We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“09/11/2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chehalis, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“09/11/2012”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We traveld to Minneapolis in May of this year. Shorty after arrival we went to dinner and discovered a flat tire. AAA got us back to the hotel, and the concierge was so helpful in getting us to a service station (This was a Saturday night after 8:00 PM.). I really appreciated their professional and personable assistance. Oh, by the way, the hotel room was terrific as well. We will definitely stay there again when in Minneapolis.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    870
    316
    87
    31
    16
See reviews for
267
206
92
597
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed 4 nights on business. The staff are very friendly and helpful (especially Colton), and someone in the team takes the trouble to print and put up a thought for the day in the elevators each day. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are large and comfortable. The only criticism was the shower could have been more powerful, but it was ok. There is a microwave in your room and you can buy popcorn from the shop in the hotel. Also there are guest laundry facilities. I didn't hear any noise from outside the hotel or inside. There is a gym which was fine. There is also free coffee and water in the lounge area, which is a nice touch.

Breakfast buffet has fruit, cereals and breads and they will cook eggs,pancakes, waffles and oatmeal to order.

The location was good for me - 10 to 15 min walk from the downtown shops and the transit to mall of America, but just off the interstate out of town, so very easy to get to and from the office and no sitting in traffic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahburton30260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband and I used this location for our wedding block for out of town family and friends. Everyone had great things to say. The price was unbeatable ($89/night), and the quality we got for that price was unmatched. The service was super-friendly, and over-extended themselves a number of times to meet and anticipate our guests' needs. My only complaint is the breakfast was $12.95/plate. Other than that, it seemed like we were constantly surprised by how great this place was.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voelker126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We made reservations here because of the close proximity to the Convention Center where my daughter's graduation was held. I had never been to Minneapolis and knew absolutely zilch about the area. The HGI is an awesome hotel. The housekeeping staff should get an increase in pay...stayed 4 days and my room was "spotless". I give the hotel and staff 5 stars!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda40033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsdale, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on our wedding night as well as the consecutive night, the room was gorgeous! The hotel is extremely well-kept, the staff very helpful and friendly. The room was also very quiet. The valet-only parking is a bit pricey and while the restaurant on-site had an appealing menu, there was never any customers in it. Overall, it was a great stay and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerthat42514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We got a fairly good rate - $90 on a Friday night. Check-in was friendly and smooth. We had some difficulty finding the hotel, so were late and needed to get changed for an early dinner reservation. We felt like we had no choice but to valet park - $24.
Pro's - average size room
very clean
microwave, nice sized television, fridge
great pillows
no hallway noise
on site bar and restaurant
Con's - street noise quite late at night
horribly uncomfortable beds
hard to get to? We could see it, but struggled to find it!
drink prices were outrageous

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SallyFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
I am sorry we were not able to provide you with a satisfactory experience during your recent stay. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback about the outside traffic. I also appreciate you letting us know about the beds. It’s disheartening to hear you did not have a comfortable sleep. Your comments will help us try to improve our guest experience and make sure our beds are in proper working condition. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Anthony Leitz
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis - Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was a very good HGI in great walking distance to the Conference Center downtown. I arrived early and was luckily given a available room at noon. Of course check in is at 3 so this might not always be possible. All staff, room, amenities and bedding were excellent.
I would definitely stay at this property again in the future, just a quick 5 minute walk to bars, restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sw0rdf1sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Millennium Minneapolis
#14 of 49 in Minneapolis
710 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown
Address: 1101 4th Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55404-1022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and join us in the heart of downtown Minneapolis’ corporations and entertainment districts at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown. You’ll be within walking distance to the exciting Nicollet Mall shopping and just one block from Minneapolis Convention Center. Visit the Walker Art Center or see a show at the Orchestra Hall. Stay in a spacious guest room at this downtown Minneapolis hotel, all of which feature contemporary decor and include complimentary high-speed internet access. Stay energized with the hotel's indoor swimming pool and keep up with your routine with the modern cardiovascular machines and weights in our fitness center. Start each day with a delicious cooked-to-order breakfast at the Great American Grill® restaurant, or pick up supplies at the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis Downtown Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing