We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice,but not on the skyway system”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice,but not on the skyway system”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Hotel was clean & staff was friendly...bar staff even opened up early for bloody marys for us since we had many families staying there:) We stayed because of the distance from the Convention Center, but they are not on the skyway system, so we had to dodge traffic to get there. There were no close restaurants that are open over the weekend either:( Pool area was very small, but clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heidiho1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Heidiho1970,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. It is great to hear that the staff was friendly and they opened up the bar early for your group. I am sorry though that our location wasn't the most convenient for your needs during your stay but we hope the next time you're in the area you will consider staying with us again.

Anthony Leitz
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    889
    323
    89
    31
    16
See reviews for
276
215
93
604
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was a return visit to the Hilton Garden Inn for my son & me for the Twin Cities Marathon weekend. The primary objective for a marathon weekend is peaceful, quiet, very comfortable accommodations and great customer service. The HGI accomplishes this goal. The Inn is within walking distance of restaurant, shopping and a short warm-up run to the TCM start. The Inn provides on-site concierge parking and is quite accessible to the highway system. The Inn is equipped with a pool and exercise equipment, though after the TCM a whirlpool would have perfect. I would encourage anyone requiring accommodations in Downtown Minneapolis to visit the Hilton Garden Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Run42K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Run42K,

I am so glad you and your son enjoyed your weekend with us so much! Great to have you back again, it sounded like the marathon was a success again as it always is. We really do think we have a perfect location for everything there is to do downtown, but still have easy access in and out of downtown. I appreciate you taking the time to give that feedback as well.

We hope to see you and your son again at the next marathon,

Anthony Leitz
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Staff were very friendly, the rate for a visit to the University of Minnesota was a great value, the rooms were spotless, and the food in the restaurant was great. The fitness center was good, and all the equipment worked. Note that the hotel is about 3 miles or more from the University, so it is not really within convenient walking distance. The hotel has access to a Town Car service to get to the University for a flat rate of $20. The service was fast and convenient, although a little pricey. Overall, a good, dependable place to stay while taking a student to visit the University.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickyD19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
MickyD19,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor and I hope that your visit to the University was an enjoyable one! It is so great to hear how much you enjoyed your room, the fitness center and especially the food in the restaurant. We really do appreciate you letting others know that we are a dependable place to stay for anybody visiting the University of MN.

Hope to see you for your next trip to Minneapolis,

Anthony Leitz
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

In typical Hilton style, the Garden Inn is great. Wonderful appointments throughout the hotel, a nice valet, great restaurant and at an affordable price. Only complaint is there is no whirlpool or spa.

Very convenient to downtown attractions. Only a couple of blocks off the main street.

Room Tip: Get an odd numbered room if you can - let's you have a great view of downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Chris C,

I appreciate you providing our staff and myself with some wonderful feedback about the hotel and your experience with us! The Valet and Restaurant staff was very excited when we shared your review with them at our daily huddles. Also, I think that future travelers will really appreciate your odd numbered room tip as that really is the best view of the city.

We certainly hope to have you back at the hotel soon,

Anthony Leitz
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spooner, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn on Friday Feb. 15th. I was working at the Minnesota Golf Show. I was pleased that they had the requested room (king/smoking), but it was a handicaped room, but no problems. The room was spacious and very clean. Bathroom was very nice and big shower.
The only complaint that I have was the bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have slept in. Hard and the pillows were not much better. Terrible nights sleep.
Restaurant was very good for breakfast and not expensive.
I would stay here again, but would make sure about the bed before accepting room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpoonerCruizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
SpoonerCruizer,

I hope the Golf Show was a successful event for you while you were in town with us! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the Hilton Garden Inn enough to come back. Just to let you know, our beds adjust so next time you are here you should have a much better night's sleep. There is a dial on the side of the beds that let you adjust the bed to be firm or soft, depending on your preference. I apologize that our front desk staff didn't make you aware of that upon arrival, but they have all read your response and are making it a priority to emphasize this amenity to our guests upon arrival. Hope to see you again soon!

Anthony Leitz
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This property is definitely above-average for a Hilton Garden Inn, particularly the lobby which has a fun, hipster vibe. Room furnishings are attractive and contemporary. The staff is ok, not super friendly but professional. The problem is the location. Located next to the Convention Center, it isn’t really safe to walk around at night. Although it would be great to stay at this hotel if attending a convention, I wasn’t. I blame myself, not the hotel, since I should have researched locales more than I did. This Hilton Garden Inn is quiet, comfy, and clean, with great views of downtown. As long as you don’t want a pedestrian-friendly environment, it’s all good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Alice M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I am very happy to read how much you like our energetic lobby feel that we aim for! I am sorry to hear however that you did not feel safe in the area of the hotel. The city of Minneapolis has done a lot of very positive work over the past few years to clean up downtown Minneapolis so it is a place that people feel much more safe in and we feel that includes where our hotel is located. We do always have transportation available as well with the town car service that is on property that will take you anyplace downtown for only $7. I certainly hope that you will stay with us again next time you are in town.

Anthony Leitz
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

CLEANLINESS? The rooms and hotel is very clean. The staff is so friendly it is amazing. Who trained these folks? They are top notch.

FOOD? The restaurant is decently priced and the breakfast all you can eat - is worth the price ($12.95). It was nice not to have to go out in the cold to find places to eat.

POOL? If you are hoping to relax in a pool this is not the place for you. Your living room is likely larger than the pool. No hot-tub, no sauna. Kids will be disappointed. Little kids may like it enough.

VALET PARKING? Works just fine. Give them 10-15 minutes to retrieve your car. VERY friendly and helpful.

BEDS? Hard as rocks and they are adjustable beds! We are shocked. We turned our beds to "soft" and they still relocated your spine when you sit on them. BUT, strangely enough, when you sleep on them they kinda work. It's just not as bad as it could be I guess.

SPACE? Our room has all the essentials, is clean, pretty, with white white white bed spreads, but it is not very spacious. There is about a 3ft. wide path from the door to the opposite side of the room. We are on the 3rd floor. There is a dog park right outside our window. Fun to watch.

TV? Nothing good. Only 2 kids channels - Cartoon Network and Nick. Blah.

All and all it is a great place. Did I mention how friendly the staff is? :-) I didn't know how much of a big deal that is until I came here.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side have a cute dog park to watch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 22Travelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
22Travelin,

What a great review!!! It is really nice that you took the time to comment on every section of the hotel and I am glad that you had an enjoyable experience with us. I am also really happy to hear you mention how great the staff was twice! We try to create a culture at our hotel where our associates actually do enjoy coming to work and doing what they do every single day. Your positive comments just help the staff reinforce that.

Thank you again for taking the time to put together this very detailed review and we hope you will be back again on your next visit to Minneapolis,

Anthony Leitz
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Millennium Minneapolis
#14 of 49 in Minneapolis
732 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#16 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Address: 1101 4th Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55404-1022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and join us in the heart of downtown Minneapolis’ corporations and entertainment districts at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown. You’ll be within walking distance to the exciting Nicollet Mall shopping and just one block from Minneapolis Convention Center. Visit the Walker Art Center or see a show at the Orchestra Hall. Stay in a spacious guest room at this downtown Minneapolis hotel, all of which feature contemporary decor and include complimentary high-speed internet access. Stay energized with the hotel's indoor swimming pool and keep up with your routine with the modern cardiovascular machines and weights in our fitness center. Start each day with a delicious cooked-to-order breakfast at the Great American Grill® restaurant, or pick up supplies at the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing