Nebraska
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a 3 day volleyball tournament and decided to stay here. Sooo glad we chose this hotel. Within walking distance to conference center. Only one block away. The room was very nice and had all the ammenities we needed and then some. We stayed on the 9th floor, it was very quiet we never heard any outside noise during the night.

We purchased the rate with breakfast included. Breakfast was way above our expectations. I would highly recommend purchasing this if you are a fan of breakfast. So many items to choose from and the staff was absolutely wonderful. Hilton needs to pat all their employes on the back at this location. Every personnel we encountered was friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. From front desk, to wait staff and valet. All I can say is what a great group of employees, other Hotels should take a lesson or two from these employees. Kudos to this staff.

Location excellent for downtown. I would always stay there when traveling to Minnepolis area. Top notch staff and hotel. Would also like to say during our stay this hotel was at full occupancy and we still received this excellent treatment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cindy_girl1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
cindy_girl1975,

Thank you so much for such a fabulous review of our property! I must say our entire staff enjoyed each and every guest that stayed with us for the volleyball tournament. You and your group are welcomed back here anytime!
Our breakfast package is a great deal, especially traveling with a family. I hope it fueled your all-star and led them to victory!
I have shared your review with our entire team and I must thank you again for such motivating feedback.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I was in town for a conference and there was no room at the conference hotel. I am so pleased that my lodging was here at the HGI. Staff amazing. Took care of every need for directions, meal suggestions, etc.... Room spacious and clean. Great temperature controls and spacious bathroom. Highly recommend this hotel for a stay in downtown Minneapolis

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tbennettstmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
tbennettstmartin,

Thank you so much for such a great review of our property! I am happy to see our staff took such great care of you during your conference trip and that you found your room was so comfortable.

We hope you are able to return to our property whether it be business or leisure.

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel is OK for a short business stay. Rooms are adequate, breakfast is good, but dinner in the restaurant was disappointing, the food not really hot enough.

Getting transport was a problem for me. There are some "Town Cars" at the front, and the drivers are a bit average, don't know their way around and one ripped me off. I tried to get the staff to arrange a taxi but they didn't want to know, so they must be skimming. Not a good situation when you are on your first visit to the City.

Not what I expect from the Hilton brand.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickthered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Mickthered,

Thank you for providing us with feedback from your experience at our property.
I do want to apologize for the issues with transportation that you encountered. it is definitely not typical of our property or our staff to not show more interest in these situations.
Would you be able to provide me with some more feedback on where you were dropped off and how much you were charged by the town car drivers? It is something that we will want to speak with them about to make sure that we are on the same page about their pricing and not ripping anyone off.
I hope your second visit to the city is with us again as I can assure you that your experience will be much better.

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Good Fitness Center; Great Front Desk, Bar and Housekeeping Staff; the Bed Mattress was too firm. Food was above average. The location to the Downtown was excellent and convenient. Super Shuttle ride from the Airport was quick. I loved the view from my room of the downtown.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thomas B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your experience.
It is always a pleasure to see when a guest has such a positive experience at our property and enjoys the surrounding area.
I would like to apologize for the firmness of your bed and let you know that all of our beds are adjustable. Next time you stay with us please adjust it to your liking.

We hope to see you again soon and thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is the best motel my wife and I have ever experienced! The staff is great, the restaurant food is to die for. The Views of Minneapolis were great and such a beautiful hotel. We will definately stay here again. I suggest it to anyone staying in the Twin Cities area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My sister and I were doing a "staycation" and we had a wonderful, relaxing stay at the HGI Downtown. The front office staff was wonderful and very accommodating. Excellent stay and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Maura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Millennium Minneapolis
#13 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#17 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Address: 1101 4th Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55404-1022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and join us in the heart of downtown Minneapolis’ corporations and entertainment districts at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown. You’ll be within walking distance to the exciting Nicollet Mall shopping and just one block from Minneapolis Convention Center. Visit the Walker Art Center or see a show at the Orchestra Hall. Stay in a spacious guest room at this downtown Minneapolis hotel, all of which feature contemporary decor and include complimentary high-speed internet access. Stay energized with the hotel's indoor swimming pool and keep up with your routine with the modern cardiovascular machines and weights in our fitness center. Start each day with a delicious cooked-to-order breakfast at the Great American Grill® restaurant, or pick up supplies at the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing